We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but not really at the airport...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Madrid Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Madrid Airport
Ranked #74 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but not really at the airport...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

It's a great hotel, very friendly staff but actually a little far from the airport.

I took a standard twin room (only one available) and it was more than adequate. Check in was quick and effortless. Large bathroom with rather odd glass sink... nice idea but not to my own taste! Lounge area is small but with a small selection of food (house wine, beer and light nibbles) it is a great way to ease into the evening after a day in the office.

It's a 20EUR ride into town with a cab which takes around 20-30 mins depending on traffic.

Breakfast is usual selection of cereal, bread, processed meat and cheese slices, fruit and yoghurt. Coffee was super strong (you may need to dilute it if you prefer an americano) and tea was refeshing. Price is 20EUR if not included in your room deal.

Would stay again as a very pleasant stay, but I just think another hotel would be more convenient in terms of location.

Room Tip: Back side, away from the busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Britsinvade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMadridAirport, General Manager at Hilton Madrid Airport, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion.

I am happy to learn that you had a really nice stay in the hotel. It was particularly pleasant to see that your impression of our staff were very helpful and friendly.

I am sure that all your suggestions will help other guests to enjoy even more their stay in Madrid.

It will be an honour to have you again in the hotel. We look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Iñigo Arruti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,399
    954
    300
    93
    42
See reviews for
507
933
277
811
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
482 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

I have stayed here on a few occaisons and will keep coming back. I feel the staff are great and the hotel amenities are worth the booking. If you are Hilton Diamond, the extra perks are nice but the Executive Lounge seems to close earlier than at other Hiltons. Breakfast is very good, not great.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozdess9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMadridAirport, General Manager at Hilton Madrid Airport, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us.
We truly appreciate your opinion as this allows us to continually develop and improve our guests´ experience through our service.

Our team are always available to provide excellent service and we can see that we have met your expectations, thanks to your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and on the next occasion I would like to personally welcome you to Hilton Madrid Airport.

Again, thank you for your positive feedback, which I have immediately shared with our team.

Best regards,

Iñigo Arruti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2014

This hotel is very modern, has well equipped rooms and facilities (fitness, pool, meeting rooms) with a touch of contemporary design.
I spent 1 night during the week in August 2014, which costed me only 135 EUR including breakfast and Wifi, which I think is a very reasonable price for a hotel of such a standard.
I ordered room service - they took 15 minutes longer than expected, and brought the wrong bottle of water. When I complained, they immediately gave me a 50% discount on the meal.
Food (room service and breakfast buffet with limited choice) was of average quality.
The only really annoying point is that they claim this to be an aiport hotel, while actually it isn't: I had to wait 20 minutes for their shuttle at the terminal (they do not provide any schedule, so you don't know when the shuttle will arrive), and then it took an additional 15 minutes to get to the hotel itself.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris5021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMadridAirport, General Manager at Hilton Madrid Airport, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us.
We truly appreciate your opinion as this allows us to continually develop and improve our guests´ experience through our service.

Our team are always available to provide excellent service and on this occasion we can see that we have almost met your expectations, thanks to your valuable feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and on the next occasion I would like to personally welcome you to Hilton Madrid Airport.

Again, thank you for your feedback, which I have immediately shared with our team.

Best regards,

Iñigo Arruti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2014

To be fair, its some distance to any terminal so if you miss the shuttle you are in for 20-25 Euro's. The hotel is very modern in décor and actually very pleasant to stay at. The food and drink is expensive but then it is a Hilton so I expected that. The staff are friendly enough and if you are leaving early there is hot coffee, juice and fresh croissants in the reception area before you catch the shuttle or your cab. Internet was free for me and very fast. The rooms modern appointments meant I was not fumbling around with an inexplicable shower control or cranky tap when I got in at midnight. Flat screen TV delivered adequate news, TV and movie channels and the room was very quiet so no arriving or departing aircraft or traffic noise. Ideal if you are trapped in Iberia's bizarre flight connection schedules .........

Room Tip: Try to get a higher floor away from the main atrium but not near the conference / ball room ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coleman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMadridAirport, General Manager at Hilton Madrid Airport, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with other travellers.

We are very happy to hear you had a wonderful stay at the hotel. I am sure that all your suggestions will help other guests to enjoy even more their stay in Madrid.

We look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Iñigo Arruti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2014

This is a modern, new hotel near the airport with shuttle service. The food and drink prices are exorbitant and not very good quality, and there is nothing anywhere nearby so when stopping over in Madrid for an air connection without a car, you're stuck paying their prices.

We paid extra for the Wi-Fi which did not work at all, but we complained and they removed the charges from the bill without any hassle.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sf_winos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMadridAirport, General Manager at Hilton Madrid Airport, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your informative review.

We do provide a complimentary shuttle service to & from the airport from 5:00am until Midnight every 20 minutes. For transport to the city centre, this service takes a one-way journey in the mornings at: 9:15, 11:15 and 12:15.

Plenilunio shopping centre can be found just 20 minutes walking distance, where there are various restaurants, cafes, shops and entertainment. Additionally, a shuttle service is available at 5:00pm which takes guests directly to Plenilunio, and returns to the Hotel at 7:00pm & 8:00pm.

I look forward to personally welcoming you back to Hilton Madrid Airport in the near future.

Best Wishes,

Iñigo Arruti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

This is definitely closer to 'Excellent' than 'Very Good' with only a couple of tweaks required to take it to a clear 5/5! The accommodation, services, staff and ambience are all, without a doubt, fantastic.

Upon our exit from Madrid Airport, we were promptly picked up by one of the hotel's free shuttle buses without having had to book it. The driver was very polite and helpful! The journey was no more than 10 minutes and when we arrived we were swiftly checked in by a very friendly member of staff.

The room was homely, clean, spacious and impressive. The floor-to-ceiling windows made it lovely and light and the the way the gorgeously-decorated and roomy bathroom opened out into the rest of the room created an additional sense of space. It initially seemed strange that this theme of openness extended to no doors being present on the room's wardrobe space, but this was certainly helpful when packing and performing the inevitable 'have we left anything' check. Tea- and coffee-making facilities were provided and, although the coffee was not the nicest of blends, this did not overly detract from a great rooming experience. The bed was very comfortable and we were extremely impressed with the speed with which a late night request for a replacement non-feather pillow was responded to by the customer services team.

The primary purpose of our visit was to relax, work out and grab as much sun as possible during the day and to explore the city during the evenings (when the temperature had dropped a couple of degrees). The hotel was almost perfectly equipped for this design of holiday.

The pool/lounger/gym area was a gorgeous area! Both the pool and the free-weights/floor-work area of the gym have open ceilings which let the sun and fresh air in and continue the 'large and open' theme to the hotel's decor. That said, the pool itself is not as large as it might appear in photos on the website. It is the pool the main (albeit small) thorn in the side of our visit. With the temperature outside averaging 35 deg for our visit, everyone was welcome of a chance to cool off in the pool, but cool off implies a sense of comfort. The fact that the pool did not have a sheet of ice across its surface when we came down in the mornings was, frankly, a surprise. As my wife likes to swim for an hour or two a day, this was far from ideal. The most she could manage was an hour a day and following that she needed a long shower and 10-15 minutes in the sauna just to return to close to body temperature and to regain a sense of feeling in her hands and feet. Mentioning this issue to the reception, sadly, did not yield any increase in the pool's temperature. The only other minor qualm was the relatively limited number of loungers available. Admittedly, the sun terrace did not have much room for more loungers (though an extra 2/3 could have been placed sun-side by the row of windows close to the gym entrance), but in the long term, as only one side of the terrace gets any sun, could the water feature be filled in to create more sunning space? Usually, if you were around the terrace long enough, loungers would free up and the staff were excellent in providing comfortable mats to be used for sunbathing on the floor and also at enforcing a 'no holding' policy on loungers.

The loungers themselves are exceptionally comfortable, easily moveable and luxurious in their design. The staff, again, go above and beyond in terms of helping you to move the loungers from pool-side to terrace or vice-versa if you need to. (Pool-side does not get as much sun due to the open roof structure.) The ease to free drinking water and ice is also a real positive; as are with the beautifully laid-out and well-equipped showers and changing rooms which are part of the pool/fitness complex. The changing rooms house a sauna and steam room, too. There is also a very quiet and peaceful feel to the whole area: there is music, but it is not too loud and with the hotel being away from the city centre and the terrace facing away from and being protected from the main roads, there is hardly any background noise.

The gym has a huge range of equipment, much of it cutting edge in terms of development in sports science. Cardiovascular, free-weight, resistance machine and core/body-weight workouts are all catered for with modern and well-kept kit.

A real strength of the whole area, however, is the staff. In particular, the two men who ran the centre for the bulk of the time (we sadly did not get there names) were fantastic. They enforced the rules in and around the pool, were fair in ensuring that people without loungers got them if someone was gone too long, catered to customer needs, listened to suggestions for improvements, put on extremely impressive and dynamic personal training sessions (based on observations), used their 'down time' to try to design new workouts together and overall combined a sense of fun, friendliness and professionalism that hit the spot in terms of the tone set by the hotel.

The reception staff were also extremely helpful, dealing in a friendly manner with any requests and always being as helpful as possible when offering advice. They also ran the booking of the free shuttle into Madrid very efficiently. This service was another real strength. To have 4 scheduled departures into Madrid city centre each day was extremely useful. We used the 6.30pm service every day, arriving in the centre at around 6.45pm and returning by metro later (the nearest stop is only a 10min walk from the hotel and the trains run till 2am). This was perfect in terms of allowing us to see many of the gorgeous sites that Madrid has to offer before enjoying an evening meal in the city. The shuttle bus was equally as reliable and easy to use for returning to the airport. All the drivers we encountered were charming and helpful, which only helps to uphold the feel-good ambience created by the hotel.

Overall, we had a truly wonderful stay (one of our favourite holidays) and are extremely grateful to the hotel staff for creating and upholding a relaxing, calm and friendly environment which contributed significantly to the quality of our holiday!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMadridAirport, General Manager at Hilton Madrid Airport, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us.
We truly appreciate your opinion as this allows us to continually develop and improve our guests´ experience through our service.

Our team are always available to provide excellent service and we can see that we have met your expectations, thanks to your positive feedback. I have shared your lovely comments with our team.

I am happy to hear that our complimentary shuttle service served you well, bearing in mind it is available to all guests, and goes to all the airport terminals every 25 minutes from 5:00am until Midnight. Additionally, it takes 3 one-way journeys to the Puerta de Alcalá in the morning at: 9:15, 11:15 and 12:15.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and on the next occasion I would like to personally welcome you to Hilton Madrid Airport.

Again, thank you for your positive feedback, which I have immediately shared with our team.

Best regards,

Iñigo Arruti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

This could not have been a nicer hotel in appearance and accommodations. However, the shuttle service was poor. I suggest just paying for a taxi. Especially for an American tourist, the accommodations, were excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Harry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMadridAirport, General Manager at Hilton Madrid Airport, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us.
We truly appreciate your opinion as this allows us to continually develop and improve our guests´ experience through our service.

Our team are always available to provide excellent service and on this occasion we can see that we have almost met your expectations, thanks to your valuable feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and on the next occasion I would like to personally welcome you to Hilton Madrid Airport.

Again, thank you for your feedback, which I have immediately shared with our team.

Best regards,

Iñigo Arruti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Maydrit Hotel
#73 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Airport / Barajas
Axor Feria Hotel
Axor Feria Hotel
#125 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
San Blas
Axor Barajas Hotel
Axor Barajas Hotel
#90 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Nuevo Boston
#114 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
San Blas
Madrid Marriott Auditorium Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Madrid Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Madrid Airport

Property: Hilton Madrid Airport
Address: Avenida Hispanidad 2-4, 28042 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Airport / Barajas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Madrid
#43 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#43 Family Hotel in Madrid
#56 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Madrid Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish Hilton Madrid Airport hotel is just minutes from Madrid Barajas International Airport and the bustling cosmopolitan city of Madrid. Take advantage of the complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport and stops at attractions or use the nearby Metro station as your link to the city of Madrid.Indulge in a fantastic selection of rooms at this Madrid hotel which include impressive marble bathrooms, flat-screen LCD or plasma TVs and wireless internet access. Guest rooms feature heated floors and floor-to-ceiling windows. Executive, deluxe and relaxation rooms offer complimentary access to the Executive Lounge. Enjoy a suite that offers a separate living room and fluffy bathrobes for your comfort and convenience. Refresh with a swim in the hydrotherapeutic pool and exercise in the fully equipped fitness center.Consider the self-contained Convention Center located in the North Tower of the Hilton Madrid Airport for business conferences, celebrations and stylish Madrid weddings. Host up to 450 guests in space that includes a board room and elegant ballroom, making this Madrid airport hotel an ideal location.Savor sumptuous Mediterranean cuisine in the Reserva Grill Restaurant and enjoy tantalizing tapas and a glass of Rioja in the Ferrum Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Madrid Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Madrid Airport Hotel Madrid
Hilton International Madrid Airport
Madrid Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing