We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit overrated” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Albufera Restaurante

L'Albufera Restaurante
Reserve with
Save up to 40% when you reserve online *
L'Albufera Restaurante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #195 of 10,440 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $59
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Opened in 1983 and a pioneer in Madrid, the famous L’Albufera restaurant is the ideal place for enjoying exquisite east coast rice dishes as well as a wide range of traditional Spanish dishes accompanied by an extensive wine list.
Sackville, New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A bit overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Having enjoyed a great arroz negre at a port restaurant in Tarragona, I decided to head to what I had been told was the best paella restaurant in Madrid to enjoy this great dish again. Well...I have to say that it was a disappointment. It wasn't bad, but certainly not as good as I expected based in the reviews that I read. The restaurant is obviously a popular destination, and the service was great.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier_Alcalde, Assitant Manager at L'Albufera Restaurante, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Karen,

First of all thanks so much for coming to L´Albufera restaurant and thanks so much for your kind comments.
I feel that the experience has not been fully enjoy it and we have not met your expectations with the "arroz negre". In this way, it would be a really pleasure to see you back some day and be able to change that feeling.

Yours sincerelly,

Javier Alcalde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    205
    70
    22
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

It's about a 10-15 min cab ride if your hotel is close to the main attractions (i.e. Prado Museum, Puerta del Sol, etc), but it's definitely worth the trip. My wife and I went here for dinner and the food was delicious. The seafood croquettes were great and the paella was amazing. We ordered the seafood and chicken paella, and we're guessing the other ones were good as well because all the other tables around us ordered paella too (seafood, lobster, and black squid ink versions). The staff were really nice and attentive. We reserved a table ahead of time using thefork and we were able to get 40% off our bill!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_n_Eating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier_Alcalde, Assistant Manager at L'Albufera Restaurante, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear guest,

It's very nice to know that you found everything as you expected. We always try to do our best job to get our customers satisfaction.

This is the best gift from you to encourage the team.

Best regards..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,603 reviews
721 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 481 helpful votes
“Excellent paella, excellent food, well located restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

As paella places go this is one of the best of Madrid, we eat a few starters than were delicious, 3 different kind of rice and a great desert. Overall everything was splendid including the free post lunch liqueurs

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier_Alcalde, Assistant Manager at L'Albufera Restaurante, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks for sending us the best opinions that the staff wants to hear from our customers which encourage us to continue working hard to reach the excelence.

Receive a cordial greeting.

Javier Alcalde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A piece of Spain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Food was excellent and service was great, we really enjoyed the authentic Spanish flavours. Really good value per money. Place to recommend.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nuria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier_Alcalde, Assistant Manager at L'Albufera Restaurante, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Nuria,

It's great to hear these wonderful comments like yours. You make us very happy about the experience you felt that it's our main goal.

We looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Receive a cordial greeting.

Javier Alcalde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
453 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Wonderful paella and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

We ate here while staying at the Melia Castilla hotel, which this restaurant is adjacent to. There was a 40% discount on the food (exclude alcohol) bc we were staying at the hotel. The paella was great--be sure and have the Paella L'Albufera that includes lobster and another seafood. The staff were accommodating and friendly. Would love to go here again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelinjep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier_Alcalde, Assistant Manager at L'Albufera Restaurante, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear customer,

We are so pleased with your nice opinions and we really appreciate you share them with all users.

Would love to receive you again.

Best regards.

Javier Alcalde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Albufera Restaurante also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to L'Albufera Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing