We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect little boutique hotel, clean, quiet and central”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Petit Palace Plaza Espana
Ranked #110 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Dublin
1 review
“Perfect little boutique hotel, clean, quiet and central”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2010

This hotel is perfect for a few days break. Nice and central beside Santo Domingo metro stop - didn't need to get one taxi during 3 day stay. Free juice, tea, coffee and tasty hot choc in reception. Free bikes too. Rooms smallish but perfect for 2. Fab power shower and laptops in each room! Would recommend to anyone for such reasonable rates, loved Madrid!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mcdrois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    296
    114
    34
    23
See reviews for
222
233
23
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2009

The Petit Palace San Bernardo is an extremely modern and stylish hotel finished to a very high standard. It is situated just off the Gran Vía (Main Central Street) and 2 minutes from the nearest metro station. If you have stayed in a Petit Palace/High Tech Chain Hotel before then you'll know what to expect - spacious modern rooms with quirky interior designs and nice finishing touches (in this case: flat-screen T.V. and a large walk in shower with multi-jet function) I found the staff to be very helpful; recommending restaurants and sites, as well as pointing out the nearest outdoor public swimming pool. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would return to this hotel on my next trip to Madrid.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itsonlymark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
299 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2009

I have just spent 3 nights at the Petit Palace San Bernardo and whilst it is in a great location, the rooms are clean, the breakfast good I really don't think this is a 4 star hotel. It is one of the High Tech Hotels so has all the latest gadgets - the shower with the massage jets is a great idea as long as you don't mind having a completely wet bathroom floor after your shower. I had one with the jets for about 3 seconds as the water really does go everywhere - useless really.
I booked a double room and was dismayed to find two single beds together with the sheets firmly tucked in between the 2 - this is not a double bed as far as I am concerned. When questioned about it the staff replied that I had not booked a king room so do not get 1 bed for 2 people, but 2 beds - I'm sorry but if I want 2 beds I will ask for a twin room! This did not make for a very romantic stay in this hotel I'm afraid to say.
I did have one of the rooms at the rear of the hotel which was great as it was really very quiet at night so we had no problems with noise as you would have if on the street side.
Most of the staff was friendly, but definitely not all and I really feel as though a few more smiles from everyone would not go astray!
Breakfast was great although the hotel does have a problem with the fact that the breakfast area is not large enough for the number of people staying in the hotel, especially during the weekend and there were often queues for a table for breakfast - this is certainly not 4 star material.
Having said all of this I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the rooms, even though they are on the small side.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2009

This hotel is well placed to visit Madrid - just off the Gran Via. We took a taxi from the airport which cost 40 euros which is expensive for a 20 min journey. We took the Metro back (see below).

We were given a room on the front which was too noisy so we asked to move. The staff were very obliging and we were moved to a rear room which had a view of a tatty roof but it was very quiet. Our room was small but perfectly fine for a weekend break. The staff were friendly & helpful. The lap top in our room was useful. If you need any printing then you can use the computer in reception. There are juices & water in reception for guests to help themselves to.

The hotel is within easy walking distance of the Royal Palace & gardens, the Opera House, Plaza de Espana, Plaza Mayor, the Teleferico & parks. There are plenty of shops, bars etc in the area.
We took the MadridVision open top tour bus which costs 17 euros for the day (the bus runs until about 9pm). You can buy your tickets at hotel reception at no extra cost. The bus stop is right near the hotel - go out onto Gran Via and cross the road to KFC/McDonalds & the bus stops there.

We loved the Teleferico!! This is a cable car that gives you stunning views of Madrid. It's only open on Saturdays, Sundays & Bank Holidays from 12 noon. It costs about 5 euros for a return journey & takes about 25 mins. You can get off the cable car at one end and have a drink in the cafe or a walk in the park or you can just stay on for the return journey. Well worth a visit! You can easily walk to it from the hotel. Walk down Gran Via to the Plaza de Espana. Cross over the main road and keep walking right around the park (past the Temple relic). Keep right and continue along the edge of the park and you'll see the sign for the Teleferico and the steps down to it. Don't be put off by the long queue - there are lots of cable cars (seating 4 persons) and the queue moves along very quickly.

We took the Metro to the airport which was easy & cost 2 euros each. Walk to the Metro station at Plaza de Espana and take the blue number 10 line for Hospital or Tres Olivias. After about 4 stops get off at Nuevos Ministerios and change to the number 8 pink line which takes you straight to the airport terminal (it's about 4 stops). The journey takes about 30 mins and the ticket machines are in English. Failing that just follow every one else with suitcases!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2009

Just returned from a four night stay at the San Bernardo Hotel.The check in was very prompt,we got put on the 5th floor,our room was at the back of the hotel.When we opened the curtains we looked out onto a building site,this didn,t worry us at all because the builders started at 8am & finished at 5pm,so we were mainly out these times.It was very quiet during the night,the beds were comfy.it was very hot so the air con did a good job.The toilet doors are very funny translucent,but you can,t see thro them unless you had your face up to the glass,just shapes ha.The shower was excellent big hydro one,i had a shower twice a day i loved it,be aware it floods the bathroom a bit so put a towel down.The mini bar well stocked up but very pricey.The safe is in your room,you need a credit or debt card to open it,The location of this hotel is great,we spent a lot of time hopping on & off the tour bus its 17euros for one day each or 21euros for two days.There is a lot of beggers in the Gran Via by the hotel it is very sad but you have to ignore them.Please beware of the Gypsies,i was having a drink at an outside cafe with my daughter who is 24,when you order drinks you get a bowl of olives.One older lady with a scarf on approached my daughter,then two others stood at the side of me.They took a handful of olives each,didnt ask the older one got hold of my daughters hair pulling in whilst shoving olives in her mouth,this could of been a distratction as my bag was on the floor.I stood up grabed my bag & went to push this lady away from my daughter,they then ran off.It was a very upsetting experience as we were having a great time before this.Just be very careful as they approach you very quickly.Madrid is a great city & i will return again in the future & stay at the San Bernardo hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carolineLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2009

Stayed three days in July, 2009. Hotel was very close to nearest subway stop, just off a busy commercial area, close to many restaurants and stores. The reception staff all spoke English. Room and bed were very large, well equipped with a laptop in every room, great AC when the temperature was in the 90's outside. Great bathroom and freshly squeezed orange juice in the breakfast which was well worth the 10 euros per person because you could eat all that you wanted. Hotel was very clean and even though just off a very busy street (the Grand Via) it was very quiet at night.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fitgma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen
Malasana
Petit Palace Triball
Petit Palace Triball
#69 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Malasana
Hotel Vincci Via 66
Hotel Vincci Via 66
#121 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces Centro
Centro
Petit Palace Mayor
Petit Palace Mayor
#91 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Alcala
Petit Palace Alcala
#104 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Plaza Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Plaza Espana

Property: Petit Palace Plaza Espana
Address: Calle San Bernardo 3 | Corner of C/ Gran Vía, 53 and Plaza de Santo Domingo), 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Petit Palace Plaza Espana 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Petit Palace San Bernardo Royal Opera is located in the centre of the city, in an emblematic building in the well known “Santo Domingo” Plaza, next to the “Gran Via” – the main and most commercial street in Madrid. At just a few minutes away, the famous “Puerta del Sol” which is the centre point of the historic and monumental area of Madrid can be found and which is also good starting point to visit all the major tourist sights of the city.All the rooms in the hotel have been accommodated with the latest in technological advances, such as; laptops and free WIFI, hydro-massage showers, modern designer furniture, free safety boxes, flat screen TV’s with international channels to name but a few…Rooms are available with twin or double beds, for individual travellers or couples, and also for families or groups of friends in our exclusive “Family Rooms” with capacity of up to for people.Take advantage of our free coffee service and our two free internet points, found in the reception area, and our free bike rent to get to know the city in a unique and original way!Ask our friendly staff for advice on the best shopping and dining areas, and for reservations for local excursions and shows. Don’t hesitate to contact us if you are travelling with your pet or have any other special requests – we will do our best to assure that your stay is a pleasant and comfortable as possible! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Petit Palace Plaza Espana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace San Bernardo Hotel Madrid
Petit Palace San Bernardo Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing