We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desperate times”
Review of Cafe & Te

Cafe & Te
Ranked #7,737 of 10,916 Restaurants in Madrid
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Neighborhood: Barrio de Salamanca
Matthews, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Desperate times”
Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

Thought the fist time was bad, second time was almost worse. Simple breakfast, toast, tomato and olive oil. Just not done well at all. Will not go back if I have a choice.

Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    39
    41
    29
    81
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“This place was really awful”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

I stopped in to Cafe y Te on the Calle Mayor near the Plaza Mayor for an inexpensive lunch. The "plato del dia" was Paella Valenciana, described as being a paella con mariscos (seafood). The service was really awful and when the paella came it was a plate of overcooked yellow rice (kind of oily) with some cooked red peppers and one ring of squid on top. The dessert was a dried up bowl of custard. But the hot tea was fine. There was only one waiter that I could tell serving the tables and I had to eventually just get up and go to the cash register to get someone to give me a check and take my money. If you want to follow my blog about my experiences in Spain, go to: http://philipandfelipe.blogspot.com/

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhilipyFelipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delicous Cafe with Healthy Salads, Pasta and Pizza”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Wonderful chain restaurant located throughout Madrid. Large fresh salads, wonderful pastas and a great pizza priced very well. A nice switch from saucy tapas to some healthy clean food.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SeaCoral7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great little cafe”
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Lovely cafe- well used by locals too. Great croissants and coffee. Go for breakfast and people watching.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karenm_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant chain”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We went to the Alcala Portal branch and the service was good. We ordered paellas, which was fine. So in general specially by the location, it was a good program.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CriteriousTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe & Te also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Cafe & Te? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing