We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Breakfast Buffet very bad!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Room Mate Mario

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Room Mate Mario
Ranked #45 of 446 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Breakfast Buffet very bad!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

The hotel is nice and in a perfect location - walking distance to everything. The rooms clean and cool, good bed, nice atmosphere and nice staff.
But avoid the so called breakfast buffet! It only consists of bad bread (earlier frozen), bad coffee, boring ham and cheese. There's absolutely nothing Spanish about it. Just not worth the money nor the valuable time at all. You'll miss out on real life.
Instead go to the closest bar, or to the San Miguel market by Plaza Mayor, where you can get real coffee and great Bocadillos with Jamon or Chorizo for half price - you will also get the nice Madrid morning atmosphere for free.

Room Tip: We had room 108. View to the back, but not a problem at all for us, as it made the room very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aliasrutten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcortes, Gerente at Room Mate Mario, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience! We are glad to see that you ejoyed your stay with us. Regarding breakfast I am happy to inform you that just today we have added products like eggs and bacon, new breads and new cold meats! We would be grateful if you come back to try it again and let us know your impressions. Again, thank you for your comments is thank to them that we can improve every day!

With our best regards!

Janet Cortés
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    843
    657
    158
    35
    25
See reviews for
152
870
161
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madisonville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Wife & friends just returned from Madrid where we went for new year's celebration. I chose this hotel based on the tripadvisor reviews and It surpassed my expectations. First and foremost, the hotel is extremely clean and the room was oversized (by European standards). Secondly, the hotel is very close tto all the attractions and to puerta del sol, yet it is located in a very quiet street. Thirdly, the breakfast choices are surprising and the food is very fresh. This morning, on January 2, we had to leave before the breakfast room would open. Yet, we were given special access so we could eat prior to catching our flight.

The desk clerk, Hugo, was extremely accomodating, had great customer service skills and spoke very good English.

Truly the best hotel I have stayed in the city of Madrid. This will definitely be my hotel of choice in our future visits to this European city.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcortes, Gerente at Room Mate Mario, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear guest,

THANKYOU for such a nice review about your stay with us. We are so glad to find out that you enjoyed that much your stay in Mario. I have forwarded your comments to Hugo and the rest of the team who are so happy to see that the daily effort is rewarded with comments like yours. Thank you again and would very much welcome the opportunity to meeting you in a future visit to Madrid.

With my best wishes for this new year!

Janet Cortes
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siena, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night on business. The location was excellent and just a few minutes walk from the underground. The room was spacious and had two little balconies overlooking the street. Like the separate bathroom and sink, which when sharing a room is convenient. Couldn't hear traffic but there must have been something going on in one if the bars as there was a lot of noise well into the night...
Breakfast was good too.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 97sienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcortes, Gerente at Room Mate Mario, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your excellent review about Room Mate Mario. We are grateful about your comments and wish you could visit us in a future ocassion!

With our best regards,

Janet Cortes
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SG
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Small but clean room. Fantastic central location. Good value. Good breakfast.
Started in Madrid for a 2 weeks tour in Spain. We wanted a hotel within walking distance to the main shopping area, plaza oriente, plaza mayor n puerta del sol as well as europcar rental. Reason being we have only a night stay in Madrid. This hotel meets all criteria and is of fantastic value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DnaSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora_Arrizurieta, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your nice review, including our most important points: cleanness, location, breakfast..

If you require any help for a new booking in Madrid, please, do not doubt in contacting me.

Hope to see you here soon!

Best regards;

Nora Arrizurieta
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Very friendly hotel, reasonable rates, clean rooms, good size bathrooms. Location is unbeatable, next to Opera House, Plaza de Oriente, and steps away from the Opera Metro Station or Sol. Also close by is the well known Mercado de San Miguel, a famous market converted into several small trendy tapas-restaurants.

Room Tip: They often have good offers, either at this hotel or at Room Mate Laura, close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ahersua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora_Arrizurieta, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for giving us the best award that we can get from you: your nice review and your appreciation, including our rooms, cleanness, rates and location.

In Room Mate you can always find a new experience!!!

So please, let me know if you would like to stay with us again and it would be a pleasure to help you with your new booking.

Best regards

Nora Arrizurieta
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed in Room Mate Mario, Madrid, for four nights in November 2012. I'd picked the hotel on the basis of other reviews. This is a stylish hotel in an old building and despite being there for several days we had to follow the signs to find the breakfast room. There are lots of jogs and small flights of stairs. The breakfast buffet was great--open until noon daily. I loved the location, steps to the Royal Palace and, better yet, to the Opera House where we attended a chamber orchestra concert (great seats for 8 Euros and less expensive than a tour) and two one-act operas (one event). After orienting ourselves to Madrid on a Hop-on Hop-Off bus (tickets purchased at the hotel), we found we could easily walk to the Plaza Mayor, the Plaza del Sol, and the Prado.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are somewhat quieter than those on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyM67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcortes, Gerente at Room Mate Mario, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other Trip Advisor users.We are so glad to see that you enjoyed your stay in Madrid!

We hope to see you back again!

Kind regards,

Janet Cortes
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#14 of 446 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#53 of 446 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,549 reviews
Chueca
Room Mate Oscar
Room Mate Oscar
#43 of 446 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
#48 of 446 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#36 of 446 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,170 reviews
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#17 of 446 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Mario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Mario

Property: Room Mate Mario
Address: Calle Campomanes 4, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#52 Business Hotel in Madrid
#54 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Room Mate Mario 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Room Mate Mario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Mario Madrid
Room Mate Mario Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing