We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a bar, but what a wait......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ME Madrid Reina Victoria
Ranked #56 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have lived in Madrid for two years now and often go to the bar in this hotel which is a stunning rooftop bar overlooking Plaza Santa Ana. It is a superb bar with stunning views over the city and a very pleasant ambience which in my view makes a big difference. For example, if you have ever been to cocktail bars on the front of Puerto Banus for example, you will be familiar with the appalling clientel is these "exclusive" places. Not so here. A very relaxed and casual atmosphere with not a single drunk person anywhere in sight. However, the reason for that is the fact that during the summer months you will be waiting up to an hour to be served at the bar. It is a small bar and is mobbed at night. You will also have to queue up for 20 minutes to get in as the only way to get to the bar is via a small lift so a queue builds up fast. At weekends you´ll pay 15 euros to get in but that includes a free cocktail. You´ll then get to the bar and join a huge queue for 40 minutes before getting served. It is more than likely that the only drink you´ll have will be your free one as you really won´t be bothered to queue up again. If you do want more, then you´re looking at 15 euros a drink, but the cocktails are of the highest order. All in all, you have to go here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Gazpacho68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEMadrid, Gerente at ME Madrid Reina Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Gazpacho68,

Many thanks for sharing your ME experience in Trip Advisor!
I was not very happy hearing of your experience with our rooftop terrace. We have followed up on your incident in order to avoid the repetition in the near future. Please accept our apologies, your comments help us to improve in our service.

I hope meeting you on your next visit to ME Madrid!

Our best wishes,

José Arenas
Aura Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,046)
There are newer reviews for ME Madrid Reina Victoria
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,118 - 1,124 of 3,047 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here the first 3 nights of our honeymoon in December 2012. The location is great because it is walking distance to all the main sites and restaurants. The square was a little loud at night with people stumbling out of bars serenading the night away. The hotel decor was very modern and cool. I would definitely come back and stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beatriz I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEMadrid, Gerente at ME Madrid Reina Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Beatriz I,

Many thanks for sharing your ME Experience in TripAdvisor. Our main aim is to exceed the expectations of our guests and it is very inspiring for all members of our team, to know that we succeeded in our effort.

it would be a great pleasure for me and the rest of my team to receive you again in the near future at ME by Meliá.

Best wishes,

José Arenas
Aura Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

this hotel was great they helped with early check in after flying all night no problem the rooms are wonderful. you must get a balcony room great little tapas restaurants everywhere on the 2 plazas that surround the hotel i will stay at the Melia hotels when i travel and they are available

Room Tip: get the 5th floor balcony rooms
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEMadrid, Gerente at ME Madrid Reina Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Stuart M,

Thank you for your excellent comments! And for your next visit to ME Madrid do not forget to enjoy the spectacular views of Madrid from our terrace The Roof. It will be a MEmorable experience!

ME Madrid team look forward to meeting you in a very near future!

Warm regards,

José Arenas
Aura Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Hotel is centrally located and is walking distance to the Museo del Prado and other famous sights. The hotel is also close to the metro and makes commute to the airport a breeze. Hotel Staff is very accommodating.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank PTon5th_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEMadrid, Gerente at ME Madrid Reina Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Dear PTon5th_NYC,

Many thanks for sharing your comments about your ME experience during your visit to the ME Madrid Hotel! I am glad to know that you enjoyed a fantastic stay with us!

I look forward to seeing you very soon!

Our best wishes,


José Arenas
Aura Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

A very warm welcome greeted us as we arrived for our “short break” at the Reina Victoria. The hotel certainly lived up to our expectations immediately, with regards to stylish décor, impressive accommodation and excellent staff. Every shape, size and form of breakfast was catered for - five stars for the food. It was also presented beautifully in the Dining Room - we had to resist taking pictures!!

Our room was a standard one but the bathroom was absolutely fantastic and the bed was huge! The room staff did a brilliant job. One recommendation would be that we felt water should be provided in the room as standard, but only a mild criticism.

In all, we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to all our friends, family and complete strangers! The roof top bar is to die for - absolutely spectacular! Memories were certainly made.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kit313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEMadrid, Gerente at ME Madrid Reina Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Kit313,

Thank you for your sharing your ME experience in Tripadvisor. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us during your visit to Madrid!

ME Madrid team look forward to welcoming back to you in a very near future!

Warm regards,


José Arenas
Aura Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The location is the best thing this property has going for it. It is centrally located on the Plaza de Santa Ana, and well within walking distances to many shops, restaurants, and famous sights such as the Prado and the Reina Sofia. Turns out that having many restaurant options so close is a good thing, since the hotel restaurant is currenlty undergoing renovations.

The staff tries to helpful, but on several occasions their tips were incorrect. Restaurants that they told me did not take reservations in fact did, and museums that were supposedly free all day were not free until very late in the afternoon.

The decor of the hotel itself is a little jarring, bold purples and reds that already seem pretty dated. We paid 285 euros a night for an energy suite w/o breakfast. We opted for that room because it was a suite with a balcony, but it ended up being quite small and very loud because of the voices of the revellers below drifts up into your room---and those revellers often are out there until dawn.

Despite being small, the room itself was clean and well appointed with modern technologies like a hefty sound system and a neoespresso machine. The beds, albeit tiny, are fairly comfortable. The pillows feel as if they are foam rather than down.

So, all in all our stay was just average. It seems like the staff is trying hard to make this a destination worthy property. However, for the price I expect a bit more luxury.

Note that If you really want to be on Plaza Santa Ana, Room Mate Alicia is across the square.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CliveJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEMadrid, Manager at ME Madrid Reina Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear CliveJackson,

Many thanks for sharing your ME experience in Tripadvisor!
I was not very happy hearing of your experience with the outside noise and the recommendations from our staff.
I ensure you that as I as the reception manager have investigated this issue for, needless to say, apologize to you and immediate improvement of our process.

I hope meeting you on your next visit to ME Madrid!

Our best wishes,

Miguel Gutiérrez
ME for You Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Beutiful hotel, very nice room with a maxi bar!, view over the placa and very comfortable bed. I recommend that you try the rooftop terracce in the spring and summertime. Bet it`s the best view over the city. They mix some killer drinks too. But pricy.. The breakfast was very good, but only had it one day as the price was way way too high. Better to have your breakfast at the placa outside the hotel. Perfect gym in the basement. Nice staff. Had room service almost every night after nightclubbing. Had perfect hamburgers in bed! Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view over the placa Santa Ana!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 839Natalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEMadrid, Manager at ME Madrid Reina Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear 839Natalie,

How wonderful to know that you had a great experience at ME Madrid.
Certainly, the views from The Roof bar over downtown Madrid are exceptional and worth a visit at least once...or twice.
Our goal is to welcome you back in order to offer the best services, comfortable rooms and the best of each one of the members of our staff to keep you coming to ME Madrid many times.
I look forward to seeing you very soon!
Our best wishes,

Miguel Gutiérrez
ME for You Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
NH Collection Palacio de Tepa
Huertas
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
#41 of 438 in Madrid
1,273 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#8 of 438 in Madrid
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#23 of 438 in Madrid
1,975 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Centro
IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Via
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ME Madrid Reina Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ME Madrid Reina Victoria

Address: Plaza de Santa Ana 14, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#9 Green Hotel in Madrid
#25 Business Hotel in Madrid
#27 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#43 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#47 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $184 - $1,147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — ME Madrid Reina Victoria 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lifestyle hotel in the heart of urban Madrid. Located next to the city’s main theatres, boutiques and nightclubs, this lifestyle hotel boasts an innovative, luxurious design reflective of the urban culture of the capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your ME Madrid Reina Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Me Madrid Reina Victoria Hotel Madrid
Sol Melia Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing