We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy below-ground dining room with excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe de Oriente

Cafe de Oriente
Reserve with
Cafe de Oriente is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #478 of 10,520 Restaurants in Madrid
Price range: $43 - $65
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Centro
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Classy below-ground dining room with excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had a memorable evening meal in the restaurant's below-ground dining room, situated in a vaulted chamber that once served a 17th century convent. One look at the room reassured us that it was a "serious" restaurant, and we were not disappointed. A special restaurant week promotion was in progress, and we took the recommended menu. The food was as good as the attentive service, including that rarity -- a PERFECTLY cooked piece of fish. In all, this was the best meal we had in two weeks in Spain.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHNSTEPHENPERRY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    315
    121
    38
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
95 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Go inside or to the side for the lunch special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We sat down on the patio area, and were interested in the plate of the day special, (per Rick Steves advice) but found you can't order that when sitting on the plaza, only on the side or inside. We ended up ordering some tapas instead, kind of disappointed. The tapas were ok but pricey, and the service was really slow. I would go for just a drink next time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fredbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

On the advice of Rick Steves, after spending the morning at the Royal Palace, we stopped at the Cafe de Oriente. They had two outdoor dining areas and the one facing the palace was much pricier. We ordered the 3 course lunch special in the section right around the corner, which is served by the same waiters. The service was slow and unsatisfactory. Our waiter never brought us napkins until reminded and water which we ordered never arrived. The food was just OK. You can do better elsewhere!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jean4510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, CO
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Our best meal in Spain was here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Maybe it was just serendipity, but our meal at this spot on the plaza was as good as it gets. Apps were olives, spicy prawns, and some good bread. The entrees were fresh tuna and a sauteed octopus that was fantastic.

A tuille covered some cold chocolate truffles for desert. Couldn't ask for anything better.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank opete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
366 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Some excellent choices, some under-seasoned”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We tried the fixed price menu, which required eating indoors on a lovely day. Too bad. The gazpacho was very fresh but needed salt and garlic. The salad with tomato, cheese and fresh anchovy was excellent. The salmon with cooked veggie on the side was perfect. The veal was flavorless. The melon dessert was excellent. The ice cream was fine, but just ice cream. If I returned I'd eat outside and try the tapas, but we had a good deal on a full lunch.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank lsc_Denver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe de Oriente also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Cafe de Oriente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing