We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Nearby Hotels
$359
$328
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$167
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Regina(Madrid)
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$143
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$327
$310
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Maydrit Hotel(Madrid)(Great Value!)
$86
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$166
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Catalonia Las Cortes(Madrid)
$248
$226
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$214
Only YOU Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$222
$215
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (832)
Filter reviews
832 results
Traveler rating
525
215
58
18
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
525
215
58
18
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsretiro parkopen plan bathroomrelaxing poolgreat locationduplex suitewalking distancedinner reservationswelcome drinkrain showerhuge bathroomsmall gymthe hotel stafflovely roomfive star hotellovely hotelstaff was very friendly and helpfulart galleries
Filter
Updating list...
278 - 283 of 832 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2014

What a great experience! We booked a package here for Valentine's day which included one night accommodation, a 30 minute massage each, and a bottle of champagne in the room. This package exceeded our expectations. The staff was super friendly and extremely accommodating. Definitely worthy of its 5 stars.

We stayed in the Dreamer's double room. The room was big and spacious, especially the en suite bathroom. The bed was huge and super comfortable, and the room was quiet, even being next to the elevator. Wifi in the room was free and had a good connection. It also had a well-stocked mini-bar.

The shower in the bathroom had a rainfall head - hot water and pressure were definitely not an issue. The bathroom also had everything you could need, including a professional grade hairdryer.

The spa has a small pool, Turkish bath, and small fitness center that you could use whenever you pleased (up until 9pm). Our massages were great and the staff was friendly, knowledgeable, and professional.

We live in Madrid, so tourist attractions weren't on our agenda, but it's location is great for those coming in to tour the city. It's close to pretty much anything you would like to see within the city center, even if you go on foot.

We will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view if you are expecting to see the Puerta de Alcala out of your window. However, having a room facing the spa is rather nice as it is really quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarahernst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel Angel M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your experience with your family and you loved our hotel ans services.

Your kind comments regarding our people will be forwarded to them, I am sure they will be delighted to read them.

Looking forward to welcoming you very soon.

Best Regards

Miguel A. Molina
General Manager
gm.madrid@hospes.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

This place is in the heart of Madrid very close from everything, whether you want to go shopping high end or regular, it is also within walking distance from most downtown attractions, you could also use the Bus Tour going to all touristic places in Madrid, very helpful staff, that could really help you plan your stay, but get the info from them and then google for the best prices.

Room Tip: Choose either inside looking room or in a higher level for quieter stay as this hotel is right on the independence square
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mazen77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel Angel M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you a lot for sharing a positive comment with us and for having chcosen the Hotel Hospes Madrid.
I am pleased to read that everything everything has been perfect during your last stay in our hotel. I will personally thank the staff for the good attention they gave you.
Thank you again and I hope that you will finally try the breakfast during your next stay in our hotel.
Sincerely,

Miguel A. Molina
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We are a couple in our late 30's and we stayed in this stylish hotel for 2nights and it was just fantastic from the moment we arrived until check out, staff were super friendly and rooms very extremely stylish and spacious.
Bathrooms very beautiful - yes they aren't separated by a door but they blend perfectly with the design of the room - can't understand why all the American reviewers keep complaining about everything about this hotel. In Europe this is what we consider a 5 stars property and I can't fault anything about this hotel. I used to live in Madrid and I know this area is safe and close to many great areas including the amazing Retiro park opposite.
Didn't try the breakfast, we missed it as we were sleeping so well on the amazing extra large beds- that says a lot!
Turndown service was awesome and I have nothing bad to say about this hotel.
We left a wallet in a taxi the previous night and the lady at reception did her utmost to get it back for us, outstanding service.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DivingFrenchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel Angel M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you a lot for sharing a positive comment with us and for having chcosen the Hotel Hospes Madrid.
I am pleased to read that everything everything has been perfect during your last stay in our hotel. I will personally thank the staff for the good attention they gave you.
Thank you again and I hope that you will finally try the breakfast during your next stay in our hotel.

Sincerely

Miguel A. Molina
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The Hospes Madrid is a fantastic modern hotel. Our room was amazing and the bathroom is one of the best I have seen in a hotel - it was just great. The breakfast is also great, with a buffet and a list of items which they will cook to order for you. The hotel is located a 15 minute walk from Plaza Major, with shops, restaurants and bars on your doorstep. The staff are unbelievably friendly and helpful, it was a pleasure to stay there, and when we go back to Madrid we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel Angel M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for the comment you’ve posted about your stay in our Hotel Hospes Madrid.
I am very happy to see that our hotel’s room, restaurant, staff and location satisfied you a lot.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Best regards

Miguel A. Molina
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Great hotel. Very central location. Rooms are very comfortable and cozy, with a lot of character (not your usual hotel-chain look). The service is very good and the staff super friendly and helpful. I'd absolutely recommend it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NatStewart2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel Angel M, Gerente at Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Mrs. Stewart,

Thank you a lot for sharing your opinion about our Hotel Hospes Madrid.
I am very pleased to learn that our services and staff made you have a “great experience”.
Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Cordially,

Miguel A. Molina
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews