We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolute gem ... don't miss it”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Balzac - CLOSED

Balzac
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Paseo del Prado
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An absolute gem ... don't miss it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

This was the highlight of our trip to Madrid. We went for the 6-course Balzac menu with wine accompanying each course (+ aperatif and coffee !) and it was fantastic - every course was a real treat.
The waiters werevery attentive, all with excellent English and each course and accompanying wine was described in detail.
This is the best €50 per head meal you will get anywhere ..

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fionnuala_0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    9
    10
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Poor service but exquisite food at a very good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

After almost leaving due to being ignored for over 15 minutes in a quiet restaurant, things took a definite turn for the better. The food was excellent, could not be faulted at all, possibly the best I've eaten in Spain. The service continued to be weak throughout, but the food continued to be exquisite. We will return because the food was so good. And the price, an excellent 105€ for two.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KFCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull England
Level Contributor
358 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“One of the best meals of my life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

Every one visiting Madrid should come here. The standard at this place and the price make it "a must visit" whenever im in Madrid. I had the tasting menu with matching wines and it was incredible mixutre of taste and texture. At 54 euros it made Rome prices look incredibly expensive.
Please go you will enjoy

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KeithGHullEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Astonishing Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

We booked through Top Table and chose the set tasting menu. 2 days later I still can't believe they didn't charge us more.

On arrival we were offered aperitifs - sherry and martini appeared instantly. sparkling water, of course. An appetiser while you wait, certainly. Each course was brought out on time, perfectly presented, and explained by the ever-smiling waiter in good English. From foie gras to scallops, to a fantastic strawberry soup, everything was expertly prepared and delicious.

Wine matches were spot on for every course, even if the labels looked familiar from supermarket shelves. The meal was finished with the offer of coffee or brandy, and when the bill came there wasn't a cent added for any extras - we almost felt guilty.

The setting is upmarket, but a little quiet. A louder musical backdrop would have relaxed the place more.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank psone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“excellent food and service, absolutely incredible value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

Ignore the hilarious review below which suggests Balzac is overpriced. The food and service on offer here could be significantly more expensive and still be called a bargain. 7 top quality courses, including wine pairings, plus aperitifs and coffee for two came to a total of 108 euros, a sum so low that I was almost embarassed when I handed over my card given the experience of the previous two or so hours, and resulted in the comfortable breaking of my percentage tipping record. It was a Top Table offer, which are often good value but this was something else. We had no idea what to expect when we arrived, although it was immediately obvious that it's a smart place, nicely decorated and appropriately lit. Settling down with a manzanilla we then remembered that we'd already told them we wanted the tasting menu, which didn't take long to get going. Every course was excellent but the stars of the show were a large chunk of melting foie gras encased in caramel, and an fantastic dish of slices of perfectly roasted duck breast in a sweet mustard sauce. Wine pairings were on point, including a sauternes-esque sweet Spanish white which accompanied one of the fish dishes. Our waiter was very knowledgable about the food and wine, patiently fielding my increasingly enthusiastic enquiries about both as the meal went on, all in perfect English. As an all round restaurant experience it really was that good. Top marks.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank edacious-p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balzac also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing