We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location in Madrid”
Review of AC Hotel Recoletos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
AC Hotel Recoletos
Ranked #146 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Ideal location in Madrid”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed for six nights on the front and back end of our trip. It was ideally located and very quiet. It is a very short walk from the Cercanias stop (Recoletos) from the airport (2.50 E), not too far from attractions and near many nice restaurants. In particular, the restaurant El Borbollon on Calle Recolletos just north of the hotel was outstanding. We went twice. La Cesta at #10 nearby is also nice, as was (oddly enough) the New York Burger virtually next door. There are several other places to eat on the same street and many places near the Porte Alcala just south of the hotel. Mallorca on Calle de Serrano is perfect for pastries, an early dinner, or people-watching. It is somewhat like a smaller version of Fauchon in Paris.

The hotel is modern, extremely quiet in the rooms, and had a very helpful front desk staff. The one major oddity is that the bathroom is actually more of an opaque glass box. So, one must be very familiar with one's roommate or it would be awkward. We had a small issue with the temporary staff in the bar and the desk resolved this immediately. There is live music in the lobby almost once a week, which we enjoyed immensely.

We walked to most major attractions or used taxis when the temperature was high. There are numerous taxis that pass by the hotel. I almost selected the 4 star property across from Retiro and am pleased that I selected this hotel instead. The location was vastly superior. We stayed on the third and first floors(108 and 309) and had no problem with noise. Colleagues staying at the same time stayed on the fifth floor and remarked that it was quiet as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texas spot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    239
    55
    16
    3
See reviews for
88
201
34
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stay here for 3 nights (supposed to be 4 but Marriott put us in the wrong location). Part of my review is based upon the fact that they fixed the problem and put us in a suite that was very nice. Also, this hotel is so much nicer than the other Marriott we were in before it felt like we were delivered from hotel hell.

Great location, close to the park, shopping, food, bike rentals and Metro.

Room was nice. Separate lounge area and bedroom. 2 decent sized rooms by European standards.

Work out facility is not though. A room with 3 machines.

Would stay here again but would get a room high up away from the street - we were on the 2nd floor of 5.

Service was very good, however you had to work at it a little bit to get what you wanted. Don't know if that is the way the staff is or the language barrier.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the street and bar. There are several cafe's across the street from the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElwoodBlues951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This hotel is quite lovely with its modern stream-lined rooms and décor. We spent 5 nights there and loved the quiet street and beautiful location. The neighborhood is wonderful with little fun restaurants and bars. Transportation access was outstanding and the reception staff was extremely helpful! I wish they would improve their hard bed pillows, though! . It is a definite upscale hotel in an upscale neighborhood.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnjdougan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Stay for the last two nights in room 308, the hotel is well placed near the centre of Madrid. Most of the sites are within walking distance. It is still reasonably quiet around the hotel at night. The hotel itself is modern small and reasonable well appointed. The room is a decent size of a city centre hotel, good comfortable king sized bed, plenty of wardrobe space. A good desk and chair to work at and a comfortable chair and footstool to relax in. The glass walled bathroom is a good way of lightning the room. Good shower and bed combo.
The breakfast is decent with all the bases covered. The front desk staff are very helpful and the bar staff friendly. I am gold marriot member so the no free breakfast and no lounge were a bit of blow but no the end of the world. Still got the free internet with good wifi.

The only downside is nowhere to print boarding passes, however the very helpful lady in reception did this for me after I emailed them the information.
This hotel is geared for the business traveller suited me.
If I was visiting Madrid again I would stay here.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The AC hotels are technically a part of the Marriott chain, but don't expect any of the benefits of being a Marriott member. They don't offer any of the benefits (no breakfast, no lounge) that are offered to Marriott premier members.

The hotel basically feels like a discount "boutique" hotel. It has lovely architecture on the outside, and is well situated for tourism. However, everything about the hotel feels cheap. The rooms are quite small, and the staff lie about upgrades, claiming that all the rooms are exactly alike when they clearly are not (we saw inside other rooms that were being cleaned).

The hotel also referred us to their "exclusive" travel agent to arrange a tour of Toledo. We were promised pick up and return to the hotel, but lo and behold, at the end of the tour, the travel agency dumped us far from the hotel. Toledo is amazing, but there are many tour companies that are far more reputable. Don't be fooled by the staff, who I'm sure are taking healthy kickbacks from the agency.

I stayed here to take advantage of my Marriott points, but otherwise, I would definitely stay at a more charming Madrid hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ricedish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

As a family we are staying at ac marriott recoletos. Excellent service provided by front desk and other staff. Cleaniness is also their priority.

We just came up from breakfast which is pretty good. Very imppressed and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elenxhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, MA
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Nice design-orientated hotel - hard to believe this is part of the Marriott chain. The staff was very accommodating, and spoke English very well. Rooms we decent sized, and bathrooms good. Breakfast was included with my rate, and they had a good selection. Room service was actually very good

Maybe a 10-15 minute walk to the Prado and Museums.

When taking a taxi, be sure to say Calle Recoletos (As this is just off of the main street, Recoletos).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whereshouldilive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel One Shot Recoletos 04
Barrio de Salamanca
Jardin de Recoletos
Jardin de Recoletos
#28 of 436 in Madrid
551 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Petit Palace Embassy Serrano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Barrio de Salamanca
Petit Palace Art Gallery
Petit Palace Art Gallery
#73 of 436 in Madrid
633 reviews
Paseo del Prado
AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Recoletos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Recoletos

Property: AC Hotel Recoletos
Address: Calle Recoletos 18, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Madrid
#75 Business Hotel in Madrid
#102 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#111 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Recoletos 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Hotel Recoletos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Recoletos Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing