We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect hotel for girls weekend”
Review of Room Mate Laura

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Room Mate Laura
Ranked #16 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel for girls weekend”
Reviewed March 17, 2011

I stayed with friends in Laura for two nights. We were upgraded to a suite which obviously made our stay even more enjoyable. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpfull. The location is perfect for wandering around all the main tourist attractions in Madrid. Our room was very well maintained except the bathroom could do with an upgrade. I have stayed here previously with my husband and had no hesitation in coming back. Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. It is very good value and an edge that many other hotels dont.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank cazc17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    893
    510
    132
    24
    5
See reviews for
292
813
69
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

We stayed four nights and really enjoyed our spacious loft room (209). Great view of the square and very quite at night. The bells of the nearby monastery added a special touch and didnt bother us at all. The hotel's location is just fantastic and within walking distance from the main attractions.The breakfast is very convenient and worth every euro. We will definetely come back. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Papililla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Found this hotel here on trip advisor, stayed there for four nights in February. The hotel was clean, rooms were very big, bathrooms were our only complaint, could do with a bit of renovating, plus no bath, which might put off people with young children.

Staff were very friendly, gave us advice on restaurants around the hotel and even booked them, as my spaninsh was not great.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottish_JT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2011

My husband and i returned the Laura for our third stay as part of our break to mark ten years together. As always we found the staff to be polite and the hotel itself its usual high quality. There was a slight hiccup on entering our room as the kitchen was dirty, with left over food etc from the previous occupants. But this was quickly remedied by a quick trip to the front desk. We too found the twin beds a bit strange for a couple to share and felt guilty pulling out the bedding each night knowing the chambermaid would have to remake it the next day! Otherwise we loved our room. The only addition we would recommend is supplying a kettle and cups as we would loved to have made a cup of tea. The Hotel really could not be better located in terms of sightseeing. Getting to and from the airport is easy as the metro is very close. There was a bit of noise on the saturday night from the local bars but it wasn't too bad. We love visiting Madrid and the Laura will always be our first choice when planning a stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
368 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2011

RECOMMENDED: Think Southwest Airlines with the Room Mate chain. This property is located in a relatively quiet area of Madrid city center (relative is the word though) and easy walk to a number of Metro stops and attractions. The property has odd sized rooms so your experience may vary. Rooms are minimally furnished (think Ikea), but in a chic boutique style but bedding was comfortable, The staff is friendly. Breakfast is pleasantly presented.

There is nothing NOT to recommend this property. It is an AVERAGE property but considering the number of poor choices inside of Madrid City, I give this property a VERY GOOD and no reason not for you to consider this as a choice.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadwarrior30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2011

it's a really quiet hotel just in the full center of madrid very easy go every where walking .
very comfortable and very kind people at reception.you feel like at home .
the price is correct for service , clean, and location.
the breakfast is good with fresh food, good choice and the staff is very kind and always ready for any request.
The rooms are design , with nice sofà and very comfortable, internet wireless fast .the room is clean and with good service bar.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ste1053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2011

Nice hotel in an ideal location in the centre of Madrid. The room was basic but clean and modern - ideal for our needs. The staff on the desk were very helpful throughout our trip and it was good value. Because it is in the centre of town and we were on the top floor there were some noises through the night like a 6:30am bell (probably from a local convent) but that didn't bother us too much.

Unfortunately we left one item of clothing in the wardrobe (we hadn't stored anything else in the wardrobes so forgot it when packing) and having contacted them since there is apparently no sign of it.

<update> following the publication of the above review we were contacted again by the hotel who said they had found it after all. They have a policy of not sending lost property themselves (we offered to pay), but suggested we arranged a courier to collect the item. We did this and have now received the item.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qprmanadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roommatemario, Gerente at Room Mate Laura, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for writing a review of Room Mate Laura and your references to staff. We appologize for the delay in contacting you regarding your lost item, and are glad you have received it already. Please do not hessitate to contact management on laura.direccion@room-matehotels.com for any further comments or follow up.

We will be greatful if you decide to come back to Room Mate Laura.

With my best regards,

Room Mate Laura Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 436 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#19 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lavapies
Artrip Hotel
Artrip Hotel
#5 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
#40 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#39 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Laura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Laura

Property: Room Mate Laura
Address: Travesia Trujillos 3 | Plaza de las Descalzas, Reales, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Madrid
#31 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#51 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Room Mate Laura 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Room Mate Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Room Mate Laura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Laura Madrid
Room Mate Laura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing