We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best tortillas in town, hands down!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jose Luis

Jose Luis
Ranked #1,707 of 10,520 Restaurants in Madrid
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Barrio de Salamanca
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best tortillas in town, hands down!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Great service, excellent food! Served very quick, incredibly tasty! The wine is very well priced, especially for the quality if offers!
One should try all the pinchas and the desserts, which are absolutely incredibly good!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank doculik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    116
    47
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Wanting a late meal after arriving in Madrid. Recommended by doorman at the Intercontinental Hotel. Had to wait for a table outside, but drinks and free nuts available at the bar - worth the wait! We had a selection of tapas which were very good - mâché go cheese, Iberian ham and calamares all nicely presented and tasty. Efficient friendly service - good atmosphere.

Liked it so much we went back 2 nights later but had to eat inside as already full about 8pm. Mostly locals so a good sign - they do provide some main courses other than tapas - would recommend to others especially if staying in the area, saves going into the centre. Didn't think it was over expensive.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnLwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A very nice evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We wanted a light supper after a full day and a very heavy mid-day meal. The hotel recommended Jose Luis. It provided very welcoming environment and a wonderful selection of food and wine.

We ordered three waves of tapas - keeping the quantity small but enjoying a great variety.

As the evening progressed, we enjoyed seeing how Madrid spends its evenings in this comfortable place.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank PhotoJohn53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Good but expensive local restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stumbled upon Jose Luis while walking back to our hotel nearby. It was a beautiful evening and the outdoor tables looked so inviting that we decided to give it a try. It was absolutely packed (with an almost exclusively local crowd, which we considered a plus), so we had to wait inside at the bar for a table outside. Not a problem, because we were introduced to their wide assortment of "pinchos" (pieces of bread with a variety of toppings, basically like Italian crostini).

As non-Spanish speakers we found the menu quite confusing, because it is divided into a number of different categories that we didn't really understand. The waiters were friendly and gave great service, but they weren't really able to help in the language department. We decided to be adventurous and just order a number of different things without really knowing what they were, and we asked the waiter to tell us when he thought we had enough for a full meal (which he did).

The gazpacho was exceptional. They served the basic soup and then came with a tray of different "fixings" (such as diced tomato, cucumber, egg, onion, garlic, peppers, etc) and you could choose what you wanted to add to your bowl--lovely! One of the other highlights was squid on potatoes in a mild tomato-ey sauce (it doesn't sound great but was delicious). The shrimps in garlic were only okay. The dishes were all basically tapas, but we had enough of them to make a full meal.

We had a bottle of the house red wine--can't remember the name but it was superb. The bill for two people came to about 75 Euros, which I thought was pretty expensive for what we had. Still, it was a lovely meal, with great service and a very nice atmosphere, and we would certainly recommend it to others.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wbpld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderfull Tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Its a place I always visit when I am in Madrid!
Great for tapas!
But yet a sophisticated and quiet restaurant!
Very nice food!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jose Luis also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Jose Luis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing