We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine to write home about”

Restaurante Alabaster
Reserve with
Restaurante Alabaster is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #107 of 10,992 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $67
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Paseo del Prado
Albany, New York
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wine to write home about”
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

After a late arrival in Madrid, my wife and I had a light dinner sharing 4 or 5 tapas and a terrific Rioja recommended by the wait staff. Everyone was friendly and while little English was spoken, we had no difficulty in communicating our wishes. Each tapas was presented elegantly and was delicious.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirAlborada, Director General at Restaurante Alabaster, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you Daniel R! We hope to see you again in your next visit to Madrid!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    385
    207
    43
    22
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mosta, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Visited the rest last night and it was superb. Staff were always at your table but did not bother us once. One of the few places they spoke perfect, well not all that perfect, English. Dinner was to die for, I started off with Sardines and had lamb for my seconds. Delicious. My friend had the pork and he wished it never finished. The highlight of the evening for our women was the desert as they had apple tart with vanilla ice cream... They actually died and went to heaven, they claimed.. Yes it is expensive but worth every euro..

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirAlborada, Director General at Restaurante Alabaster, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Chris M,

Thank you! We appreciate all of your comments.

We hope to see you again in your next visit to Madrid!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“disappointed.....”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

4 friends visited this restaurant and were welcomed nicely, a modernist /minimalist type decor. The food was good quality and well served. However we were disappointed by the presentation of one main dish and poor wine pouring etiquette. At a restaurant at this price point these things shouldnt happen and kind of spoiled a nice evening but given the quality of the other reviews we perhaps had an off night experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank dubhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great lunch!”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

This was a lovely modern restaurant that's perfectly located by the side of the Retiro. It's quite smart/formal but they have a more informal bar area.
Would definitely recommend the langoustine starter and the monkfish main course.

Service was great and I couldn't recommend highly enough!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorabella888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirAlborada, Director General at Restaurante Alabaster, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you very much KM888London!

Hope to see you again in your next visit to Madrid!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blantyre glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

This restaurant is a real find. The setting, food and service are among the very best in Madrid..our meal and service were perfection. Our waiter, Manuel, was a star in his field, he quietly described each course as he expertly placed it for us, always there but never intrusive.we visited this fabulous restaurant on our first evening and have booked
Already for our last. In all our visits to this marvellous city this has to be the best restaurant yet. The wine recommendation was excellent and inexpensive. I would recommend this restaurant for a special night out but also for a cosy intimate meal. We were visiting with our son who lives in Madrid and the staff spoke Spanish to him and English to us. The meal was exceptional.

A wonderful team effort which we,as the customer, benefit from! ENJOY!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank shoequeen41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Alabaster also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Restaurante Alabaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing