We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, location and staff, don't forget to use the free Bikes!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Ranked #34 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2013

On arrival and where meet by two of the most helpful reception staff I've probably ever meet.
We had a few ideas for we wanted to go and things to do, places to see, to eat, to drink and just get about. On asking their views they were extremely helpful it adding and suggesting changes to our plans.

The location is great being less than five minutes from the Prado museum and next to the Park and boating lake.
Breakfast was typical continental offering, continually refreshed with supplies and again friendly service.
We had a room on the second floor at the back, near heard the traffic and was a wonderful shape with massive bath, walk-in shower and toilets all separated and freshly cleaned each day
They also have two bikes which we got to hire for free and had such good time getting around Madrid that we hired them again the following day, which was unfortunately our last day.
Well recommend the hotel and would stop there again when going back to Madrid, which turned out to be much more fun as we got into the heart of the city. Other reviews I’ve done explain more.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are so quiet, can’t tell what there like on the front but room was ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter197_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (796)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 796 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

I travelled in mid of November in Madrid for business... I chose this hotel and i am really happy with my choice!! The room was excellent and very clean! The service was very good!! The only reason that i don't rate it with 5 is only cause the breakfast was not included in the price but i knew it from begining... Totally recommended!!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
Thank Arthur_Meyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Having spent a week cycling through small town Spain, a few days at Hospes Madrid was supposed to be a relaxing end to our holiday. However, it was rather disappointing. The hotel is beautifully designed, our room was large and comfortable, and the breakfast was amazing. Also, some of the staff were very helpful with dinner reservations, etc.

Unfortunately, our shower flooded every time we used it, and because the bathroom is part of the bedroom, the water ran across the marble of the bathroom and onto the wooden floor in the bedroom. It was really slippy in the bathroom, and I very nearly fell. We reported this to reception on our way out for dinner, but the problem wasn't resolved. They sent a cleaner up later, but I explained that the drain must be blocked (I speak Spanish, so I'm pretty sure they understood). Nothing was done, despite repeated requests at reception, so we ended up trying to stop the flood with piles of towels, which didn't work. In the end, we just had to have really short showers. Also, the spa was closed both days we were there, which was pretty disappointing for a 5 star hotel. All in all, these problems didn't ruin our stay, but given the huge number of luxury hotels in Madrid, I would have thought customer service would be high on the hotel's list of priorities. When I am next in Madrid, I won't be returning to Hospes.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AKMJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

A one-night stay with family: lovely room, view over the plaza. Big bed, shower. Tiny spa pool, but big enough for child to enjoy. Large gardens with boating lake and good child playgrounds very close. Excellent cafés with heated terraces on doorstep.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank TimoElliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The service was great and the rooms were really good. The rooms overlook a quiet courtyard which makes it very quiet during the night. As a business man I really appreciated the peace and quiet in the night. The breakfast and meals were good and filling. I really think this hotel was very good because it is quiet, nice, and has a very friendly and professional staff.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Very short walk to the Prado, Thyssen and leading museums. Great shopping nearby and, best of all, El Retiro park is across the street - a great and free public treasure. Easy to walk everywhere. Great neighborhood, safe and convenient. Book the breakfast buffet with the room; try the mixed berry juice and enjoy the delicious variety, including fresh fruit. The staff have great restaurant suggestions, depending on your mood and budget, along with where to go and what to see ideas. Estefania Carrillo and Jaime Marin were so polite and most helpful with insider tips for a newcomer, including great neighborhood restaurants. The hotel has a contemporary design, the rooms are large, and the staff is reserved but friendly, very polite and service-oriented -- but they won't get in your way. As we understand this Spanish hotel is in other charming locales around Spain, will plan to stay with Hospes again - probably next in Grenada.

Room Tip: Interior courtyard rooms are quiet and private. I hear the spa is great but ran out of time to try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magnolia20122012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Lovely hotel and an easy walk to all the major sights. Nice outdoor cafe / bar is perfect for people watching. Worth booking breakfast as part of your stay as there are limited other options nearby. Although would recommend saving yourself one morning for a stop at Chocolatería de San Ginés for churros one morning.
Large, comfortable room although slightly odd that whilst huge with a walk in shower at one end our bathroom had no door!

Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Jen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Unico Madrid
Hotel Unico Madrid
#9 of 438 in Madrid
849 reviews
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 438 in Madrid
1,059 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Barcelo Emperatriz
Barcelo Emperatriz
#14 of 438 in Madrid
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
NH Collection Madrid Suecia
Chueca
URSO Hotel & Spa
URSO Hotel & Spa
#16 of 438 in Madrid
481 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#50 of 438 in Madrid
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala

Address: Plaza Independencia 3, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Madrid
#19 Family Hotel in Madrid
#28 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#44 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $210 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Splitty, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospes Madrid Hotel Madrid
Hospes Hotel Madrid
Madrid Hospes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing