We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Spacious, Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Suites Viena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Suites Viena
Ranked #22 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Clean, Spacious, Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2009

Such a nice place to stay. The bathroom has ample counter space and was clean and bright.
The rooms were spacious and comfortable. Very quiet so no noise to keep you awake.
5 minute walk from the Plaza Espana metro.
There are kitchenettes in the rooms and they have meeting and conference rooms for businesses. No wifi in the rooms, just a shared computer by reception.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happyfeet54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    477
    62
    5
    3
See reviews for
288
596
60
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2009

The best part about this hotel was the help we received from Ana, she worked at the front desk every morning we were there. Her English was very good and she helped us make various arrangements for our family (14 people) including hiring a minibus to transport everyone.
The hotel is clean and very modern, it is a bit out of the way but still easy to reach on the metro.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank riario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
121 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2009

We took the metro from the airport to the Plaza Espana with only one change. It's an easy 2 block walk with rolling luggage from the Plaza Espana metro station to the hotel. Our room overlooked a quiet side street that dead ends into the Plaza so not much traffic. The elementary school across the street reverberates with happy playing children at recess times, but that's fairly brief & easy to tolerate unless you like to sleep past 9AM. Ask for a room on the back side if you want quiet. Front desk check-in was quick & easy with the staff speaking fluent English. If you request when confirming your reservation cooking utensile will be in your kitchenette. Ours included a fry pan & expresso pot, dishes, cutlery, & the ever important corkscrew, can opener, etc. The frig was stocked as a mini-bar, but we could remove things to make space for our perishables. A gourmet grocery & deli with fresh fruit, cheeses, wine, bakery & take out dinners is about 4 blocks away in the ground level of the huge "El Cortez Ingles" department. store at C. de la Princessa.& Ventura Rodriguez. "Dia" a neighborhood grocery is a block away with cheaper prices. The hotel offers a substantial breakfast buffet for a fee, but we opted to cook breakfast since our jet-lagged bodies demanded food at odd hours. True, the bathroom is small.......but everything was in excellent condition and very clean. The kitchenette was also spotless. There's a safe for valuables. The minimalist decor that is so popular in Spain it a bit sparan for my taste........but the furnishings & linens were nicely coordinated and of good quality. The bed was hard for my taste...pillow-top mattresses don't seem to be the fashion in Spain where they believe in the "orthopedic" mattress. The bare Pergo floors were warmer than I expected in November. And the big window swings open for fresh air. The TV had only one English channel (BBC) but we got a kick out of watching favorite American cartoon characters speaking German or Spanish. Travel should be educational after all.
The Palacio de la Real and Cathedral de la Almudena are about 3/4 mile walk from the hotel. All the sights of "old Madrid" in Plaza del Sol and Plaza Mayor are just a two metro stops away. We felt very safe walking everywhere in this primarily residential neighborhood.
Our son was studying in Madrid, so we celebrated Thankgiving at "Cascaras" a tapas and wine bar a few blocks from the hotel. The only poultry on their menu was Pheasant Salad....so we indulged on our last night in Spain.
We were so satisfied with the Hotel Suites Vienas for the first 4 nights or our trip that we returned for the final night of our trip before flying out of Madrid. I recommend this hotel to independent travelers who don't want a lot of personal service and like the option to collapse and "eat in" after a long day of sightseeing.
Tip: Buy the 10 ride Metro pass. It can be shared by two people and you can get around the city like the Madrilenos without wasting your precious vacation time in traffic jams. Get a map of the city with the metro routes from the Tourist office in Barajas airport (next to the metro station) and you will be good to go. There's a 1 Euro surcharge to exit from the metro station into the airport......save a Euro coin to purchase that supplemental ticket.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank miss_utility
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2009

This hotel is an absolute gem. Located in a very quiet street right in the city center, it's a great value for money (60-75 E p/n). Reservation procedure, staff attention, breakfast, room, tidiness - everything was fine.
It pains me to say anything bad about Suites Viena, but still... the bathroom is very small and the hairdryer is only 1200 w, and it took me too much time to dry my hair which is not even long.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — bathroom size and hairdryer
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Friendsuasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2008

Good location, smart and modern, quite quiet, large room (but small bathroom), good (if pricey) breakfast, newspapers included the FT, reasonably priced minibar, helpful staff.

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Disliked — Small bathroom
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterBeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2008

This apartment hotel is conveniently situated near Placa Espana, Opera and close to the metro. It is very clean and stylish and new. They offer free wifi but this didn't work when we stayed there. The breakfast was not included in our price and very expensive at 12Euro per person. The rooms are large and with a kitchenette. Unfortunately there were no utensils in the kitchen apart from two glasses. We would give it a 3.5, but as this doesn't exist in the grading system at TripAdvisor we have opted for a 4.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — expensive breakfast and not working wifi
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SquirrelMinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2008

Stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. The location was great, very near the Plaza de Espana and Parque del Oeste. The room was extremely spacious and modern. The bathroom was rather small but functional and clean.
The only reason I do not rate this hotel as 'excellent' is for the lack of 'Spanish feel' and the fact that the hotel was slightly impersonal.
However, I do believe this hotel is good value for money and would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ced82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
El Madrono
El Madrono
#35 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 444 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
B&B Hotel Madrid Fuencarral 52
Lavapies
Artrip Hotel
Artrip Hotel
#5 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#37 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites Viena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites Viena

Property: Suites Viena
Address: Calle Juan Alvarez Mendizabal 17, 28008 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Arguelles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Madrid
#13 Family Hotel in Madrid
#35 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Suites Viena 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suites Viena is a cosy Hotel located in a quiet Street in the Centre of Madrid. Only 200 metres separate Suites Viena from Plaza de Espana and in less than a 5 minute walk you are in Gran Via, Debod Temple or the Royal Palace. Suites Viena is a modern building (2007) with 50 Studios, 5 Junior Suites (with a terrace) and 2 Senior Suites (with a separate living room. Every room has AA/Heat (all year), working table, safe, free wifi and satellite TV. Also, there is a little kitchen in every room, equipped with a microwave, a small fridge, cooktop and extractor. Kitchen facilities are handed in, free of charge, to all the guests who demand it. We have special added values you can benefit of through our official online page. Buffet Breakfast is served by the Traditional "Viena Capellanes". Private Parking, connected to rooms through the elevator. Free Wifi in the whole building. Business Corner: free use of PC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Suites Viena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viena Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing