We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Lobster salad”
Review of Alkalde Restaurante - CLOSED

Alkalde Restaurante
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Barrio de Salamanca
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Lobster salad”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We tried this restaurant during the first hour in town. We had salads and we were really pleased with the lobster salad. The service was alright.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abasmaih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    94
    69
    31
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
362 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service All Day Long”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The Alkalde, one of the better restaurants we visited was a very nice surprise. The menu is short but that basically equates to great dishes and the service better still. I had the Merluza and it has to be the best I had in all of Spain! It is a little pricier than other restaurants we visited but the kitchen is open from 1pm to midnight and when you are walking all day in the Serrano Avenue area you need a place that is open after 4pm when many restaurants close their kitchens. The Merluza is well worth the trip!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank aphillips61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We had really nice appetizers here. It is a lovely place to stop by.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced and bad meat.”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

The quality of the food and the small portions did not at all justify the high prices. The meat was not very good and was very expensive. The appetizers were ok but not anything to rave about. I would not recommend this restaurant. You can eat much better for half the price in many restaurants in Madrid.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BridgetteAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Worth a pass”
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We tried it because the menu and environment looked nice. The appetizers were "OK"-- but neither of us could eat the beef we were served. One half was raw, the other half cooked properly, but overall so tough and flavorless as to make it not even worth sending back to the kitchen. We did see the couple seated beside us sending their food back, with unhappy faces, although we don't know what was wrong with theirs. The fried potatoes were greasy too. The mixed drinks were big, which was about the best that can be said of Alkalde. In fact, the happiest diners seemed to be those with full drinks and no food. Perhaps it's better for tapas, but for full dinner it was expensive and the quality was unacceptable at any price. What a waste of dinnertime.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ernest S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alkalde Restaurante also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing