We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I could have spent more for better.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal la Zona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal la Zona
Ranked #36 of 280 Madrid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Hollywood, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I could have spent more for better.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

Great location in the gayborhood. Very friendly English speaking owner. Rooms were basic, extra small, but clean. I didn't pay much and I got what I paid for. Nicer hotels were across the street. Ok hotel if you want a cheap trip.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    65
    25
    7
    4
See reviews for
6
53
62
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

Hostal la Zona is a well located hostal, it has a lift and the staff are very helpful in navigating the city, sights and transport system. The rooms are very basic. The rooms where cleaned every day. We were out most of the day so did not use the room but as a place to sleep. The hostal can get noisey, so bring your ear plugs and the rooms are dark, which is good for sleeping. The bathrooms are small. If you are just looking for a place to crash and not hang out with friendly staff hostal la Zona is suitable.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the front of the hostal, where the main street is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

I was here for a week and loved the atmosphere and the employees were awesome! very nice, very friendly and very relaxing! I wish i could have stayed longer. next time, I know where I will be staying, at Hostal La Zona!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juan o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

It is in a good location and cheap but it is a depressing place with small old towels threadbare sheets and intermiittent hot water. It is also very noisy outside at night. I have had nights with no sleep. The room is dark - not so surprising in a city centre old building but the lights are so dim it is difficult to read. The furniture is old and cheap - adds to the depressing ambiance.
The breakfast is OK.
They forgot to clean my room on the Saturday morning.
They also did not give me a double bed as I had booked. I shall not return.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WelltravelledSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

I stayed here once before a few years ago and was not that impressed however it has a fantastic location and good prices,

But NOW!!??:

Lots of noisy street life - more since the smoking ban - could not sleep. Never again.

The owner lied!! I had booked a double bed room for sole occupany and got a twin!!! Beware. I hate small beds when I am paying for a room for two on my own.

After two stays I would say it is one of the most depressing places to stay in Madrid. Clean but dull and dingy.

Hostal Oxum is fae more stylish and in the sames zone but no lift. In Hostal Oxum last Oct I paid 45€ pn including breakfast and free mini bar. Got duvets and loads more style.

La Zona is clean and tidy but dull and dingy and I really don't like the lies about the bed size.Plus have to say that the breakfast is pretty poor.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lovetotravellondon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kangar
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2010

I'm not sure that the room that i get is the same as the other reviewers. When i arrived, the owner told me that they're renovating their rooms and i gave me another room, at the corner of the building - totally separated from the hostal.
The room impressed me - its not a room, its a studio - bedroom, kitchen, dining and living rooms cleverly separated by simple elegant partition.
I dont have breakfast but the kitchen is well equipped with tea, coffee, creamer, vinegar, salt..so i guess it'e really up to me.
Super comfortable.
Super convenient as the location is perfectly close to the ever popular Gran Via, Calle de Fuencarral and the metro.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Honest_malaysian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

This place has always been at the top of my list. It's probably the best hostal in the gay part of Madrid in terms of price and quality. The owners and staff are all gay, which really does make a difference, and are very helpful. I'd recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guySanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Hostal La Fontana
Hostal La Fontana
#44 of 280 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Centro
Hostal Go Inn Madrid
Hostal Go Inn Madrid
#3 of 280 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Huertas
Artistic B&B
Artistic B&B
#1 of 280 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hostal Santa Cruz
Hostal Santa Cruz
#35 of 280 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Chueca
Room007 Chueca Hostel
Room007 Chueca Hostel
#17 of 407 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Abel Victoriano
Hostal Abel Victoriano
#17 of 280 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal la Zona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal la Zona

Property: Hostal la Zona
Address: Calle Valverde 7 10 y 20, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 280 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostal has 14 rooms in 2 floors, all but 1 has a blacony. We are in an excellent location, 1'from "Gran Via", 5' from "Puerta del Sol". A breakfast buffet is included in our rates. You will keep the keys all the time so you can feel free to move (no reception desktop). We will always have time to help you with any information you'd need in your visit to our city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hostal la Zona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing