We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favourite hotel so far” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apartamentos El Tiempo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Apartamentos El Tiempo
Ranked #98 of 407 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Malta
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“My favourite hotel so far”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

I stayed one night in Busca del Tiempo as part of a longer trip, and fell in love with it. It is in the heart of Madrid but in a quiet sidestreet, the hotel is full of history and is a perfect mix of old brick walls and wooden beams, and modern decoration. The room had airconditiioning (which was great in the cold December weather), satelite tv and free wifi. Breakfast was typical spaniah in the adjoining restaurant, great!
I will only stay here whenever in Madrid, recommend it highly.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PedasoDeChica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    59
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
18
32
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2010

We had a double room with bathroom en suite. And, most importantly, we had a room that faced the back of the hotel. The hotel is located just a block from the always hopping Puerta del Sol, and there are numerous bars and restaurants on the same street and in the vicinity. Amazingly, we never heard any outside noise once we were in the hotel, especially when we were in our room.

The room was a bit small, as was the bathroom, but both were entirely adequate. We had a small kitchen, that we didn't use, but it was a nice addition. The bed was very comfortable, and we slept with the window opened, which added to our enjoyment of the place.

The personnel were very helpful and always available. The breakfast was very good and filling, and free. On offer were coffee, tea, quiche, some fruit, pastries and bread, with your choice of amazing toast with cheese and/or some additional toppings. Very good.

The hotel does not have the amenities that a larger place might have, but we enjoyed everything that the hotel offered. The location is absolutely perfect, because it is so close to Puerta del Sol, which is the heart of the city.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZuzuTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
227 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2010

We found this hotel by chance on a weekend when everyone else was sold out. We were so glad that we did! The room was so cute (we suggest requesting a room with a view!!) and it was the best shower we'd taken in our 3 months in Europe! Most staff didn't speak good English, but we didn't have any trouble communicating and they were very helpful in providing everything we needed (extra pillows, a hair dryer, etc). The complimentary breakfast was also very satisfying. The hotel was steps away from the Puerta del Sol and about a 5 min walk to the Plaza Mayor. There were tons of cafes and restaurants everywhere you look and we felt like we were in the best location possible! To top it all off it was a great value. Stay here!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christie584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2009

I've stayed at this hotel on several occassions, and I've been very pleased with each experience. The rooms and bathrooms are very clean and there is air conditioning. The location is very convenient and close to everything, inlcuding a metro station. They now offer free breakfast downstairs at the restaurant. The service has gotten better over the years. And the waiter that typically works in the mornings is super hot. You cant beat that!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovemadridalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2008

We stayed in these apartments for 2 nights. They are located on a pedestrian street within walking distance to two Irish bars, 'The Dubliner' & 'O'Connell St.' and other local bars & restaurants. There are several flights of stairs but there is also a lift available after the first flight. We checked in and were shown straight to our rooms on the top floor. Our room had Air Con, TV, Kitchenette with a fridge, sink & crockery & a separate bathroom. The room was clean but basic, clean towels, shower gel & soap were provided. We were given one set of keys for each room & one for the front door.
Breakfast is provided from 7.30 until 10.30am. A voucher is provided at reception to eat in the bar next door but we didn't use them as we found the staff there unfriendly to a group of 11 ladies so we ate breakfast in 'O Connell St Pub' which was good apart from being served hot milk to drink with tea even though we asked for cold milk twice, it kept coming back warm.
The rooms cost €54 per person for 2 nights & we also got a 10% discount.
We stayed there for a hen party and were noisy coming home the first night. The staff were not tolerant of any noise.
We had to check out by 12 on sunday and they were kind enough to keep our luggage for the day as our flight wasn't until later.
These apartments are fine for sleeping/changing etc.. for not if you want to spend a lot time in your room.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — One staff member unfriendly
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2008

Clean with comfortable beds. Within a couple of blocks there are more tapas cafes than you could ever eat at. Close to the metro. Felt very safe - we were 2 women traveling alone. The staff was very helpful and friendly, spanish speaking only. They were able to do our laundry for us after running the days linens - very convenient! Having a mini kitchen with a fridge was a cost saver. Spacious bathroom. We enjoyed the area - right in the center of downtown. Breakfast was fine - we didn't need a big meal. We would each stay there again and recommend it to our friends and families.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — street noise - ear plugs work fine!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hikergirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2008

A great place to stay! Beautifully restorated building, pleasant ambiance, friendly service, great location.

  • Liked — the location and the ambiance
  • Stayed March 2005, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yanasim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Alhambra Suites
Hotel Alhambra Suites
#252 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Centro
Apartamentos En Sol
Apartamentos En Sol
#89 of 407 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Centro
Dana Sol Apartments
Dana Sol Apartments
#105 of 407 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Apartamentos Blume Cruz
Apartamentos Blume Cruz
#15 of 407 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Centro
Madrid Centre Apartments
Madrid Centre Apartments
#66 of 407 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Huertas
Apartamentos Principe 11
Apartamentos Principe 11
#114 of 407 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos El Tiempo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos El Tiempo

Property: Apartamentos El Tiempo
Address: Calle Barcelona, 4, 28012 Madrid, Spain (Formerly En Busca del Tiempo)
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 407 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos El Tiempo 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Tiempo Apartments are located in this three storey building, with 4 apartments on each floor. This building was renovated in 2014 preserving the original architecture with great attention to detail.. Its rustic style and the combination of fine stone and wood take us back to the time of our ancestors. The apartments are strategically positioned at number 4 calle Barcelona, in Madrid center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Apartamentos El Tiempo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing