We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious, except for the location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Hilton Madrid Airport
Ranked #76 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Europe
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Luxurious, except for the location”
Reviewed June 24, 2008

This new and spacious airport hotel is very comfortable and luxurious. Service is very good.

The surroundings, however, are quite depressing. There is nothing (no services, restaurants etc.) near the hotel, except for a highway and vacated lot and some industrial airport buildings. You need to walk 15 minutes over an highway overpass and through a suburban area to the nearest Metro station. Taxi drivers have no idea how to find the hotel, probably because it is very new.

They offer free shuttle service to/from the airport. Hotel is great if you have a very early flight or late arrival, because of its location near the airport. For a tourist wishing to explore the city the location is not good, except if you wish to use the taxi to/from the city, and try to guide the taxi driver to find the hotel.

The minibar, bar and restaurant are all really, really expensive. Service and food are great, though, but not worth the incredible prices, in my opinion.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank xTravellerx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,527
    1,022
    319
    102
    48
See reviews for
554
998
304
884
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
816 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 419 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2008

While this new Hilton property is well decorated and within a 10 min. taxi ride from the airport, there is nothing in the way of restaurants or shopping within walking distance of the hotel. You must take a taxi should you decide to dine outside of the hotel. The food in the hotel restaurant is good, but it is VERY high priced. Outrageous really. The front desk or guest service is good during regular day hours, however, I tried to call down for a wake up call and got no one. I tried over and over again and finally called room service to go get someone at the front desk to call my room. I had even tried to call the hotels main number directly to get a response, but they didn't answer that phone either. I speak only English and found many of the staff unable to understand me, but I guess there is two ways to look at that. Perhaps I should learn Spanish if traveling to a mostly Spanish speaking country. I had a "Presidential Floor" 5th floor room and while it was spacious and well appointed, my 5th floor view was of another wing of their building. This may be trivial, but there is not a gift shop at all where you can get simple things like lip balm (Chapstick) or such items you may realize you need or want. In short, new is nice, but consider if you want to taxi everywhere, if you want to spend a bundle on food at the hotel, if you want front desk sevice whenever you need it, a gift shop, and perhaps you may want to stay elsewhere. New is not always best. Oh, and the elevators were not working on my arrivel, but then, the property is new and I guess they have to work through some things like that. All said, overall, I rate this Hilton property as average and will probably stay elsewhere in Madrid on my next trip.

  • Liked — New
  • Disliked — High Restaurant prices and no other options in close location to the hotel
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevewilhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2008

I stayed at the Madrid Hilton by the airport on the last night of my business/holiday trip to Europe, and it was the best of the five hotels I stayed in during my 2-week trip. The hotel is still working out some glitches, but all staff at the hotel were trying very hard to please and did an excellent job. Luckily, the shuttle bus arrived at Terminal 4 just a few minutes after I got there. The hotel's phone number is not on the list of shuttle buses at the stop, so I'd recommend that you bring the phone number with you so that you can call if necessary.

On arrival, I was upgraded to the "Presidential" floor (one of two Executive floors) and given access to the Executive lounge. This might have been a perk of having Gold status with Hilton (but no doubt was also due to the fact that occupancy levels were low).

My large room was stylishly decorated in black and white, with a striking and quirky red armchair. The bathroom featured a separate shower (with rain shower head) and bath, a heated floor and speakers.

I visited the Executive Lounge, where I enjoyed a glass of cava, a few munchies (not as good a selection as the Paris-CDG Hilton but still decent) and checked my email. (The Lounge has two terminals; in-room access to internet is about 17 or 18 euros a day).

I also tried the restaurant for a light dinner (well-executed linguine with clams) and for breakfast the next day. The breakfast spread is extensive.

I would recommend budgeting at least 45 minutes from the time you check out to take the shuttle to your terminal. I was told that the shuttle was expected at 10:30, but it didn't show up until close to 10:50. Because I was in a hurry, I asked to be dropped off first (at T1), and the trip took a little under 10 minutes. If you're going to T4 and the shuttle stops at other terminals first, it could take you 25 minutes or so to get to your terminal.

All in all, in was a very pleasant experience. I would even consider staying here again for a city-focused visit, because the price was great and it would be feasible to take the Hilton shuttle to the airport and then the metro into the city.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrogNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2008

This is a stunning new property – opened 1st June 2008 – bright, large and modern rooms, stunning public areas, funky bar and restaurant. If you are looking for a hotel near the Madrid airport this really is the obvious choice. Also great value for money.

  • Liked — Very modern
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger_GB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Maydrit Hotel
#91 of 436 in Madrid
1,423 reviews
Melia Barajas
#168 of 436 in Madrid
1,364 reviews
Airport / Barajas
Pullman Madrid Airport & Feria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Blas
Madrid Marriott Auditorium Hotel & Conference Center
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#20 of 436 in Madrid
1,945 reviews
San Blas
Axor Barajas Hotel
Axor Barajas Hotel
#112 of 436 in Madrid
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Madrid Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Madrid Airport

Property: Hilton Madrid Airport
Address: Avenida Hispanidad 2-4, 28042 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Airport / Barajas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Madrid
#43 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#43 Family Hotel in Madrid
#59 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Madrid Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish Hilton Madrid Airport hotel is just minutes from Madrid Barajas International Airport and the bustling cosmopolitan city of Madrid. Take advantage of the complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport and stops at attractions or use the nearby Metro station as your link to the city of Madrid.Indulge in a fantastic selection of rooms at this Madrid hotel which include impressive marble bathrooms, flat-screen LCD or plasma TVs and wireless internet access. Guest rooms feature heated floors and floor-to-ceiling windows. Executive, deluxe and relaxation rooms offer complimentary access to the Executive Lounge. Enjoy a suite that offers a separate living room and fluffy bathrobes for your comfort and convenience. Refresh with a swim in the hydrotherapeutic pool and exercise in the fully equipped fitness center.Consider the self-contained Convention Center located in the North Tower of the Hilton Madrid Airport for business conferences, celebrations and stylish Madrid weddings. Host up to 450 guests in space that includes a board room and elegant ballroom, making this Madrid airport hotel an ideal location.Savor sumptuous Mediterranean cuisine in the Reserva Grill Restaurant and enjoy tantalizing tapas and a glass of Rioja in the Ferrum Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hilton Madrid Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Madrid Airport Hotel Madrid
Hilton International Madrid Airport
Madrid Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing