We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, service and comfortable rooms”
Review of Room Mate Mario

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Room Mate Mario
Ranked #43 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, service and comfortable rooms”
Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

We flew into Madrid after 24 hours flying and were so happy to find a lovely, quiet, clean hotel. The service was great, all the staff very helpful. The breakfast was great and it was a great base to explore Madrid being very central and right near the opera station. The room was lovely, bright with a great modern design, not overly large but it really didn't matter. Would definately recommend to other travelers.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora_Arrizurieta, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Lauren,

Your nice review about our service, staff, room and breakast is the best appreciation that we can obtain from our guests. Thank you so much!!!!!!

For Mario, it has been a really pleasure, so please, do not hesitate if you want to stay again with us, and tell all your friends that Mario is the best troupe that they will find in Madrid!!

Best regards,

Nora Arrizurieta
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    935
    703
    165
    37
    26
See reviews for
178
939
174
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is the second time we were staying at this hotel. The location is the best and overall it's great value for money. Great breakfast and very friendly staff! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vika79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora_Arrizurieta, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your nice words!!

We are just waiting for your third time with Mario!!!

Whatever you need, please let us know.

Regards,

Nora Arrizurieta
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The room was nice and clean. The breakfast is good but the coffee was not my taste. The hotel is very good located. The royal palace, the opera, the shopping street, good restaurants are not fare away. It takes you a minute to go from the metro stop "opera" to the hotel.

Madrid itself is from my point of view worth seeing. You need two or three full days to visit all. It depends what you like to see. The city tour "route 1" is interesting. The "route 2" I found absolutely boring.

You should pay attention when you get back your change. Unfortunately we made three times bad experience. Once I got 12 Euro less back, once we got a carafe of Sangria instead of two glaces (after discussion with the staff, we got what we wanted) and as we asked after the bill we got a wrong price. First they wanted 18 Euro, then we said, we did not drink what was charged. After we got a new bill with the right price of 7.40 Euro.

If you like to visit the Prado Museum you should buy the ticket the evening before. The best time to get in without a queue is about noon.

If you want to enjoy the nightlife of Madrid you should go on weekends. During the week it is more quiet.

Around the "tourist places" like "Plaza Mayor" there are a lot of tourist traps. If you want to get good value for your money you should go a little bit in the side streets. A good sign is, when locals are in the restaurant too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Sandra,

Thank you so much for your nice review, including our rooms, location and cleanness.

Your review is a good example for any traveller, from our hotel and the city.

Hope to see you again in a near future, sharing your stay with Mario again!!!

Best regards;

Nora Arrizurieta
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Just off Plaza de Isabel II, which has the city's opera house as its focal point, plus a metro station, Room Mate Mario is in a tucked-away street - so is quieter. The situation is excellent: Plaza Oriental with its elegant palace, lovely gardens and canopied coffee shops / bars / restaurants is two minutes' walk away... while ten will get you to the central Plaza Major or Plaza Sol. Madrid is a city to love exploring on foot so a central base is what you want.
Room Mate have several hotels in Madrid and seem to be expanding beyond. Room Mate Mario has a very low-key exterior; step inside and it's a boutique reception area that greets you, all funky in orange and black. Jugs of iced fruit water and green apples; rent an iPad; that sort of thing. Check-in was swift and cheery.
Rooms are simple but well thought-out rather than posh. Free, effective wi-fi and a small desk; excellent air-con and good lighting. Simple bathroom with decent shower, toiletries and hairdryer. The style is fresh and white with a feature wall in all rooms, some of which have fancier beds. The minibar was well stocked and operated on a trust basis. Breakfast is inexpensive and runs until 12 noon - a definite plus. Daily maid service was good. So, on the whole, adequate and practical bedrooms with the accent on functionality with a dash of style.
What made the difference most of all was the warmth of welcome from Eva Gil whose caring and thoughtful style - and fluent English - was wonderful. And at check-out the same care and friendly, personable approach. This not only made this traveller's stay more homely and happy at Room Mate Mario but also left a lasting, positive feeling about the whole city.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryMQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Gary,

Your nice and detailed review is the best summary that we could have from our loved Mario. Thank you so much!!

I have shared with Eva your nice comment, because it makes from our work an special experience too.

Hope to see you again in Mario!!

Best regards,

Nora Arrizurieta
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Fantastic value for a great, central location with the main sights of the historic centre within a few minutes walk. Lovely contemporary design; rooms are not large but well designed with large comfortable bed. Friendly and efficient staff who obliged by allowing us to check in slightly early then held our bags for us until the room was ready. Would definitely book in again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay in Room Mate Mario.

Receive such a nice words about our location, design, and staff from our guest is one of the most important achievement that we can get.

Mario will be waiting for your next stay in Madrid!!

Regards,

Nora Arrizurieta
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed 3 nights for business @ mario. The staff is casually friendly, and I like that. I slept in the suite, which is nice because it's bigger. The bed was really great : I had real good sleeps. The bathroom was disappointing and needs to be renovated.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Philippe,

Thank you for your comment regarding your stay with us, here at the Room Mate Mario.

We try our best to improve our service day-to-day, so do not hesitate that we will check the bathroom in order to solve any requirement.

Sincerely yours,

Nora Arrizurieta
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Boutique usuals -- modern, clean, moderate prices/services/comforts -- at a comfortable spot between budget and luxury in all ways.

nice little touches:
ice water and green apples to welcome you each time you return hot, tired, thirsty to hotel after a long day of summer sight seeing.

Breakfast buffet better than usual. Staff among most helpful in Europe. We walked all over central Madrid from the hotel + found many places to dine in the neighborhood. No need to change metto trains t/f Atocha Train St., if you have light luggage, you can walk 4 mins to 'Sol' Metro. Airport 45 mins via Metro

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c1scottc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Scott,

Thank you so much for your nice review. It includes the most important features from Mario´s behaviour: modern hotel, cleanness, great breakfast, helpfull staff and our location. You are the best guide from our hotel!!

It will be a real pleasure for us to host you in our hotel again.

With kind regards,

Nora Arrizurieta
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 436 in Madrid
1,643 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
#42 of 436 in Madrid
1,258 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#62 of 436 in Madrid
1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ayre Gran Hotel Colon
#154 of 436 in Madrid
1,745 reviews
Chueca
Room Mate Oscar
Room Mate Oscar
#53 of 436 in Madrid
2,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Mario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Mario

Property: Room Mate Mario
Address: Calle Campomanes 4, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#52 Business Hotel in Madrid
#54 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Room Mate Mario 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Room Mate Hotels, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Room Mate Mario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Mario Madrid
Room Mate Mario Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing