We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as nice as it first seems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Paseo del Arte
Ranked #123 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not as nice as it first seems”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hotel, although well-located, does not replicate the impressive entrance in its bedrooms. You are charged for wi-fi use (yes, in 2012); the bedrooms are very basic (old TVs); the extra pricing is unreasonable (an extra night is 30 + euros more expensive than I booked).
Basically I am in Madrid for 1 more night but will change tomorrow rather than continuing to stay here - that hotel has free wi-fi, for instance, in rooms (which for a business trip is rather important).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angel A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Paseo del Arte, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest:

We thank you very much for your feedback, your comments will help us to improve.

It is also a pleasure to inform you that we have reconsidered the wifi fee, and this service is now free for all our customers.

About the suplement for an extra night, rates and offers are dinamic so not always it is possible to apply same conditions when extending your stay or even sometimes rate could be even cheaper. However, we will send your comment to the hotel management to assess situations requiring special treatment.

We look forward to welcoming you in the future so you can enjoy ongoing improvements we made thanks to the feedback from our customers.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    1,015
    237
    48
    33
See reviews for
354
805
141
305
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here with friends for a long weekend break. The hotel has an excellent location for the museums and convenient for transfers to the airport. Lots if local bars and good restraunts nearby. The arts centre nearby has an excellent menu del dia for 13 euro. Rooms are modern and the breakfast excellent. Recommended for a weekend break.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natashahall11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angel A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Paseo del Arte, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for the positive comments of our hotel, we are pleased to know you enjoyed a pleasant stay.

Also we appreciate that you chose the Hotel Husa Paseo del Arte for your stay in Madrid.

We look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Location: a little difficult to find, after that, it's location near the major turistic interests was a major plus.
The rooms were large and very nice. It's one of the hotels with positive and good ambiance i've ever try. Altough, i like the rooms with a view, or a little terasse, the comfortable room made me forget about it.
Good cleaning, friendly staff.
The restaurant needs a place for smokers, but i loved the coffee they had.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coolwat3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angel A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Paseo del Arte, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest:

Many thanks for your great comments about our Hotel, it is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay in Madrid.

We would note that Spanish law does not allow smoking in any public establishment.

The Hotel has rooms with different orientations some of them with views to Atocha Street and our executive rooms in the seventh floor have a big terrace with wonderful views over Madrid. We hope you can enjoy one of these rooms in a next stay.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We choose this hotel for its fantastic location. It is a few minutes from Atocha station for visting Toledo. On one side it is no more than 15 minute walk to the plaza mayor, plaza sant ana or any other of the main attractions in the historic centre and on other side is very close to the parque retiro, museo del prado and Reina Sofia. The rooms are comfortable and very clean if a little small. We really only used the hotel as somewhere to lay our heads, so the lack of facilties didn't bother us and with so many great restaurants in Madrid there was no need to use the hotel restaurant. Finally the staff were polite and helpful for what little we called on them for.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoelL52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angel A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Paseo del Arte, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest:

Many thanks for your great comments about our Hotel, it is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay in Madrid, thanks to our perfect location and great communications.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2012

If you are going to Madrid to visit the art galleries this is a brilliant place tot stay. Located just a few minutes walk from the Reina Sofia, The Prado and the Thyssen-Bornemizsa. The hotel is also close to the train station so if you get the airport bus it drops you at Atocha and its a few minutes walk to the hotel.
The hotel itself was clean and modern. Our room was at the back so it was peaceful, but if your room was facing the road it may be noisy.
We didn't have breakfast included but there are so mnay places to eat within close poximity that this wasn't an issue.
The only downside would be the reception staff who seem quite unfriendly. When we checked on we felt they were quite rude.
On the whole though a good value hotel for a trip to Madrid.

Room Tip: rooms at the rear of the hotel are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VEEBAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angel A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Paseo del Arte, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest:

Many thanks for your great comments about our Hotel, it is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay in Madrid, thanks to our perfect location and great communications

We take good note about your appreciation about our front desk staff, and we will inform to our front desk manager as we work accurately to reach the standards of quality we desire for all our guests.

Also we appreciate that you chose the Hotel Husa Paseo del Arte for your stay in Madrid.

We look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

The good: great location. Few minutes to Retiro, museums and Atocha is across the road. You can walk to Puerta del Sol in ten minutes.
The bad: the service. We weren't asked about our stay when we checked out.
At breakfast the staff would start clearing up and setting up for lunch around you!
The rooms were ok but the TV more of a computer screen.
We got a good rate so feel it was value for money. (However we noticed a new hotel next door called something like 'cheap and chic' that also looked great value! )

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rafstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angel A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Paseo del Arte, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest:

Many thanks for your great comments about our Hotel, it is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay in Madrid and took the opportunity to enjoy this wonderful city, thanks to our perfect location and great communications.

We also take note of those points we can improve thanks to your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

To echoe many reviewers here, this chain hotel is a tidy modern base for exploring what we found to be a fairly average and uninspiring city - as far as capital cities go. its a 10 minute walk to a central square, from which most city centre locations can be explored from, including the most interesting to tourists - the 'old quarter' and the Palace. Its also just 5 minutes from the very useful Atocha station - but note, like most visitor interactions we had in Madrid, punctuality and quality of service at the station (buses and trains) were pretty random and chaotic.
Actual service from staff at the hotel was acceptable if a little short and brusk. The lobby was often busy with coach tourists and business people.
Our room was a little small, and very corporate - no real issues - a little plaina nd uninspired - Romantic this is not...
As far as value? for the price - around £70 a night, we were happy as we were so close to teh city centre, the parks and the museum. This is no frills - and charging for internet in 2012 is both tight and short sighted.
So in summary - like Madrid - it's merely 'okay' - for 2 nights, it'll do the job - and thats about as long as you need to see the highlights of this city....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chipmcdouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angel A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Paseo del Arte, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest:

Many thanks for your great comments about our Hotel, it is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay in Madrid and took the opportunity to enjoy this wonderful city, thanks to our perfect location and great communications.

We also take note of those points we can improve thanks to your feedback.

It is also a pleasure to inform you that we have reconsidered the wifi fee, and this service is now free for all our customers.

We look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Paseo del Prado
NH Madrid Nacional
NH Madrid Nacional
#85 of 435 in Madrid
476 reviews
Paseo del Prado
SLEEP'N Atocha
SLEEP'N Atocha
#69 of 435 in Madrid
511 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Mediodia
Hotel Mediodia
#200 of 435 in Madrid
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
AC Hotel Carlton Madrid
#152 of 435 in Madrid
1,260 reviews
Huertas
Urban Sea Atocha 113
Urban Sea Atocha 113
#197 of 435 in Madrid
335 reviews
Retiro
NH Madrid Atocha
NH Madrid Atocha
#134 of 435 in Madrid
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paseo del Arte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paseo del Arte

Property: Hotel Paseo del Arte
Address: Atocha 123, 28012 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Husa Paseo del Arte)
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Paseo del Prado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#90 Family Hotel in Madrid
#108 Business Hotel in Madrid
#118 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Paseo del Arte 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Paseo del Arte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Paseo Del Arte Hotel Madrid
Husa Paseo Del Arte Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing