We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Lavaca

Lavaca
Ranked #1,538 of 10,520 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $68
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: An early 20th century detached house hosts a discreet restaurant located just by the river Manzanares, close to the Principe Pio railway station and shopping centre. A mixture of seasonal specials and selected Argentinean beef cuts, sirloin and T-bone, are all served in a peaceful environment with a garden terrace. It is an ideal stop after a stroll along the river banks.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not as good as expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Went to this restaurant on recommendation of a friend. Following a visit to Argentina i have a love of Argentina beef, but this restaurant did not meet the expectation i had.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Broughshane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    111
    37
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hauterive, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good Argentinian beef - highly recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

I found this restaurant in guidebook. We did a booking via Internet in the one near Palacio Reale and very close to Opera metro station ( in Madrid it is around 12 restaurants of vaca argentina) and as a consequence we could not sit outside in terrace which was the only disadvantage. Stuff very professional, food fantastic, desserts even better - quite good value for money, we paid 60 EUR for 2 steaks, water and 2 desserts (you have to try pancakes with dulce de leche).

If you like beef this is place for you.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Best Empanada in Madrid. Fantastic Steaks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Wow. What wonderful food. My father grew up in Argentina and as he ate an Empanada in this restaurant he was simply blown away. He said it reminded him of his childhood and the delicious fresh empanadas from a place in Buenos Aires. These are fluffy pastries filled with the perfect meat blend with some olives and served with chimichurri sauce. Most empanadas in Madrid are now pre-made in some factory and are simply fried up by the restaurant. These are the real deal, clearly homemade, I go there everytime I am in Madrid.

The steaks here are excellent as well. Filet, Ribeye, whatever your choice in meat, this place has excellent selections.

They even bring a variety of salts to the table for your meat. Black volcanic salt, pink salt, and two types of white salt. I recommend the black lava salt for the steak. It adds even more great charcoal flavor to the meat.

I have one objection to this place and I learned after my first trip. They are going to charge you €1.50-2.00 for "pan y aceite" (bread and oil) without even asking. Honestly the hard roll, which was stale, is not worth it. Just order an empanada for €3.00. You will thank me. You might get a dirty look from the waiter if you refuse the bread, I do it everytime because I can't stand paying for bread if its not even good. I still give this place 5 stars because it is great food.

There are several throughout Madrid. Some have nice outdoor seating areas, so definitely go to one of those (Avenida de America metro stop has outdoor seating).

Also keep in mind that this is Madrid and dinner starts around 9 pm.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nic0_K2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lomo alto and empanadillas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

I always order the same: empanadillas, ensalada de queso de cabra tibia and lomo alto de 200 gramos (meat pasty, salad with warm goats cheese and 200 grammes of "lomo alto") Food is usually good (may vary by location) although a little overpriced for what it is.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank DiegodelaTorre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mi querida Vaca Argentina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

La Vaca Argentina is one of the most interesting argentine restaurant in Madrid..
You can find a very good and tasteful argentine filet but at a reasonable price (at list if compared to my city, Milan!).
Try the solomillo with potatoes gratin.. accompanied by a good spanish wine.
Also the desserts are delicious..
There are 11 restaurants in Madrid, you should look on the website the nearest place!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chiara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lavaca also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Lavaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing