We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is not a hotel...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa de Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa de Madrid
Ranked #100 of 283 Madrid B&B and Inns
Domfront, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is not a hotel...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

as you know them. This is intended as a home from home - one is not a "guest" but a "member" of a club of people who use this beautiful apartment as a home while they visit Madrid. The staff are exceptional in their attention and assistance and manage to be delightfully warm and friendly without being the slightest bit intrusive. Its location is perfect for getting around and a relaxing and welcoming base to return to. Highly recommended - we will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindsole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    26
    10
    8
    8
See reviews for
12
110
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Pierce, FL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Casa de Madrid is a historic home located in the heart of the city across from the Teatro Real (Opera House). The location was perfect and the place was very special - a gracious home within an elegant apartment building filled with unique antiques and artwork - very tasteful and charming. Our room was a junior suite with a greek theme - very spacious with actual columns, a hand painted mural on the walls and ceiling, beautiful stained glass windows, a large bust of Zeus, several comfortable chairs and an antique table with wines, water and crackers set out for us along with a list of recommended restaurants - the bathroom was luxurious with a recessed lighted ceiling and a large shower, and the double sinks were on the other side of the bedroom with lots of counter space.

We had reserved the smallest room and were told when we arrived that due to plumbing problems, that room was unavailable. Matteo had tried very hard to contact us prior to our arrival to let us know of the problem, but we hadn't provided our cell number - he offered us several options including a double upgrade to a junior suite (available for 3 of the 6 nights we'd requested with a move to another hotel around the corner for the other 3 nights), or, if we were not wanting to move halfway through our stay, we could stay all 6 nights at the nearby hotel. We gratefully chose the upgraded room for 3 nights, a room that would not have fit within our budget. We were treated so honorably and felt more than compensated for the difficulty.

Our 3 night stay was exceptional. We loved our room, the fabulous people, the gorgeous surroundings, the lovely breakfast in the salon - we could not have been treated more beautifully. Everyone we met (including Matteo, Santiago, Dona Marta, and Maria) was fabulous. We recommend this very special place without hesitation and have already suggested that our friends living in Madrid recommend it to their visitors.

Room Tip: We adored our Greek Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anamcara1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

From the moment we entered Casa de Madrid we received the most warm and wonderful welcome. We were instantly made to feel at home and the location is superb. As they informed us it's "centre of the city" and it couldn't be more accurate. You are within 5-10 minutes walk of practically everything you would want to see. This is not a place for those who want a large homogenous city centre hotel but for those who want a quirky, intimate, charming, elegant and friendly home in the most beautiful part of Madrid. The recommendations we received for dining and places to visit we would never have found on our own and were fantastic. We stayed in the Lavender room and it was incredibly comfortable with a lovely balcony. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank juliet s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Casa de Madrid. The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcomed. They assisted with tickets and dining recommendations and were always extremely accommodating. We stayed in the Royal India Room and it was lovely. The bed was comfortable and our two terraces allowed us wonderful breezes. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle0514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We totally enjoyed the closeness of us and the owner Marta and her wonderful staff. Paula and Matthew could not have been more helpful to us in every respect. I had an accident shortly after our arrival and could not have been happier with the immediate attention that day and for the next days that we were guests of the hotel. In fact, shortly after our arrival home, I received an e mail from Marta inquiring as to my condition,
We all enjoyed our stay at Casa de Madrid and have already told some of our friends about it.

Hope to return in the near future.

Room Tip: I don't believe there are any bad rooms. Take what you are given and you will be happy for sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

This is not a big corporate city centre hotel - this is a small, elegant, beautifully appointed town house in the best part of Madrid. All the main attractions are a short walk or tube ride away.

There are only eight rooms I believe. Ours was huge and had wonderful murals painted on the walls, sculpture, flowers and clever lighting made the atmosphere very romantic.

The staff bend over backwards to be helpful and kind. Charming is the word I would use. Nothing was too much bother.

For a few nights in Madrid this is the place to go, just don't bring your children.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gliffaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights...the service was great. Rooms were quiet and large. The concierge desk provided exactly what we were looking for in terms of tourist activities, restaurants, and bars. Great staff. I loved this place and will definitely stay there every time I am in Madrid.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel
Centro
HOTEL OPERA
HOTEL OPERA
#148 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Paseo del Prado
AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malasana
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#21 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,301 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#42 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#20 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Madrid

Property: Casa de Madrid
Address: Calle Arrieta 2 2a Planta 5 Puerta 2a, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 283 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de Madrid 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Madrid is a boutique luxury residence, that offers a unique and romantic luxury stay experience. This small luxury property is located in a landmark 18th century building, in the old part of Madrid, where the Hasburg dynasty built their Royal Palace.The house has many balconies that face the Royal Opera House, and have views of Plaza Oriente and the Royal Palace. Since this is a boutique luxury residence you will be able to enjoy a more welcoming and personal atmosphere that you’d expect of an intimate luxury accommodation. It is one of Madrid’s most fascinating homes, and includes 7 spacious rooms, a salon and library all decorated in the art-filled exotic decor of a timeless bygone era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa de Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Madrid Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing