We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, quiet .. and an upgrade. Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Suites Viena – Plaza de Espana
Ranked #31 of 441 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed 3 nights mid Sept, when 28-30C. Upgraded to a junior suite .. just amazing, complete with balcony front and back which we made the most of in the evenings having drinks and nibbles. QUIET at night. Loved the happy chatter of children at the school opposite. We chose to have a simple breakfast each day just a v short walk further up past the hotel - Cafe Viena.
Caught metro from airport to Plaza de Espana, then easy 5 min walk to hotel. Quick check in, and reception able to answer any queries we had re the city during our stay. Convenient location for walking/metro to explore the city. Loved the kitchenette to be able to make tea/coffee, snacks, and of course a fridge. Housekeeping excellent. We really loved our stay

Room Tip: Junior suite 601 was perfect; no issue with either street or school noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larabat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

392 - 398 of 1,379 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

The hotel location is good, not so far from the central area and it contributes "keep quiet".

The staffs are polite and helpful, and the room keeps clean.

The breakfast is not so rich, but acceptable for business use
(most were staffed last night in Madrid, maybe).
A bottle of water is served (from the refrigerator) and we can take it for daily use.
There is a supermarket near the hotel.

The aboves are good, but the followings are minus points.

The hotel offers "Free Wifi", but the quality is not so good.
I had to re-connect so many times and the carrier is very low.
The system is too secure and I had to get 2 IDs for each devices (for security, it's good).

The temparature on a shower is not stable. It took more 5 minutes to get around 40 degree celcius,
and the bathroom (including toilet faclity) is too small.

The lights in the floor is automatically switched. It means that the floors are dark if no one is there
(it is good for energey saving, but might make a guest anxious).

The floow map is wrong (The sign designated "you're here" is put on the other room).
The microwave oven and IH cooking heater is equipped but no instruction is offered.

The road faced to the hotel is very narrow since a lot of cars parked in the both sides.

I recommend the hotel mainky for business use. If you go there for sightseeing with heavy bags, I hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: One side is faced to an elementary school. Please take the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chitei-jin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We spent two nights in this hotel.
The hotel is conveniently located.
Near many restaurants, subway, shopping and supermarket.Nomer seemed a small, but comfortable. In the lobby around the clock you can buy coffee, water and so on.
The rooms and lobby free Wi fi.
Value - quality 100%
Very decent for a short stop

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoscowSergey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel really has nothing special to remark: location is so so, far from the city centre and 10 min walk from the metro station, service is poor and we always had to ask to refill the very few amenities that they provide in the room. Cleanliness could be better and the maid ladies are quite annoying talking loudly in the morning on the corridor waiking up the customers. Rooms are spacious but the bathroom is doll size, walls are quite thin so you have to rely on the good behaviour of the other guests near your room for a good sleep. A lot of better option in more central location. Room service form the Viena Restaurant is excellent: food arrived quikly, hot and tasteful at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank italyItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Spent three nights in this friendly and modern hotel this week. Our rooms wer bright, clean and comfortable and it was great to have the mini kitchen facilities. The bathrooms are small but are well maintained and clean with all you need. The staff were delighful and very patient as I wanted to try to speak Spanish if possible. Breakfast is half price with a check in offer and there was plenty of choice to eat and drink.
One of the best things was the location as we found we could walk to all of the central places of interest easily. We found a lovely restaurant near the Palace called La Mi Venta which was within easy walking distance of the hotel.
We had bought a set of ten metro tickets each but found we hardly used transport at all due to the location of the hotel. I would recommend it to families and would certainly return to it.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back may be quieter- our sons had a room at the back and we had one overlooking the sch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherineY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed five nights in October this year in this very clean and efficiently run hotel. Spacious room, and huge, comfortable bed. Bathroom quite small though. The minibar/refrigerator and simple kitchen facilities (including microwave, ceramic hob, etc.) meant we were able to self-cater for breakfasts and snacks and reduce costs. No doubt the businessmen and women staying there on expenses would not mind paying 13 euros for breakfast, but as a pensioner couple, we preferred to make our own The Día supermarket in the parallel street is well stocked and very handy. The street is calm, with little traffic and as ex-teachers we were entertained by the seeing the after-school roller-skating club at the small school opposite. The location of the hotel is quite central and the staff very friendly and speak good English.

Room Tip: If you object to some playground noise from the school, choose a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed four nights while visiting our son who was also staying there as part of a four month work transfer program from the US. Very clean. We upgraded to a junior suite and had a large balcony with a table and seating for four. Nice breakfast with very friendly staff.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 441 in Madrid
1,755 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#42 of 441 in Madrid
1,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#68 of 441 in Madrid
1,793 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
El Madrono
El Madrono
#48 of 441 in Madrid
681 reviews
Lavapies
Artrip Hotel
Artrip Hotel
#6 of 441 in Madrid
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites Viena – Plaza de Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites Viena – Plaza de Espana

Address: Calle Juan Alvarez Mendizabal 17, 28008 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Sercotel Suites Viena)
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Arguelles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Madrid
#10 Family Hotel in Madrid
#35 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $87 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Suites Viena – Plaza de Espana 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suites Viena Plaza de España is a cosy Hotel located in a quiet Street in the Centre of Madrid. Only 200 metres separate Suites Viena Plaza de España from Plaza de Espana and in less than a 5 minute walk you are in Gran Via, Debod Temple or the Royal Palace. Suites Viena Plaza de España is a modern building (2007) with 50 Studios, 5 Junior Suites (with a terrace) and 2 Senior Suites (with a separate living room. Every room has AA/Heat (all year), working table, safe, free wifi and satellite TV. Also, there is a little kitchen in every room, equipped with a microwave, a small fridge, cooktop and extractor. Kitchen facilities are handed in, free of charge, to all the guests who demand it. We have special added values you can benefit of through our official online page. Buffet Breakfast is served by the Traditional "Viena Capellanes". Private Parking, connected to rooms through the elevator. Free Wifi in the whole building. Business Corner: free use of PC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mirai, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Suites Viena – Plaza de Espana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viena Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing