We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basis but clean and decent” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Santa Ana Colors

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Santa Ana Colors
Ranked #24 of 280 Madrid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
India
Level Contributor
66 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Basis but clean and decent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2009

This hotel is in a great location. Staff very friendly. The rooms are basic but clean. Whatever you do do not take the rooms facing the road. They are noisy and will keep you awake whole night specially if it is a weekend.

Overall a good place, location for the price.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank convie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    93
    29
    14
    5
See reviews for
12
114
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
226 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2008

Great location - close to everything in central Madrid. Lots of very good places to eat in the area. Kind of dark at the entrance at night (no outside light for the door), and avoid the rooms close to the central area (they would be very noisy). Breakfast is a DIY deal and quite good. Decent price, and decent room.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keerbergen
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2008

At first sight everything looks modern and clean.
But in our room we had problems with the shower (falling from the wall) and the electricity (going up and down).

Something inconvenient also is that the reception is not manned during all hours as advertised.
We had to leave our bags unattended for a while.

Conclusion: cheap chick.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Zap56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2008

My friend and I stayed here recently, and it was a great start to our European holiday. The hostal is on the second floor of a gorgeous old building smack-bang in the middle of Calle Huertas in the historic district, on a block that was primarily pedestrian-access only. It's a small place, which means that you get to know the staff (who are lovely), and don't feel like you're just another room number. Speaking of the rooms, they are identified by the colour of their decor - we had the yellow room, which faces out onto the street. It didn't have a balcony, but you could open the tall window and peer out down the street.

Sometimes the street sounds got too noisy late at night (those partying Madrilenos!!) but we would have been out there with them if we hadn't got completely trolleyed our first night in Madrid and then spent the rest of our stay (four nights) trying to recover from the damage we did then! Oh, and we could hear they guy in the next room snoring, so I guess the walls are thin.

But overall, the place has a great vibe and amazing location (walking distance to most places). There is free internet and breakfast, and I liked its personal, friendly feel.

  • Liked — The decor and the guys who run it
  • Disliked — Hearing the bloke in the next room snoring
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SuzyWatusi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2008

To start I think the reviews that are on here are a little unfair to say the least. We wanted a B&B style accommodation and this did it for us. From the price people should realise that in this location for a top hotel you're looking to pay well over £100 for a room and that may not even be nice.

We had a medium room and it was perfect for what we needed. We were on a weekend break so didn't want to spend any time in our room - it's not what we went to Madrid for! There's air con, snacks (bread, cornflakes, juice, cheese, ham etc) whenever you want it (which is good for those who don't want to jump out of bed for 8am breakfast), clean towels for a 3 night stay so you don't need them replaced and water wasted on their wash and reasonable sized bathroom.

We had the purple room which has a great shower (although no view from the room). I looked in the larger rooms and their bathrooms were actually smaller than ours so I'm glad we didn't pay the extra.

As for location it was perfect. 3-4 minutes from Sol and 2 minutes from Plaza Santa Ana which is lovely. We walked to everywhere apart from Bernabau (El rastro market, the Palace, Retiro park/Prado, Gran via and the shops).

The reception staff were polite and we'd done our homework on where to go so didn't need anything from them apart from an iron.

I could go on but don't be put off by the bad reviews. Our room
looked like the pictures and was just as we expected. I'd recommend it to anyone. The only thing to think about is if you're not capable of walking up 2 flights of stairs don't stay as there's no lift.

And if you want great views from your room, a deluxe room and first class service at least double to cost of your holiday and you'll be fine!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No pool ha ha (we're too poor for that!)
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Fairies21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2008

Where do I start? Saying the walls are paper-thin is an understatement. Let's say that if someone bats his eyelids in the next room, you'll certainly hear it. Many times we were woken up in the middle of the night by people coming in, and forget about afternoon napping: the management would leave the radio on all through the afternoon. Someone mentioned the showers don't drain properly. That's true. They don't change your towels daily, either, and you're not even told beforehand. The room is rather worse for wear. A broken wall switch here, a bit of wallpaper coming off there...
The pillow (just one long pillow for a double bed) was lumpy and uncomfortable and the management is not as friendly as other reviewers suggested. Their English is extremely limited, too. We were fooled by the pictures on the website, basically. Let us say they know how to use Photoshop. I guess it's ok if you're a young traveller with no experience of what a good hotel is supposed to be like, but for the rest of us, steer clear.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LasPalmas76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2008

Positive: Love the concept of the self-serve snacks bar and internet which is available 24/7. 1 min walk to Anton Martin metro station.

Negative: The room is small (we were in medium size room Blue) and the shower is even smaller and not drained probably. My feet was steeped in water the whole time when taking shower and worry it will over flow. The walls were thin and can hear people talking in the main area.

Recommendations: Try the 3 course set lunch menu (about 15 Euro include wine) at Olsen http://www.olsenmadrid.com which is only 2 minutes walk from the hostel. Much better than having touristy tapas for high price along Cava Baja, etc.

  • Disliked — Room Size
  • Stayed March 2007
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Connect10dots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Ibis Styles Madrid Prado
Ibis Styles Madrid Prado
#100 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Huertas
Artistic B&B
Artistic B&B
#1 of 280 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Huertas
Hostal Atelier
Hostal Atelier
#21 of 280 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
La Posada de Huertas
La Posada de Huertas
#35 of 407 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Lapepa Chic Bed & Breakfast
Huertas
Hostal Alexis
Hostal Alexis
#12 of 280 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Santa Ana Colors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Santa Ana Colors

Property: Hostel Santa Ana Colors
Address: Calle Huertas 14 | 2 Ext. Izda, 28012 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Chic & Basic Colors)
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 280 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Santa Ana Colors 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 rooms equipped with air conditioning, plasma TV, and a common area with self-service breakfast, internet and daily newspapers. Surrounded by many restaurants, bars and shops. Located on the second floor of a nineteenth century building, completely remodeled, and in the Barrio de las Letras in Madrid, situated in one of the streets with more charm of the city, next to Plaza Santa Ana, and excelentemete statement. Close to the Calderon Theater, Spanish, Figaro and Apollo, Museo del Prado, Reina Sofia and Thyssen. And tourist areas like Las Cortes, Plaza Mayor, the Royal Palace, Puerta del Sol, Gran Via and Chueca. It is communicated by meter stations Sol, Anton Martin and Tirso de Molina, and surrounded by several parkings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Santa Ana Colors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chic And Basic Colors
Chic & Basic Colors Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing