We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but would have been nice to use the rooftop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ME Madrid Reina Victoria
Ranked #59 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice but would have been nice to use the rooftop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed for three non-consecutive nights. The hotel is beautiful and in a great central location. The rooms are quite small but that is pretty standard in Europe. Staff was great and very helpful in locating a lost article at the start of my trip. My only complaint is that the rooftop patio was not made available throughout my stay. It would have been nice to check out the view during the day but you are only allowed to visit the rooftop in the evening. Additionally the patio was rented out both nights of my weekend stay so guests were only allowed to sit in a very small and cramped spot on the side of the patio with a much less exciting view and limited standing area. Perhaps if we had stayed mid week our chance of using the patio would have increased.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEMadrid, Gerente at ME Madrid Reina Victoria, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Rebcan,

Many thanks for sharing your ME experience in Trip Advisor!
I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences caused with the restricted entrance to our The Roof bar, I can understand your point and I know it is not a comfortable situation.

I hope you reconsider to stay again with us in order to compensate you for your past experience and to show you the real ME service that goes beyond our guest's expectations.

I look forward to seeing you very soon!

Our best wishes,

José Arenas
Aura Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,545
    834
    246
    93
    88
See reviews for
283
1,357
150
547
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
1,821 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,203 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Excellent and convenient location constitutes an undisputed asset for Reina Victoria. Plaza Santa Ana is a vibrant place especially between 8PM and 1 AM and it is worth it - if one can afford it - to splurge an extra $ 40 dollars to be able to have the view of it right in front of your Madrid hungry eyes. Plaza Mayor, Prado and other museums, Puerta del Sol, Retiro - are just a short walk away.The rooms and the whole hotel are high tech with a free internet, great audio system with ability to play your MP3 music, DVD player, of course flat screen entertainment center etc. Some high tech things are somewhat annoying. The elevators necessitate the room card use which is easy for one user but the system gets a bit confused when a few guests enter causing a little delay or resetting of the mechanism. The hotel via its looks wants to be clearly "sexy". The complex room light settings include "sexy" magenta lights and the David Bowie quotes on the mirror like "you pretty things" remind you that life needs sometimes some shallow fun in order to be fully enjoyed.
The breakfast was included and it was great. It consisted of eggs, cheeses, lunch meats, fruit, cereals, cakes, veggies, coffee, tea, juices, milk and even mimosa with the sparkly cava.
So what are the drawbacks if any? Luck of well defined concierge ( but they do help you upon request), poor collection of DVDs, newspapers available but only in Spanish (one in English would be a fine bonus). Overall - yes, I would stay there again and recommend it.

Room Tip: It is worth it to pay extra for the view of Plaza de Santa Ana.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank podrozniczka60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEMadrid, Manager at ME Madrid Reina Victoria, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear podrozniczka60.

It is a happy occasion when it comes to thank a guest for those kind comments you have made in Tripadvisor and for sharing them with other travellers.
Our main goal is to provide memorable and unforgettable experiences and we are thrilled to know we have succeded in our effort.
Next time please have in mind that our ME for YOU Service is always willing to help you with any information or request you may have to make your stay as comfortable as possible.
Best regards and we are looking forward to welcome you back at ME Madrid hotel.
Cordially,

Miguel Gutiérrez
ME for YOU Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

A great location, midway between the museums and the old town. Lovely personal service, the staff are very approachable and keen to help. Room very nice and great facilities in the hotel. We had an upper floor room, the square can get noisy at night, but its worth it for the location. Will stay here again next time.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ifrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEMadrid, Gerente at ME Madrid Reina Victoria, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear IFrankie,

Many thanks for sharing your comments about your ME experience during your visit to the ME Madrid Hotel! I am glad to know that you enjoyed a fantastic stay with us!

I look forward to seeing you very soon!

Our best wishes,


José Arenas
Aura Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

My partner and I have just returned from a 3 night stay here and cannot fault the hotel at all!
Everything from the location, to the staff, to the room, and cleanliness were all great. The views from the roof top bar are gorgeous also.
If you're looking for a lovely hotel that's not in a crazy busy area but still only a short walk away from all the sights, stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEMadrid, Gerente at ME Madrid Reina Victoria, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Samantha C,

Thank you for your kind words and for sharing your ME experience in Tripadvisor. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us during your visit to Madrid!

ME Madrid team look forward to welcoming back to you in a very near future!

Warm regards,

José Arenas
Aura Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monza, Italy
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel is overlooking one of the best and "warmest" squares of Madrid: plaza Santa Ana. The building of the hotel is very nice, the location too: museums are at walking distance as well as Plaza Mayor and all the most interesting sites of the Spanish capital. In plaza Santa Ana you can find many restaurants and bars where tasting delicious tapas.
About rooms you have to pay attention: the mode rooms overlooking the square are spacious are and very good, but the standard rooms, internal and small and sometimes noisy, should be avoided.
Breakfast is ok but the site where it's served is dark: it's better to go few steps outside where you may have a big (and spanish) choise.

Room Tip: choose a "mode room" and/or a room overlooking the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salgiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEMadrid, Manager at ME Madrid Reina Victoria, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Salgiam,

Many thanks for sharing your comments about your ME experience during your visit to the ME Madrid Hotel! I am glad to know that you enjoyed a fantastic stay with us!

I look forward to seeing you very soon!

Our best wishes,

Miguel Gutiérrez
ME for You Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

I booked here rather last minute but had been recommended to go to the roof terrace and I thought staying in the same location would be ideal.

The hotel itself is nice and new with the usual business hotel amenities; the location really has a lot going for it with a lot of sights being well within walking distance.

There were however problems, looking forward to unwinding and sleeping in on the Saturday morning I was surprised to be woken up by music just after 9am as it seems a public concert had been arranged in front of the hotel (This was at least part organised by the hotel as they had dancers in the windows of the rooms on our floor)

For the entire duration of our visit the roof bar was hired out to private functions so I guess the best option to enjoy it is to come during the week when a more profitable event will not take preference over the highly advertised roof terrace access for guests.

Even though we could not go to the roof terrace we were still fully able to enjoy hearing rather awful selection of pop music from the last 5 years in our room quite loudly until after 3am which if you want to party in your room is great however if you are quite tired after a day of sightseeing and want to relax after a nice evening is not really a great thing.

Overall you leave the hotel feeling somewhat like you were a secondary concern with private events being the primary.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEMadrid, Manager at ME Madrid Reina Victoria, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Daniel B,

Greetings from ME Madrid !
I could not be more ashamed for all the inconveniences you had during your stay with us, believe me when I say that our guests are our main reason to be and our goal is to connect to each and every one of you.
I completely understand your sentiment and, to try to compensate you for the discomfort caused, I will be happy to organize your next visit in order to make sure everything run smoothly and the room match your expectations. Please let me know when your next visit will be at the next e-mail address: jose.arenas@melia.com.
Looking forward to hearing from you soon,
Best Regards,

Miguel Gutiérrez
ME for You Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Made the mistake of booking this hotel based on the rooftop bar - they decided to let an event buy it out for four days so we are not able to access - of course they did not advise/notify us of this on our website when we booked the room - talked to the manager and he basically could not be more indifferent - lied and said it "was undergoing renovations" - then admitted it was closed for private event/rental - we're currently in the hotel - no upgrade offered - I would never recommend this hotel to anyone - choose from the numerous other options in the area based on the customer service alone. Seriously.

Room Tip: Choose elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DIGBYP437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEMadrid, Manager at ME Madrid Reina Victoria, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear DIGBYP437,

Many thanks for sharing your ME experience!
However, I would like to sincerely apologize for all the inconveniences caused by the renovation works in some areas of the hotel and by the restriction in the access to our terrace due to a private party. I completely understand your feeling and you can be assured that I will follow up on this case because we always try to keep an open area in The Roof bar for our in-house guests to avoid a disapointment like the one you experienced.
Please let me know when your next visit to ME Madrid will be and you will enjoy a MEmorable experience!
Warmest regards,

Miguel Gutiérrez
ME for You Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#34 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#18 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,851 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#9 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#29 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ME Madrid Reina Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ME Madrid Reina Victoria

Property: ME Madrid Reina Victoria
Address: Plaza de Santa Ana 14, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#10 Green Hotel in Madrid
#25 Business Hotel in Madrid
#27 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#46 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#47 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — ME Madrid Reina Victoria 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ME Madrid Reina Victoria is strategically located in the heart of the city, with easy access to the major attractions such as the Prado Museum, Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum and Reina Sofia Museum, Retiro Park, Congress building, Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor, the Royal Palace and the city’s shopping and business areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your ME Madrid Reina Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Me Madrid Reina Victoria Hotel Madrid
Sol Melia Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing