We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”
Review of Room Mate Mario

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Room Mate Mario
Ranked #43 of 442 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is modern, chic and contemporary with an excellent location (2 mins walk from Opera station) within walking distance to most major tourist attraction. Room was clean and staff were friendly and able to converse in English very well. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Duffster2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaTsoumas, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for choose Room Mate Mario for your stay in Madrid, as well as for taking the time for sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor.
I really agree with you...the hotel location is perfect!

Kind Regards,

Sofia Tsouma
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,979)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

278 - 284 of 1,980 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2014

Recently stayed for 4 nights and have to say Room Mate Mario exceeded our expectations.
Great location, 2 minute walk from Puerto Sol and Plaza Mayor, with the Gran Via a very short stroll.
Rooms were great, breakfast very good and the staff couldn't have been more helpful.

Highly recomended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaTsoumas, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a nice comment regarding your stay with us.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Sofia Tsouma
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

I spent a week at this hotel when visiting Madrid last month, and I was not disappointed! I had a good-sized room which was clean & comfortable, and which had a big, comfortable bed! As well, I was able to sleep well, considering that the hotel is in a central location in Madrid. Furthermore, the staff were courteous & helpful to me. My only complaint was the free Wi-Fi offered here. It didn't always work properly during my stay. Still, I highly recommend this establishment to anyone contemplating a visit to Madrid!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arejaysee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaTsoumas, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.
It`s really glad to know you enjoyed your stay in Room Mate Mario.
We regret the wifi issue, I take note to improve this service and solve any possible failure.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Madrid.
Feel free to contact us for this.

Kind Regards,

Sofia Tsouma
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

As other reviewers have noted, this hotel is in a fantastic location for touring the main attractions - which are mostly within walking distance. The Opera is 50 metres away, the Royal Palace about 400, Puerta del Sol a 5-minute walk, Plaza Mayor a bit further, and the major Art Galleries and the Retiro Park are about 30 minutes walk. There are lots of Restaurants off Sol and over towards Sanat Ana - all within easy reach. The hotel is comfortable and very modern inside (even though it is in an old building). Rooms are adequate and comfortable, and it would be a great base for a 2 or 3-day stay in Madrid. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 06D123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaTsoumas, Director General at Room Mate Mario, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your sharing your experience on tripadvisor.
We love to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel.

Please feel free to contact me directly to assist you with your next stay.

kind regards,

Sofia Tsouma
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at Mario. The hotel is in a perfect location, almost on Plaza Isabel and very close to the Opera metro station. The last time we visited Madrid we went to and from the airport by taxi which cost a small fortune. This time we decided to try the Metro- great decision ! Despite having a couple of changes it was really easy and cost only €20 Euros return for the 2 of us, we wouldn't consider a taxi again.

We loved the hotel,it is very modern with a boutique feel. Our room was spotlessly clean and the bed very comfortable. The room had everything you need - ample cupboard space, mini bar, lovely shower with toiletries, hair dryer and very quiet air conditioning. I notice other contributors saying that room and bathroom were small - I don't agree!! Both were absolutely fine- who goes to Madrid to stay in a room anyway?!
The staff were lovely, professional, very helpful and friendly.

The breakfast was very good, a nice continental selection of breads, meat, cheese, fruit, yogurt, cereal etc and also hot options of eggs, bacon and sausage.

The hotel is walking distance to all of the major attractions, the Royal Palace is a stone's throw away.
A must-do is the Mercado San Miguel. You can easily spend a couple of evenings here eating tapas and drinking lovely wine!

We also visited the Cafe Central , Plaza Angel and heard a wonderful jazz trio. There is live music here most nights 9-11pm, it costs €13 each and is definitely worth a visit. It gets busy so you may want to book. We didn't eat there but the food looked great too.

We would thoroughly recommend the Mario and would definitely return ourselves.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotsheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaTsoumas, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for such a great comment!!

For the entire team was a pleasure to make your visit to Madrid a pleasant memory.
We will be more than happy to have your visit again. Mario will be waiting for you!

Kind regards,

Sofia Tsouma
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed here for three nights whilst visiting our daughter who currently lives in Madrid, it is situated just off the Plaza of the Madrid Opera House, very quiet and we had no noise disturbance at all in spite of being there for the Champions League final between Real Madrid and Atletico Madrid which was a very lively affair! Very friendly staff greeted us on our arrival and all staff encountered were very polite and welcoming. Room was very comfortable (especially the bed) and the modern bathroom with piping hot water was more than adequate although on the small size. Corridors rather dark and we did get lost on more than one occasion as it can be quite confusing. Breakfast ok, nothing to write home about but you get what you pay for and the price is very competitive.
Would thoroughly recommend for its central location and friendliness of staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suearmitage2668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaTsoumas, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to know your stay was pleasant and enjoyed the Hotel details.
Please feel free to contact us directly for your next visit.

King Regards,

Sofia Tsouma
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Room Mate Mario is centrally located on a quiet street by Plaza Isabel. It is conveniently located near the Opera Metro stop as well. The front desk was very helpful in assisting us during our visit. The overall amenities were nice. The hotel was clean and comfortable and had a modern ambiance. A good, solid choice for accommodations in Madrid. The view outside our room wasn't great but we didn't spend much time in. If you are looking to spend time in your hotel room or more luxury, this may not be the spot for you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WindyCityTraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaTsoumas, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your feedback.
We're glad you enjoyed the location of the hotel and make your stay in Madrid has been pleasant.
I take this opportunity to comment that the hotel has 54 rooms including exterior with balcony are facing the street.
Mario will be happy to have you visit again.

Kind Regards,

Sofia Tsouma
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#14 of 442 in Madrid
1,775 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#68 of 442 in Madrid
1,813 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
#46 of 442 in Madrid
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Room Mate Oscar
Room Mate Oscar
#48 of 442 in Madrid
2,469 reviews
Arguelles
Suites Viena – Plaza de Espana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Mario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Mario

Address: Calle Campomanes 4, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#52 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $75 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Room Mate Mario 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Room Mate Hotels, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Room Mate Mario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Mario Madrid
Room Mate Mario Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing