We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it.”
Review of Mad Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mad Hostel
Ranked #49 of 386 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Modena, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it.”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I had to stay there for two weeks while looking for a flat in Madrid. Very close to the city center, though isn't in the best area of town (quite dirty area, but who cares). Friendly staff, decent rooms and lockers provided with the automatic lock, usable trough the room key (every bed has its own). Also clean enough bathrooms. Breakfast provided til 10 with coffee, toasts and other stuff (no english breakfast though). Has also a kitchen and a fridge available to everyone, but it's quite small so you'll probably have to wait.
Lots of activities organized for young people, also has a sister hostel (Cats) very close which is bigger and has a bar, a disco etc.
Also, I paid for the cheapest room (the one with 15 beds, third floor) but since there were smaller rooms available I've been put in 6 people room on the first floor without any more charges.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    120
    62
    30
    31
See reviews for
10
37
108
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

This hostel is nice, clean, with good comfy rooms. Wifi and computers were great, and the kitchen is really well supplied. Also, the free breakfast is unlimited. Awesome.

Only thing I did not like is that there was only one PowerPoint in the room, so it is hard to charge things up.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank RFP123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens Village, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I've stayed in many hostels
And this one was the biggest dissapointment so far. We got a private room and bathroom which wasn't that bad but there was constantly a strange poop smell especially in the stairwell. The front desk was the least helpful people I ever encountered in service ! They didn't know the answer to Anything and even questions about the hostel events they had advertised at their own desks! The one guy looked like a slug high on weed I swear. The Wifi also did not work for 2 days and he didn't care to check into why it might not be working. On the Positive side this place has an excellent location. However there are tons if hostels in the area to choose from so you are not limited to this!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iceuroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

There are better hostels than this - the staff seem to treat it as their chance to pull guests and my sister was on the end of unwanted attention from one of the dudes - rooms are tiny, clean but uncomfortably small

Terrace a nice touch but when we were there is was full of drunk Australians telling everyone how they had just 'done' Europe

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samuria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madrid hotels

New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I loved this hostel. I met some real cool chicas that ended up being my travel companions for my entire stay in Madrid. The employees were friendly and showed us around as often as they could. There was a bar in the lobby and cheap sangria! Computers were mostly always available and there was free breakfast included. It wasn't too decadent, but it was free so I can't complain.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Lucino89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I liked staying at this hostel. It was clean and quite central. Close to a metro therefore close to most attractions. Staff are friendly although not all since people at reception change all the time. The room is quite small but thats normal for a 6 bed room. Lockers are not that small so a hand luggage would fit comfortably. The only problem I had was with unlocking the the door to our room. Breakfast is included.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexiaB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Mad hostel is basically like its name 'mad'. The hostel atmosphere could depend on how you view it. It could be as mad as you want (as they organise parties regularly) At Mad hostel, you'll find all sorts of activities you want. I went on free city walking tour and pub crawl (which is the best!) they co-organised it with the cats hostel and other hostels nearby! So it's a great chance to meet new people from all around.

The toilet is very clean and there you'll find that everything is very organised. They have a rooftop with a bar which you can go up and chill on the top. (the bar is quite a reasonably price, compared to other bars in Madrid)

The pub crawl is mad but was one of my favourite! Definitely returning back to Mad hostel again.

P.s. The door is very hard to open!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kookai C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Cat's Hostel
Cat's Hostel
#24 of 386 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Huertas
Way Hostel
Way Hostel
#10 of 386 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Lavapies
OK Hostel Madrid
OK Hostel Madrid
#11 of 386 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lavapies
Las Musas Hostel
Las Musas Hostel
#19 of 386 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Centro
The Hat
The Hat
#5 of 386 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Huertas
Room007 Ventura Hostel
Room007 Ventura Hostel
#14 of 386 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mad Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mad Hostel

Property: Mad Hostel
Address: Calle Cabeza 24, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Lavapies
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 386 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mad Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mad Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mad Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing