We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Biggest Bluff Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ME Madrid Reina Victoria
Ranked #64 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Biggest Bluff Ever!”
Reviewed May 6, 2011

"everything is possible, but today im sorry not everything is possible" should be the moto of this Hotel.

The conceirge is called "everything is possible," they make a point of telling you that everytime you call them; except when you actually ask them to do something-- as simple as a massage, turns out no it is not possible. The staff was awful, uncoordinated with eachother, unreliable. They were not rude most of the time, but they also were very incompetent and misleading. For example, we arrived with a rental car that was suppose to be picked up the next day. As we took a Level (upgraded) room, we were told that we had a car wash and parking complimentary. We told them, thats ok but the car is being picked up next day in the morning by the rental company. The next day in the morning no one came to take the car. At 3 pm i called the reception worried, the reception told me that they had spoken with the rental company not to worry that they would come by the end of the day. The same day after dinner at around 12, we went to see what was up with the car... it was still standing there and unwashed-- and there were only two other cars in the parking lot ( the lot had at least 50 spaces-- it was not hard to miss our car). So again we went to reception, as clearly they should have notified us that the car was still standing there and unwashed not as they had promised. In the evening when we spoke with reception, it was a different person and they had no idea that the car was even in the hotel (there were only 2 other cars), and promised us to make a point of having reception call the next day, first thing in the morning about the car, and accepted a very nice tip. Next day in the morning, I call reception at 11 and ask them about the car-- again they have no idea, of course no one has spoken to the car rental company, and the car is still there and they told me that no one even spoke to them the day before since the rental company was closed-- so we were clearly LIED to! So we called the rental again ourselves, since the hotel clearly could not handle something so simple as returning a car. At 3 pm we checked again with reception, and found out the car indeed was taken, but of course it was too much for the hotel to have notified us. Basically our whole stay we were chasing the reception about the car. Not to mention, at checkout they tried to charge us 20 Euro for those two calls after they told us local calls were complimentary and we should not have even had to call the rental as the hotel claimed they handled that. Again LIED! And they tried to charge us 30 Euro a day parking (60 Euro total), after telling us that parking was no extra charge.

The internet-- slow is an understatment. It loads google and nothing else. We even tried to use the internet that you pay for on the TV which also did not work and cost 11E. When we told them this at the checkout, we were told "oh yes, we had a problem with internet yesterday and today" which is not the case, the whole stay the interenet was nonexistant, and clearly it still doesnt work... So again they have a convenient LIE to explain.

The resteraunt which they are so proud of was very very mediocer-- a whole table next to us sent back their food-- we ate there lunch and dinner twice and it was all very average if edible at all (the tuna tartar is good), and of course super overpriced-- which does not bother me so much if the food is good but here it was not. Even the person who sat us for Lunch, acted very rude as if she didnt have the time of day for us when the whole resteraunt was empty-- only when I yelled at her that we were guests she paid attention as she realized she had no choice.

Also in check in, one person promised I could have 3 shirts pressed because of the Level room complimentary. The next day a different person claimed that was not true and I had to argue with them.

They told me all the shops would be open on Sunday, except 80% of shops were closed becuase it was the first of the month. Youd think a hotel would realize the date, but that was too much awareness for them.

The card keys dont work if you go through a metal detecter of any kind, like the ones at the meusems and all the other shops-- but the hotel didnt even tell me this. Guests told me this becuase everyone was having that problem the whole time. And you have to use the key to go up the elevator, so people wind up just going up and down (saw several lost people before we all figured it out).

They advertize on the TV in the room "ME spa" except as everything else, it is a bluff. There is no spa. There is a small room in the basement where they can bring a masseus from the outside to do a massage. I tried to do this as my boyfriend's back was completely ruined from the very soft beds in the hotel. but this day not everything was possible. AFter I pointed out how misleading they were, they managed to find someone although I have no idea where from.

Every charge in the hotel has another hidden charge which they do not tell you about. For example room service theres a charge, a gratitude charge is added (7%), and tax... at check out there is a mysterious "habitacions" charge of 5 Euro added each time.

Even at the check out, we put our bags into a room to be held for a few hours since we had to check out before we went to the airport. We came back the guy claimed they were not there. We told him he was looking in the wrong room, but he insisted it was the right room. Finally he listened to us, and brought our bags.... But basically everyhing you asked the hotel to do was impossible.

And at checkout, there were 2 men at the desk, one was a manager who we had spoken to about the issues with the bill and had very reluctantly taken off the phone charges, but could not be bothered so he sent us a very petite blonde girl to help us drag two very heavy suitcases. She tried to explain to us that the guy who usually helps with the bags is "fixing something" (she made hand gestures to demonstrate) and said she would help us, except she couldnt lift the bag. So then she went backt o talk to the manager who then reluctantly came to help us.

One of the managers was by far the sleeziest. He is a huge CONARTIST!!!! and if you speak to this man I would beware. In general, do not trust anything the hotel tells you becuase at best it is a half truth. Especially not what the manager says. You will notice that he has very bladly bitten nails, probably from all the stress of his scams and skelletons in his closet. He is short with black hair, BEWARE... this is serious. He will try to suck you dry for everything you have while he very politely smiles in your face.

On the plus side, I agree with the posts below that the shower was pretty coolwith the jets (although it leaked) and also the cleaning ladies were awsome, on surface everything looks nice and chic(emphasis on surface), and with our upgraded room we had a very nice balcony facing the square which was very pleasant and espresso machine. And the location is very convenient. But do NOT go to the "tapas" bars in the square that the hotel reccomends. In general be weary, when someone says Tapas to you with a lot of excitement, sometimes its not even Tapas.. more like crapas served the same as in any other resteraunt around the world but tastes bad.

My final reccomendation, if you must stay at this hotel since it has a central location, and its aesthetic appeal, do not expect to have any service and you are better off going to a internet cafe and figuring things out yourself. The hotel will simply lie to you and misinform you. Also do not eat at the hotel-- average overpriced food. Do not expect a spa, internet, or any modern functioning electronic equipment.

And my main issue with the hotel is the conartist service you recieve. They lie to you instead of admitting that they did something wrong, which puts you in the position where you simply do not trust what the staff tells you. On a vacation you do not want to have to worry about all the little things when your staying at a hotel in this price range.

Room Tip: take a level room for the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alicetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEMadrid, Manager at ME Madrid Reina Victoria, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking your time to comment on our Hotel and the services rendered. We highly value your opinion for process of continuous improvement and as a base for making our guests stay more enjoyable every time.

At ME Madrid Hotel our aim is to exceed the expectations of our guests, and we deeply regret when we do not fully achieve this, such as your case.

With great concern I have received your negative comments about the Hotel. I would like to apologize for this unusual accumulations of shortcomings. I have personally followed up on these issues, to make sure that incidents like these will not occur again in the future.

I hope that you will reconsider to stay at our Hotel on your next visit to Madrid. We would like to demonstrate that this Hotel is usually delivering the service that is expected from a Melia Hotel. In this case, I would appreciate if you could reply to this letter with a short note, please to the following e-mail address: jose.arenas@melia.com

Thank you in advance for your consideration.



Sincerely yours,

Jose Arenas
Aura Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,659
    885
    259
    103
    91
See reviews for
308
1,441
160
597
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2011

The hotel is very new and well designed (modern design, if you like "oldfashioned" style then it's not your type of hotel). The location is excellent, we didn't use the metro for anything! We were able to walk to everything easily (Royal Palace and Prado/Thyssen in 10 minutes each) and the hotel is surrounded by many restaurants. The hotel restaurant itself is excellent!
The room was well (big safe, good cupboard, big working area) although a little small for a 4-star-hotel. However the bathroom is spacious and very well. Per se I would re-use this hotel at a future visit. The breakfast is a little pricy but get the free "mas"-rewards program of the Melia-Group and you get 50% off.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andre_in_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEMadrid, Manager at ME Madrid Reina Victoria, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
Dear Mr. andre_in_oz

Thank you very much for your comments on Tripadvisor.

It is nice to know that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to welcome you soon back to your home in Madrid and please do not hesitate to contact me for anything you may require.

Yours sincerley,

Jose Arenas
Aura Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

The staff are super friendly, they upgraded our room which having a baby with us worked really well as th baby slept really well in the separate corridor. The bathroom shower is amazing - these fantastic jets or rain drop shower head. The products are all aveda - no expenses spared here. Great mirrors, large beds I can't rave enough about this hotel - babysitting can be arranged for an additional cost... The one bad thing is that wi fi while free is very very slow - so slow you can't rely on it. So don't.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrincessPeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEMadrid, Manager at ME Madrid Reina Victoria, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your beautiful comments about your ME experience in Tripadvisor. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us during your visit to Madrid!

Regarding your comment about the WiFi I can assure you that the problem is resolved.

ME Madrid team look forward to welcoming back to you in a very near future!

Warm regards,

Jose Arenas
Aura Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2011

Clean, Tidy and unique ! Excellent location and great staff.

Roof top Terrace is great, Amazing views and great place to have a drink after great dat in the city

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LewisHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEMadrid, Manager at ME Madrid Reina Victoria, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your sharing your ME experience in Tripadvisor. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us during your visit to Madrid!

ME Madrid team look forward to welcoming back to you in a very near future!

Warm regards,

Jose Arenas
Aura Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights and the customer service was terrible. Iberia airways lost our luggage so we wore the same clothes for 3 days. We asked the hotel if they could please wash our clothes for free and they said yes. We return to the room to find washed clothes and a 50 euro charge. The desk REFUSED to deduct the 50. These clothes by the way are 2 pairs each of sweatpants, tshirts, socks, and underwear--which didn't cost 50 euros to buy new. The desk gave ridiculous arguments that the laundry was an external charge (then deduct 50 from the room!) and kept asking us to see their perspective. They are a huge corporation. I am a tourist. 50 euro is a lot! I'm sitting here waiting for the manager who I doubt is coming. What a miserable experience. Oh yea and still no luggage.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom1042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEMadrid, Manager at ME Madrid Reina Victoria, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable comments on Tripadvisor. I really apologize again for all the inconveniences caused because of the lost baggage from the airline.

I really hope that after the conversation you had with our Experience Manger and a refound made on your bill, we compensate this bad experience.

We hope to welcome you soon back to ME Madrid and send you our best regards,

Jose Arenas
Aura Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, NY
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

ME Madrid sits perfectly in the heart of Madrid. Just 25-30 minutes from the airport and 10 minutes to Atoche train station to catch the Renfe. We were greeted by friendly english-speaking staff and able to check in to our room early (7am). Most of the important stuff in Madrid stems off of Plaza Mayor. In fact there is an excellent 3hr walking tour that is provided for FREE which meets in Plaza Mayor at 10:30am (look for the red umbrella)

Be careful with the Atoche train station and give yourself plenty of time to get your tickets validated at the ticket office and get through security before getting on the train. We almost missed our train to Sevilla!!

I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Book Early Bird. Pay in full. 40% off
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fpotucek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEMadrid, Manager at ME Madrid Reina Victoria, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words!!! It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay at ME Madrid.

We hope to welcome you soon back and rest at your entire disposal for anything you may require.

Best regards,

Jose Arenas
Aura Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aviles, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2011

Great hotel in the middle of Madrid at St. Ann Place, one of the best bars with tapas and terraces. The hotel has that unique fasion style that makes an old building new reformed with young and great service. All workers are always smiling and the only complain after more than 10 nights there, is the booking program (some times it just does not work).

The breakfast is great (this is the tenth hotel for me in Madrid) and the room is very very nice (it has shampoo, lotion, body, mouth wash...). It also has at least 4-5 magazines at the room and all the papers ar available at the front desk.

Ah! another stupid thing is the remote control, it makes you go through all the paid channels (?) and you need to be an engineer to go through...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kokiton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEMadrid, Manager at ME Madrid Reina Victoria, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for having taken a few moments of your valuable time to express your satisfaction about the services of our Hotel during your recent stay with us.

At ME Madrid it is our aim to exceed the expectations of our guests. It is most inspiring for all members of our team, to know that we succeeded in our effort.

On the other hand it is a pleasure to inform you that we are changing the control remotes in the rooms and hope this will be more userfriend!

We hope to welcome you soon back to your home in Madrid.

Yours sincerely,

Jose Arenas
Aura Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#6 of 436 in Madrid
1,500 reviews
Huertas
NH Collection Palacio de Tepa
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#20 of 436 in Madrid
1,947 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
#42 of 436 in Madrid
1,258 reviews
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ME Madrid Reina Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ME Madrid Reina Victoria

Property: ME Madrid Reina Victoria
Address: Plaza de Santa Ana 14, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#10 Green Hotel in Madrid
#25 Business Hotel in Madrid
#27 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#47 Family Hotel in Madrid
#50 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — ME Madrid Reina Victoria 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lifestyle hotel in the heart of urban Madrid. Located next to the city’s main theatres, boutiques and nightclubs, this lifestyle hotel boasts an innovative, luxurious design reflective of the urban culture of the capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your ME Madrid Reina Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Me Madrid Reina Victoria Hotel Madrid
Sol Melia Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing