We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated for tourists”
Review of Casa Lucio

Casa Lucio
Ranked #1,159 of 13,479 Restaurants in Madrid
Price range: $32 - $69
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centro
Reviewed June 26, 2016

The place is apparently one of the oldest and traditional place in downtown Madrid. It is bad and boring. Probably more boring than bad. Huevos rotos are a dish I still cannot understand the fish soup was tasty but too garlicky. Wine list is amateur wth no year listed. It is also too expensive for what you get. Avoid it.

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank foppianis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (4,173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

268 - 272 of 4,174 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2016 via mobile

Excellent. Excellent Excellent

Wonderful food, service, atmosphere and sense of goodness.

We had gazpacho. Fully adorned by the friendly waiter.

Then Hake for some & roast lamb for others.

Vegetables and accompaniments top notch.

10/10 & I plan to go again.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 22, 2016

Our group of 12 people visited this restaurant to celebrate my wife's special birthday. Service was excellent as was food quality and ambience. Located in a very quaint area of Madrid this restaurant is typically Spanish inside with great olde worked decor. Slightly more expensive but an absolute must for anyone visiting Madrid. I ate ham starter the broken egg over chips as an intermediate course, hake as a main course and rice pudding for dessert. Yes English sounding dishes but each with a twist that makes them far superior to anything I have eaten before. If you like good food it is essential that you visit Casa lucio!

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mike t
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 20, 2016

When we arrived in Madrid, we made our way to Lucio , trying to see if any space for lunch . Unfortunately , no slot , but the guy standing at the entrance said can try for dinner at 11 pm. We went back and managed to finally get seated just before 12 midnight . It was worth the wait ! Even our young son did not complain . Must try - sizzling garlic prawns , roasted lamp , ham croquette ! ! And great service too !

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HelloTTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 18, 2016

I have been at Casa Lucio 3 times already and has never disappointed. The food is very good, but more than anything this places shines for its ambiance. Casa Lucio is a "must do" when you visit Madrid; frequented by the rich and famous, from Kings to Politicians, Artists, Musicians, and everything in between. Service is always excellent.
Enjoy your meal and say HI to Mr Lucio on your way out. He is in his 80's and closes the business everyday with his employees until the last customer leaves. Absolutely fantastic!
Note: make reservations!

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Cannotwaittotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travelers who viewed Casa Lucio also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Casa Lucio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.