We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Ranked #28 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This hotel looks and feels great as soon as you see it. The location is fantastic, lots of restaurants, cafes shops and lovely streets to explore all round it. There is an area to sit out at the front which has a great buzz to it, the staff are extremely friendly, and the room was very modern and clean - oh, and the room service to bring coffe in the morning was quick and the coffee delicious... can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank za1782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel Angel M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting such a flattering comment with us!
Your experience sounds faultless, we are so pleased and proud to have exceeded your expectations and so thankful that you chose to share your enjoyment. Your loyalty is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back soon for your next stay in Madrid to have once again such an amazing stay.

Kind regards,

Miguel A. Molina
General Manager
gm.madrid@hospes.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (787)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 787 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2014

This hotel has great reviews and mine will only add to them. The staff were all very friendly and attentive. The hotel was an oasis in the midst of the hustle and bustle of the city centre. Our room was number 400 on the top floor. The view was awful it looked onto other windows into a central courtyard. We were happy to sacrifice the view for peace and quiet - not sure you would get that facing into the triad lower down the floors. We didn't use the gym or spa so can't comment on those facilities. Breakfast was good as was the dinner we had outside. Would definitely go back if we were in madrid again.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up would be quieter especially if not road facing but you do sacrifice this fir a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PoshbirdCrowthorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel Angel M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback following your recent stay at The Hotel Hospes Madrid.
We are delighted to hear that you were pleased with the location of our hotel and with the room facilities. I am also glad our restaurant pleased you and that you found our staff very friendly and attentive. I will personally share your comment with our concerned team members. We sincerely apologize for the view from your room but we are happy you enjoyed your stay in a quiet and peaceful environment.
Thank you once again for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to our intimate hotel.

Kind regards,

Miguel A. Molina
General Manager
gm.madrid@hospes.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

On a whim I decided to spend a long weekend in Madrid, and several friends recommended Hospes Madrid. From the moment I arrived until I left for the airport the entire staff went well beyond the service one would find at better known properties.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone looking for well appointed public and hotel rooms, as well as 5 star service.

Room Tip: I would suggest a high floor overlooking the Plaza. Heavy drapes and well insulated windows keep an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aeromfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel Angel M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such a lovely review of your recent stay at the Hotel Hospes Madrid.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and I am very delighted to read that you found the service and the staff amazing.
It is very much appreciated to see this feedback and we certainly hope to welcome you back soon for your next stay in Madrid.
Thank you again for this flattering comment and for recommending our hotel.

With kind regards,

Miguel A. Molina
General Manager
gm.madrid@hospes.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We enjoyed staying at the Hospes for a weekend in Madrid. The location was absolutely perfect for us. The staff was kind and the rooms were nice. Our room unfortunately looked into an air shaft in all directions, though we were on the top floor, so that would really be the only negative.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDHNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel Angel M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen Hotel Hospes Madrid and for taking some of your time to share a positive comment with us.
I am very pleased to know that your had a very satisfying stay in our hotel and that you found our staff kind and our rooms nice.
Nevertheless I am also concerned regarding your disappointment with the air shaft you had in the room. For that reason I will make sure that this inconvenience will be arranged very soon so that this doesn’t happen again.
Thank you again for sharing this comment with us and for helping us improve our services.

Sincerely,

Miguel A. Molina
General Manager
gm.madrid@hospes.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in this hotel and thought it was great apart from the spa which was so so. The location is perfect, right next to the park and walking distance to all the sites, and if you don't like walking the metro is just round the corner. We had breakfast one of the days and it was very nice, buffet style as well as eggs however you want them. Our room was a good size with a large shower and nice decor, only bug bear was slightly noisy plumbing in the night, only occasionally though. The spa has a very small pool which they call a jacuzzi but is only luke warm at best. The steam room again is small but worked better than expected. The gym has a running machine, cross trainer and bike, with free weights up to 10kg, would be good if they went to 20kg. We found the staff amazing, very helpful and friendly. We went for a run one morning and when we returned they had bottled water and towels ready. We'd definitely consider staying here again, even more so if they revamped the spa and gym.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jdsalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel Angel M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

I thank you for your kind feedback on your recent visit to The Hotel Hospes Madrid. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed the experience and how highly you valued the rooms, the breakfast, the location and the service from our teams.
I am really concerned regarding your disappointment with the spa and the gym, for that reason we are going to provided heavier weights in our gym. Your opinion matters a lot for us.
Thank you again for taking some of your valuable time to share a comment with us.
I very much look forward to welcoming you back soon during your next stay in Madrid.

Kind regards,

Miguel A. Molina
General Manager
gm.madrid@hospes.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The perfect location, expansive rooms, and personal customer service made this a memorable and favorable stay in Madrid. A great place for a unique meeting or personal getaway - loved the view of Plaze de la Indepencia from my room balcony and access to Retiro Park and many wonderful cafes, restaurants, and museums. The staff were very helpful and accomodating - special thanks to Lucia!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel Angel M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Rachel,
Thank you very much for having chosen Hotel Hospes Madrid and for sharing such a flattering comment with us.
We are very pleased to read that our hotel and staff pleased you so much. I will personally thank Lucia our Sales Manager and the rest of the staff for the special welcome they gave you and for having made you feel so comfortable.
Thank you again Rachel for sharing your experience with us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon for your next stay in Madrid.

Miguel A. Molina
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

From the moment you get through the automatic doors at Hospes all the traffic noise from the busy road outside disappears. The clean, modern decor is beautifully done and the staff are friendly and polite. I loved the room, particularly the luxurious bathroom which is what you want in a hotel! Shame the shower design leads to a bit of a damp smell, but a small complaint. Recommended to friends who stayed there recently and agreed. Great hotel.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Hayley_GLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel Angel M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear guest,

First of all thanks a lot for having chosen Hotel Hospes Madrid and for sharing a positive comment with us.
I am happy to know that our hotel pleased you so much and that your stay went that well. We wish to welcome you back again for your next stay in Madrid.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and for recommending our hotel.

Miguel A. Molina
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Jardin de Recoletos
Jardin de Recoletos
#29 of 437 in Madrid
562 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Unico Madrid
Hotel Unico Madrid
#8 of 437 in Madrid
841 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#52 of 437 in Madrid
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#14 of 437 in Madrid
1,033 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#39 of 437 in Madrid
2,179 reviews
Chueca
URSO Hotel & Spa
URSO Hotel & Spa
#17 of 437 in Madrid
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala

Address: Plaza Independencia 3, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Madrid
#19 Family Hotel in Madrid
#22 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#44 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $223 - $521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospes Madrid Hotel Madrid
Hospes Hotel Madrid
Madrid Hospes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing