We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location, comfortable, v good value”
Review of Room Mate Mario

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Room Mate Mario
Ranked #43 of 442 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Contemporary styled hotel which looks like it has been recently refurbished.

Reasonably sized room and bathroom for city centre hotel. Everything was clean, crisp and worked efficiently, including the wi fi. Very comfortable beds (on the form side)

Breakfast was reasonable for a hotel @ €7. OK you could find a cheaper breakfast in a cafe somewhere but it had a reasonable choice, unlimited coffee etc, fresh products and so much more convenient to have it in the hotel.

Only slight problem was the initial strong smell of air freshener, used to disguise the smell of drains from the bathroom. But not a serious problem as we were able to open the window. The hotel is on a very quiet street.

Excellent value for a city centre hotel near Teatro Real and the Palace. 10 min walk to Plaza Mayor.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carhirer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora_Arrizurieta, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your nice review about Mario, including our location, good value and breakfast!

We will share it with the entire staff, because it is the best gift that all Mario´s team can receive.

Hope to see you again here in a near future!

Best regards,

Nora Arrizurieta
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,979)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

365 - 371 of 1,980 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed here twice on a recent trip to Spain. The first time it was just for a one night 'stop over' and I only booked a standard room. Yes it was small, but no where near the smallest I've seen in Europe. And it was really well set up, GREAT shower GREAT bed and a window that opened. There was also a small dressing area and a small desk area, so certainly plenty of room.
The time was at the end of our trip for 3 nights, so I booked a suite, WOH, perfect room. Huge with a lovely lounge area, great bathroom, large sitting area and so much storage and the best bit? Two beautiful balconies, this was a perfect end to our trip. We needed lots of room to repack for our international flight.
And the location is AMAZING, we walked everywhere.

Didn't bother with the breakfast.

Room Tip: Get a suite with balconies, wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussiedreamer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora_Arrizurieta, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear guest,

Reading your review, I would like to book there right now! So thank you so much because it is the best award that we can get from our guest!!!

Hope to see you again in a near future!

Best regards;

Nora Arrizurieta
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The position is excellent: you won't need to take the tube or the taxi ... everything is at maximum - 20 minutes walking. the hotel is a design hotel and the atmosphere is very relxing. the room I stayed in was little but very clean and the bed was vert confortable. I just have to say that breakfast doesn't woth the price. I raccomand this hotel if you are going to spend a weekend in Madrid.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora_Arrizurieta, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear guest,
Dear Laura,

Thank you so much for your nice review, including our most important points: cleanness, location, breakfast..

If you require any help for a new booking in Madrid, please, do not doubt in contacting me.

Hope to see you here soon!

Best regards;

Nora Arrizurieta
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The hotel is nice and in a perfect location - walking distance to everything. The rooms clean and cool, good bed, nice atmosphere and nice staff.
But avoid the so called breakfast buffet! It only consists of bad bread (earlier frozen), bad coffee, boring ham and cheese. There's absolutely nothing Spanish about it. Just not worth the money nor the valuable time at all. You'll miss out on real life.
Instead go to the closest bar, or to the San Miguel market by Plaza Mayor, where you can get real coffee and great Bocadillos with Jamon or Chorizo for half price - you will also get the nice Madrid morning atmosphere for free.

Room Tip: We had room 108. View to the back, but not a problem at all for us, as it made the room very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aliasrutten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcortes, Gerente at Room Mate Mario, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience! We are glad to see that you ejoyed your stay with us. Regarding breakfast I am happy to inform you that just today we have added products like eggs and bacon, new breads and new cold meats! We would be grateful if you come back to try it again and let us know your impressions. Again, thank you for your comments is thank to them that we can improve every day!

With our best regards!

Janet Cortés
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Wife & friends just returned from Madrid where we went for new year's celebration. I chose this hotel based on the tripadvisor reviews and It surpassed my expectations. First and foremost, the hotel is extremely clean and the room was oversized (by European standards). Secondly, the hotel is very close tto all the attractions and to puerta del sol, yet it is located in a very quiet street. Thirdly, the breakfast choices are surprising and the food is very fresh. This morning, on January 2, we had to leave before the breakfast room would open. Yet, we were given special access so we could eat prior to catching our flight.

The desk clerk, Hugo, was extremely accomodating, had great customer service skills and spoke very good English.

Truly the best hotel I have stayed in the city of Madrid. This will definitely be my hotel of choice in our future visits to this European city.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcortes, Gerente at Room Mate Mario, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear guest,

THANKYOU for such a nice review about your stay with us. We are so glad to find out that you enjoyed that much your stay in Mario. I have forwarded your comments to Hugo and the rest of the team who are so happy to see that the daily effort is rewarded with comments like yours. Thank you again and would very much welcome the opportunity to meeting you in a future visit to Madrid.

With my best wishes for this new year!

Janet Cortes
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night on business. The location was excellent and just a few minutes walk from the underground. The room was spacious and had two little balconies overlooking the street. Like the separate bathroom and sink, which when sharing a room is convenient. Couldn't hear traffic but there must have been something going on in one if the bars as there was a lot of noise well into the night...
Breakfast was good too.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 97sienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcortes, Gerente at Room Mate Mario, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your excellent review about Room Mate Mario. We are grateful about your comments and wish you could visit us in a future ocassion!

With our best regards,

Janet Cortes
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Small but clean room. Fantastic central location. Good value. Good breakfast.
Started in Madrid for a 2 weeks tour in Spain. We wanted a hotel within walking distance to the main shopping area, plaza oriente, plaza mayor n puerta del sol as well as europcar rental. Reason being we have only a night stay in Madrid. This hotel meets all criteria and is of fantastic value.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DnaSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora_Arrizurieta, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your nice review, including our most important points: cleanness, location, breakfast..

If you require any help for a new booking in Madrid, please, do not doubt in contacting me.

Hope to see you here soon!

Best regards;

Nora Arrizurieta
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#14 of 442 in Madrid
1,775 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#68 of 442 in Madrid
1,813 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
#46 of 442 in Madrid
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Room Mate Oscar
Room Mate Oscar
#48 of 442 in Madrid
2,469 reviews
Arguelles
Suites Viena – Plaza de Espana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Mario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Mario

Address: Calle Campomanes 4, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#52 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $75 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Room Mate Mario 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Room Mate Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Room Mate Mario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Mario Madrid
Room Mate Mario Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing