We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An extremely pleasant stay in Madrid” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Bruna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Bruna
Ranked #72 of 407 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Scotland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“An extremely pleasant stay in Madrid”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2010

Hostal Bruna was an excellent choice for us. We had some reservations from reading previous reviews on TripAdvisor, but these were totally unfounded. We were given an upgrade to an apartment at the same price as there was no double left. We arrived late at night around 11.30pm and the receptionist had waited up for us to check in. Everything was clean and we had plenty of hot water as and when required. We did not find it noisy either from the street (our room faced the street on the first floor) or from other guests. It was very easy to find too - metro to Anton Marton and then straight down Calle Moratin from there and the hotel is on the right near the end. There were lots of local bars and facilities nearby with a great cafe opposite for breakfast. It is very close to the Prada and Reina Sofia as well as the Atocha station for a day trip to Toledo. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to others; and will certainly return there on our next trip to Madrid!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AaaaandEeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    71
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
15
56
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2010

This was my second time staying in the Bruna, the last time having been possibly 6 or 7 years ago.
The first thing I noted was that the room had been refurbished in the interim - modern tiling on the bedroom floor and throughout the (smallish) bathroom. This adds to the feeling of cleanliness - the room and bathroom were spotless. Room was a good size for one person.The weather outside was cold, the room was cosy.
WIFI was available in the room and was free. Room safe also free.
Portable TV on the wall.
The friendly owner greeted me by name whenever we passed, though the reality is that because you are given a key to the room, and to the front and street doors, you can come and go freely as you wish.
Location is excellent - and your breakfast room is effectively La Plateria cafe directly across the street - one of the best cafes in the city, in my opinion.
For a budget stay in Madrid, and a chance to stay in the type of house where the Madrilenos live, I highly recommend this hostal.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Apollo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2009

Hotel Bruna is well located for art lovers and close to Huertas where a big deal of the evening action goes on in Madrid. The hotel is nice and clean. We had a good welcome.
Everything about this hotel was allright, except when you like to have a quiet night of sleep. We stayed there for seven nights and only two of them gave us a good rest. We've changed our room (the other side of the hotel). The building is not fitted to be a hotel. Hall way noises are clearly audible. The pumbler made sure that you will be informed of every leak of water your neighbour uses (tap water or toilet). Thanks to inner courts you can 'enjoy' the evening/nights rituals of common Spaniards. The neighbors of the upper floor did rearrange their furniture several times a week (usually in the morning).
If you're someone who seeks his bed at 1.00 o'clock in the morning and leave already at 6.00 o'clock in the morning, then this will disturb you less. Otherwise...
Nice hotel, a pity about the effects of the construction.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lemmens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hostal Bruna for 5 nights. Our usual place was booked so this was an alternative. The location is excellent, right near the Prado, Reina Sofia, 10 minute walk to Plaza Mayor and Puerta de Sol. We never used the metro. Tons of mesones, cafes and bars right on the street. The room was super clean and the managers were very nice. Room included TV, bathroom, desk and basic toiletries. WiFi worked in the room. You come and go as you please with keys to the main door. Off season we paid 55 Euros a night. We had Apt. 1 which was on the first floor with a window into an air shaft which meant it was very quiet from street noise. As in all places in Madrid, yes, the walls are thin and there is some noise from neighbors and other guest. I lived in Madrid for a year many years ago, and this is just how they build apartments. Would highly recommend for location, independence, cleanliness. Note, there is no big sign outside but it is #50 c/Moratin. Ring the bell for the 2nd floor.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovemountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2009

The Hostal Bruna is a good budget hotel minutes away from the Prado Museum. The rooms are small but have heating, air conditioning, TV (spanish only) and comfortable bed. Ensuite bathrooms also smal but have good shower.
Rooms are kept very clean. As this is small family hotel, services are limited.
It is located on a quiet pedestrainised street, with cafes etc in easy reach. Try the Sociedad and the Colon for good budget meals.
Main downside of Bruna is the noise. It can be very noisy (doors slamming, people talking, lift) but was very quiet between midnight and 7.30 in the moring.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billglos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2009

In addition to all the obvious physical advantages of this hostal (its location, its quiet, its cleanliness, its bargain prices), there is one more thing you should know. The owners are extremely decent and kind people. My son stayed in Hostal Bruna recently, before his return to the US after a year in Spain. The night before his departure, he was pickpocketed, leaving him with no cash and no credit cards to pay his bill the next day.

Not only did the owners just brush off the fact that no payment would be forthcoming (we have since sent a check), they also gave him some money to get him to the airport and on his way. We are very thankful for this kindness. I think it says a lot about the owners and I would recommend this place to anyone on a budget.

Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank lreynold1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2008

Hostal Bruna is quiet.

Let me say that again; Hostal Bruna is quiet. For those of you who have stayed in Madrid, you know how valuable a commodity this can be.

Bruna is a little gem, across the street from the Prado on a quiet little plaza. The hostal itself is impeccably clean and well run. Domingo and his family are happy to help if you need it--but just as happy to leave you alone if thats what you desire.

The neighbourhood is a warren of cool little streets, filled with bars, restaurants and interesting shops. There's an Internet place just up the street.

I found myself hanging out at Plateria, a warm inviting tapas bar directly across the street from the front door of Bruna.

As somebody has mentioned, the best way to get here from the airport, is to take the metro to Nuevos Ministerios, then take the #14 or #27 bus (use the "p/o Castellana exit) south to the hotel. This will save you humping luggage up and down the *many* flights of stairs as you transfer from metro line to metro line.

I splurged a bit and paid 40 Euros for a double room with ensuite--but could have had a single for 30 with the loo down the very short hallway.

The hotel is very well located, with most of central Madrid within an easy 30-45 walk. For art lovers you couldnt be more central, with the big 3 galleries all within a 10 minute walk.

All in all this was a great find.

  • Liked — excellent value for the money
  • Disliked — sometimes the small children of the owners were noisy after school..but not a big deal
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Radisson Blu Hotel, Madrid Prado
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Mora
Hotel Mora
#228 of 444 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Huertas
Mercure Madrid Centro
Mercure Madrid Centro
#174 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Urban Sea Atocha 113
Urban Sea Atocha 113
#177 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Huertas
hostal gonzalo
hostal gonzalo
#29 of 407 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Huertas
Good Stay Prado
Good Stay Prado
#130 of 407 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Bruna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Bruna

Property: Hostal Bruna
Address: Calle Moratin 50, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 407 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Bruna 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Bruna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Bruna Hotel Madrid
Hostal Bruña Madrid
Hostal Bruña Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing