We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay with lovely authentic antiques”
Review of Casa de Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa de Madrid
Ranked #107 of 278 Madrid B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We love our stay at Casa de Madrid. It is very charming and classic decoration. We enjoyed sitting in their library just like our private living room. The staff are very friendly and professional. They recommended us a very yummy restaurant nearby. The location is excellent with only a few minutes walk to the Palace. All in all, we love this place and will recommend to everyone!

Room Tip: Japan room is nice with the spacious library that we can enjoy as our private living room.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
There are newer reviews for Casa de Madrid
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 162 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed as a couple during a week end in Madrid and loved it. The set up is an old maitre house, filled with classic painting and sculptures, it feels like home. Several reasons for that ; most of us don't live in such a beautiful place BUT when you arrive you are welcomed as a friend and a valued guest, the staff is helpful and available.

The location is perfect, being 10 mn away from the puerta del sol and the metro.

It's on the expensive side but I would never book a 4star hotel instead of casa de Madrid, which truly feels, like a 'casa' !

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiaDef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The bathroom in our booked room exploded, so we had to move.
The India Suit was really fun, but someone was booked for the 2nd night.
Nice quiet area
Great Service.
TRYP Hotel is above average.
Don't miss Restaurante La Mi Venta if you are nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psmsmdagreyhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Arrived at the hotel at 10.30pm and met with Santiago. Not a good opening sentence...."We have a problem!"

Santiago showed us our inteded room which was a building site, with the screed floor removed to the old wooden beams. They had a major water leak that morning.

However, Santiago assured us that he had arranged "an upgrade" and insisted on carrying our bags around the corner to our new accomodation, making sure that reception was sorted and even recommended and booked a restaurant for our evening meal. He was extraordinarily courteous and kind and invited us as guests for dinner the following evening....didn't happen, but..

From what we saw of the hotel, it is in a fabulous location, being directly oppoesite the Opera House and a pleasant 100 yards from the Royal Palace garsens. It is certainly quaint and unusual and I would suggest that the care the proprietors take of you would be equally and pleasantly unusual for a majaor capital city hotel.

First time in Madrid and was overwhelmed by the whole package. People were helpful, reastaurants are varied, sights and abundant and overall a super four days. Our stay coincided with the festival of the city's patron saint, SanSidoro and there were concerts and meriment all around so if you plan to visit in may, ensure you include the date next year. Young and old were dressed in traditional costume and the atmosphere has delightful.

On record,my thanks to Santiago and the citizens of Madrid for making it a memorable break.

Absolutely take time for a two day Sightseeing bus trip which allows you get about as well as tick off the sights!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank SouthWalesGrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed during the week at Casa de Madrid, checked the tripadvisor website for hotels and guest houses in central Madrid before booking. This guest house came high on the tripadvisor ratings, Nothing much more to add as already stated in the top reviews, can be difficult to find entrance to guest house for the first time. All staff were so warm and accommodating, professional and courteous, first class would book the Casa de Madrid again no problem if i ever come back to Madrid for a stay.

Room Tip: Next to Opera Metro station, can be noisy on certain nights due to bin collection
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoo-c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed at Casa de Madrid for one night at the start of a long weekend in Madrid (we were staying with friends for the remainder). I was expecting it to be quirky and not your typical luxury hotel set up, but for the price we were charged the experience just did not come up to scratch. Lots of small details contributed to this; the lack of the bottle of cava or the afternoon tea that the website clearly stated as included in the room price, the wifi not working and the TV reception quality making it unwatchable, the fact that we were given a different room to the one we had booked (and been fully charged for before arrival) and the unimpressive breakfast - other people on here have complimented this but I would expect a room price of close to £200 to offer more than one tiny croissant and a stale bit of toast on a tray eaten on a table shared with other people's uncleared breakfast remnants. It all just added up to leave a sense of disatisfaction and bad value for money which has increased upon reflection.

The staff were friendly and welcoming and the apartment is undoubtedly beautiful and in a great location for sightseeing. I suspect the more expensive suites are more impressive but the Leaves of April room felt overpriced and shabbier than the website pictures suggest. I am afraid that this time quirky just didn't work for us at this price tag.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RWedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Our four night stay at Casa de Madrid to celebrate our 19th wedding anniversary was magical in every way. The location is superb, the rooms are beautifully decorated and the staff were so warm and accommodating, professional and courteous. The breakfast, beautifully presented, was served in a lovely sitting room and the perfect start to each day. We would highly this special place, just steps away from the Royal Palace, for a one-of-a-kind Madrid experience, it far exceeded our expectations and we are so looking forward to returning. Mario and Melanie, Australia

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel II Castillas
Hotel II Castillas
#94 of 438 in Madrid
689 reviews
Centro
HOTEL OPERA
HOTEL OPERA
#136 of 438 in Madrid
1,188 reviews
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Unico Madrid
Hotel Unico Madrid
#10 of 438 in Madrid
829 reviews
Centro
Hostal Central Palace Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Madrid

Address: Calle Arrieta 2 2a Planta 5 Puerta 2a, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 278 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range: $204 - $635 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de Madrid 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Madrid is a boutique luxury residence, that offers a unique and romantic luxury stay experience. This small luxury property is located in a landmark 18th century building, in the old part of Madrid, where the Hasburg dynasty built their Royal Palace.The house has many balconies that face the Royal Opera House, and have views of Plaza Oriente and the Royal Palace. Since this is a boutique luxury residence you will be able to enjoy a more welcoming and personal atmosphere that you’d expect of an intimate luxury accommodation. It is one of Madrid’s most fascinating homes, and includes 7 spacious rooms, a salon and library all decorated in the art-filled exotic decor of a timeless bygone era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa de Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Madrid Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing