We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent classical apartment, with wonderful...”
other travelers have booked this property
Private Terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private Terrace
Private Terrace Private Terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Private Terrace
Private Terrace
Private Terrace
Private Terrace
Private Terrace
Private Terrace
Private Terrace
Private Terrace
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Dining Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Dining Room
Dining Room
Dining Room
Dining Room
Dining Room
Dining Room
Dining Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Ensuite Bathroom
Ensuite Bathroom
Ensuite Bathroom
Ensuite Bathroom
Ensuite Bathroom
Ensuite Bathroom
Corridor
Corridor
Corridor
The View
The View
The View
Hallways
Lobby
Lobby
Lobby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Madrid

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Berkshire...
Lenox, MA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not as nice as the photos”
Reviewed June 28, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

First, it was over 100F in Madrid last week, no a/c in the apartment. The house cleaner was finishing when we arrived and the apartment could have been cleaner,it is old and showing its age. (we have rented in Madrid before and also in an older building so we were prepared for the quirfks). The beds were not great. I had to wash the towels as they had an off odor, fortunately it was so hot they dried on a rack in a few hours.As the owner lives in the apartment, her food, clothing etc were everywhere. I had to move some of her food in the refrigerator to make room for our food.The terrace was the best part of the apartment. 2 lounges and a lovely table and chairs for breakfast.The location was perfect, we walked to almost all the sites we wanted to visit. The owner did share good suggestions for shops and restaurants.The apartment would probably be fine in cool months. Not for 2 couples but a family would be fine.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2017
My add does not mention a/c in the apartment,therefore I suggest you read carefully before renting.
You forget to mention that you arrived two hours before my checkin time and that you did not warn me about your arrival time.
Yes,the apartmen is old as you can see in the pics,it is exactly what my pics show,there is no photoshop in them,I am surprised that you are the first guest in 4 years who considers my place not as nice as in the pics.
The fridge is huge,and as I said when you required me for a reservation that is my own house,the place where I live,therefore you sould have expected some food in the fridge.
My clothes are everywhere?
Which clothes of mine are in smaller room or in the private bathroom?
Heat in Madrid is not my issue,that is the way it is.
I am glad you enjoyed the terrace.
You had to wash the towels?
It is all very surprising,I wash the towels and sheets myself after each guest departure,and the cleaning lady stays 3 hours at home,how could it be cleaner?
You are the first guest to give me a 3 stars review,my other reviews are 4 and 5 stars,and my place is exactly as shown in my add.
Thanks for your stay.
Sorry about the heat in Madrid,it is a HOT city.
And you are welcome for the bottle of Rioja wine I left for you as a welcome gift.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent classical apartment, with wonderful terrace, in superb central location”
Reviewed October 18, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

If you want to experience Madrid as the locals know it, this apartment is an excellent choice. The building is in classical old-Madrid style, with wonderful iron work, marble, polished wood and an almost silent lift that would grace any film noir. The apartment is spacious, light and airy. It is generally well furnished, with an interesting range of art works. The piece de resistance is the large south-west facing terrace, where we spent most afternoons and every evening - it is in the shade in the morning and therefore in late September/early October fairly cool. The apartment is well equipped, with two medium-sized bedrooms, one large bathroom and a small ensuite with a shower that, whilst small, was perfectly functional. The only downside was the standard-sized double beds (rather than king-size or larger) and the not particularly comfortable mattresses and pillows. However, the bonuses far outweigh this minor negative, and we became more used to the beds over the course of the week!

The location is superb. We walked everywhere from the apartment - not once having to resort to taxi or public transport. The Plaza Mayor, the Prado, the Mercado San Miguel, Salamanca and Retiro Park (to name just a few sites) were all easily reached.

The owner, Marcela, was exemplary. She provided much useful information in advance of our visit and support whilst we were there.

The apartment is expensive, but in our experience, well worth it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the roof terrace
Liked least: The beds and bedding
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 18, 2016
Thanks for your review Robert,I am glad you enjoyed my apartment.
I understand you consider it expensive because you were two persons,considering it is usually rented for 4 ,in that case for 4 people I do not think it is expensive.
Once again thanks for your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smashy51
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed October 13, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We enjoyed our stay in this apartment . The apartment building is beautiful and well preserved. Hall,lift and stairwell like stepping back in time. The apartment too has an air of another time,it is however comfortable and has everything you could require. The terrace was a bonus and we enjoyed the sights and sounds of Madrid while having breakfast there. Location could not be better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 14, 2016
I amglad you enjoyed your stay,thanks!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViaggioNo...
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great apartment stay in Madrid”
Reviewed May 29, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We enjoyed our stay in this Madrid penthouse apartment. It is spacious, quite comfortable for two couples to share. Because there are lots of windows, it is very bright and airy. It is well furnished and artistically decorated. The terrace is wonderful. And WiFi worked perfectly.
The owner is very nice. She was very responsive in making arrangements before our trip. Although she was out of town while we were there, she was very quick in answering texts when we had questions.
Of great advantage is the location of the apartment. It is within a 5 to 10 minute walk of a good sized grocery store and Metro stops. There are little shops, restaurants, and cafes everywhere in the neighborhood. And there is a little variety store down the street that sells every household product you could possibly need from toothbrushes to toilet bowl brushes; frying pans to coffee pots. All very economical. Best of all, you are within a 5 to 20 minute walk of all the sights from Plaza Mayor, the Palace, the major museums, and a host of churches. We walked just everywhere.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milanmila...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Top Class Property”
Reviewed May 25, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We thought it was lovely and had a great time. We would gladly recommend to others and indeed book again ourselves

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda B
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great apartment and great location”
Reviewed August 13, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This is a lovely comfortable apartment with a super outsdide terrace. Marcela was very welcoming and helpful before and during our stay. It is in a great central location close to bars and restaurants, shops, supermarket and metro, and walking distance to many tourist locations. We really enjoyed our stay in Madrid.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b
Colomiers, France
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing