We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and excellent staff!”
Review of Room Mate Oscar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Room Mate Oscar
Ranked #53 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
london
Level Contributor
89 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Perfect location and excellent staff!”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

If you're looking for a modern stylish hetero-friendly in the gay area Chueca, this is your boutique bolthole. The reception staff are outstanding - they really are key to the first rate impression you get. They cannot be praised highly enough and they deserve to be well rewarded. Bedrooms are good, beds very good and the overall design is fine in a fiddly/frustrating how does this work type of way. Breakfast was fine and included in the price. This will be my first choice for my next visits - very good price and value.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanartus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,103
    719
    231
    88
    59
See reviews for
114
931
235
352
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Neat, Boutique Hotel located in central madrid with the most pleasant and helpful front desk staff. Expedited check in and had a vast amount of knowledge on things to do with in the area.
Strong Wi-fi and close to shops, restaurants and bars.
Located in the 'colorful' neighborhood of Madrid. Nothing wrong with that as i get along well with everyone i just wasn't aware, lol. Still a very pleasant experience. Definitely catered to the young, vibrant and out-going audience or couples but i wouldn't really say it was cozy and accommodating for families with children.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sigmaikem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We had a wonderful stay in Madrid at Room Mate Oscar. Great room - we upgraded to Executive suite but only because we stayed for three nights and wanted to have the comfort of a bigger room. Very quiet. Nice bar right next door. Very nice neighbourhood. Excellent and very friendly staff. Would stay there again any time!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYCSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
236 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I recently spent 4 nights in Madrid and decided to stay at Oscar because they were offering a really discounted promotional rate... Last time in Madrid I stayed at Hotel De Las Letras, which is absolutely great (2 blocks away), but this time around it was more expensive...

I got room 309, which is interior, but I requested for a quiet room and this is really quiet, if not too luminous, but at the end, who goes to Madrid to spend daytime in the room, right?

I was a bit nervous after reading some of the reviews but in my experience, the staff were absolutely great! gracious, courteous, warm and professional... they gave good advice and were handy when requesting help... the cleaning girls do a really good job as well...

Location is absolutely perfect... 1 minute from Gran Via, close to Chueca and Salamanca and with easy access to Gran Via Metro in 3 minutes... the hotel (and the area) is a party zone, so be mindful if staying during the weekend...

The room was surprisingly big (I stayed in the cheapest one), with a huge closet (really appreciated!!!), comfortable bed, nice bedding and big bathroom as well... now, the room was very clean but it is definitely seen better days... everything works, but you can see damaged things, peeling paint, etc., not a big issue for me but definitely in need of a renovation...

I loved the fact that breakfast was served until 11 or 12 every day, which is fantastic... and to be honest it was great, with plenty of options to indulge or on the healthy side... cereals, yogurts, bread, pastries, scrambled eggs, fresh fruits, juices, cold cuts, etc...

Upon check-out, I sent my feedback to the manager and he immediately replied to my email, which is truly appreciated...

Overall, a really pleasant stay and will definitely consider Oscar if staying in Madrid in the future...

Room Tip: Exterior rooms can be noisy... interior rooms are quiet but can be dark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingMx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara L, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Oscar, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear TravellingMx,

A huge thank you for your magnificent review, seriously, we really appreciate when someone writes objectively about every important point in a hotel stay, either good either improvable.

I am glad to let you know we are starting in two months a big renovation for all the Standard rooms which is going to provide us an almost new hotel.

Hope we can see you again in the early future and you can enjoy Óscar and the beautiful Madrid!

Támara López
Front Desk manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

One of the worst experience of my life
- loud music
- dark rooms with no view
- smelly and dusty room
- allwaus a fight with the powerbuttons
- not enough toiletpaper
- chairs in eventroom hard an painfull (design aboce confort)
- 3 days there no refill of soap in mansroom of hotel.. also lack of toiletpaper.
- not friendly hotel employees...
- good lokation and good food.
- loud noises of drilling
- bad tv receipt
- unconfertable beds
- Very cold in loby

Not for me anymore.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank IlanKroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonzalo L, Gerente at Room Mate Oscar, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Ilan,

Thank you very much for your opinion through Tripadvisor. Over everything, we beg you to accept our sincere apologizes if the Hotel has not reached your total satisfaction. Our team is always willing to help you and to make your stay wonderful, which, clearly, in your case we have not achieved.

The most value information comes from our guests; this is how we improve day by day our service and our hotel.

We are very sorry that you did not like the atmosphere, with the music and the low lights; it is part of who Oscar is.

We are a little surprise because one of the main points of the philosophy of Room Mate is our service. Room Mate staff are very smiling people, in fact we love to smile!, and we receive this feedback from our guests.

We would have loved to know about your stay while you were in the hotel, so we could have done something to improve your experience.

Please do not hesitate in contact me, for anything you may need.

Yours sincerely,

Gonzalo Ladrón de Guevara
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

If you stay in room 704, all you hear is the motor of the lift all night long. Impossible to sleep. Also main shower does not work. The hotel though is in a great location of madrid and the rooms are small but clean and well presented with nice little details,

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jkoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonzalo L, Gerente at Room Mate Oscar, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are grateful that you have chosen the Room Mate Óscar, and also because you have spent a few minutes of your valuable time to let us know your opinion.

We are sorry because you haven´t had the time with us we expected. I would be very glad if you want to come again to our hotel. I´ll show you our different types of room, I am sure that you will find them more comfortable than the one you had… You will have a total satisfaction!

We have fixed already the shower of your room. Thank you very much for your feedback.

Please feel free to contact me for your next visit, I would love to help you.

Yours sincerely.

Gonzalo Ladrón de Guevara
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
120 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Property is located in central Madrid, very easy to get most places within a 15-20 minute stroll. Subway stops not too far, but not next door either. All staff encountered were very friendly and helpful. Hotel itself is comfortable. Hallways are dark, lights come on as you walk down the hallway, but never really lit up brightly. Room itself was of good size, with unique design. Bathroom (toilet and shower) were in a glass room in the middle of the room, with the bed up against one of the glass walls. Even with the design on the glass and the sheer curtain, would not be truly comfortable if traveling with another person and using the facilities. Whilst the design is cool, it does not allow anywhere to hang your towel after showering, nor anywhere other than the floor to place soap/shampoo. Room had good space, with in room safe. Would stay here again when traveling solo if price is right. Breakfast was good for price with various options.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLS300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#47 of 435 in Madrid
1,823 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 435 in Madrid
1,592 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
#48 of 435 in Madrid
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Chueca
Vincci The Mint
Vincci The Mint
#19 of 435 in Madrid
519 reviews
Centro
Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Oscar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Oscar

Property: Room Mate Oscar
Address: Plaza Pedro Zerolo 12, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chueca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Madrid
#64 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#139 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Room Mate Oscar 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel in Madrid ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Room Mate Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Room Mate Oscar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Oscar Madrid
Room Mate Oscar Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing