We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4* comfort, little worn-out. Great shower watch privacy.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Petit Palace Plaza Espana
Ranked #113 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Best of this hotel: location and shower. The hotel is located in the (extended) center of Madrid, part of the historical area. No need to use public transportation to see the highlights. Bars, restaurants and shopping everywhere around. The bathroom is relatively large and offers a great shower experience.

We arrived late and were swiftly and friendly welcomed by the night clerk, after ringing the bell. As part of the registration form, that was given to us, we had to declare that the hotel could / would use and sell to third parties our personal data. Even the data that was collected through Expedia (and other online travel agencies) could / would be sold. Please be aware, don’t sign and return, you can opt-out.

Upon check-in you are asked how many devices you would like to connect to the Wi-Fi and you are given enough codes to open the Wi-Fi connection on every machine you bring. That is just great service! The Wi-Fi is free of charge and offered acceptable speed for browsing. Free Wi-Fi was one of the selection criteria when I selected this hotel and it worked out more than perfect.

You’ll carry your own suitcases to the room and can use an elevator to reach your assigned floor. Room 507 looks fine at first glance. However we found the laundry bag of a previous guest in the closet. Moreover two lights in the room, around the bed area, were broken. There was enough lighting left in the room to read however. Maintenance wise: the wallpaper and furniture in the room show that the room has been used intensively over the years. However the bathroom of a good size makes up or any of the inconveniences above. The shower is great: hand, head and side showers can work simultaneously with good pressure and any water you might spill quickly vaporizes from the heated floor tiles. Bathroom amenities like soap, body, shampoo, comb and shoeshine are arranged for use next to the washing basin. The towels are thick, bright and soft, come with the hotel name and resemble Egyptian cotton quality.


The room comes with a laptop at the working desk, however this is an XP operated, Centrino processor laptop. If the hotel cares to offer a computer they should offer a real one or take it out, nice perhaps a decade ago now it is only taking up space on the working desk. However the machine was connected with a Lan cable, did not try it myself but it might give you the benefits from wired internet? Inside the room there are plenty of free electricity sockets so you can charge all your devices at the same time. The laptop safe is big enough for 18’ widescreen devices, and the minibar has space left to put in some additional water you might bring from the street (the tapwater comes with a chloride taste). The street facing room, with French balcony style windows, was perfectly isolated from street noise. Blinding curtains block sunlight effectively into the room, air-condition and heating reacted exceptionally fast to user input.

Staff during the night is friendly and smiles every time you pass. The reception staff during the day seemed less attentive. Overall the maintenance of the building in general could be a little better, especially the furniture. Nothing major and surely acceptable considering the value level of a property in this location. Upon departure the bill was settled correctly, without hidden charges and luggage was stored secured, for free, until picked up.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JdK-70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded December 13, 2012

Dear guest,

We welcome your comments on tripadvisor and your confidence in High Tech Hotels. We are pleased that certain details of the hotel have met your expectations and that the hotel was to your liking. We want to communicate that we will work on the rest of details you described to improve our services.

Thanks again. We hope to welcome you again, where we will strive to ensure that everything is to your liking.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (795)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 795 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for a few days when my regular hotel was fully booked. To be honest, it felt more like a motel you'd find by a motorway that'd let you sleep and continue your journey the next day. Service was average and so were the rooms. The location though is perfect - Calle San Bernardo is just off of the famous Gran Via. If you're looking simply for a place to sleep than you won't be disappointed. However, if you're planning to spend some time in your room (e.g. are a business traveller), I'd go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WojciechWit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 25, 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing High Tech Hotels and sending your feedback. We would like to inform you that we take note of each and every guest´s observations, complaints, suggestions and comments always with the aim of improving.
It would give me great pleasure if you would give us the opportunity to recover your confidence in our hotel and company.
Warmest regards.
Eva Garcia Soltero
Directora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Cheap and cheerful hotel! Basic rooms, but for the price what more would you want? Nice comfy beds and a good strong shower. The rooms were clean and fresh.

The room at the front was quite noisy, but it's no problem unless you are a light sleeper. It's nothing earplugs cannot sort

I would stay here again and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eilidh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 7, 2012

Dear guest

Thanks to inform to our staff and to Tripadvisor user´s about your stay and experience in Petit Palace San Bernardo
Remind you we have other hotels with the same good location in Barcelona, Valencia, Málaga, Sevilla, Salamanca, Bilbao, Getxo, and as you know here in Madrid
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the in room laptop was of help to you.
We do hope you find the time to return to Madrid and stay with us again, you will be very welcome!
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and would like to let you know you will always be welcome to come back.
Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Extremely good location in the heart of old Madrid, near Plaza Mayor, Opera etc. We stayed for a week in October and were very happy with this hotel. Our room was completely quiet at all times despite the traffic on San Bernardo. This hotel is a member of the HighTech Hotels, in this case meaning free computer and internet access and some contemporary decoration. The bathroom was newly renovated with black tiles, glass and stainless steel massage shower.
We had breakfast included which turned out to be a good choice; the buffet was of high quality with fresh orange juice and a variety of ham/cheese/fruit/bread etc. There are plenty of breakfast places around the hotel but the prices are pretty high and would not beat what we paid. Staff was very friendly.Overall this hotel gave very good value for the money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mats K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 7, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing High Tech Hotels and sending your comments and feedback. We are pleased to know that your stay with us met your expectations and that you were especially satisfied with our location, facilities and breakfast service. We will pass along your congratulations to the entire hotel staff. That you had a good experience with us is our greatest satisfaction and what motivates us to continue working hard so that our guest´s stay will be pleasant and enjoyable.
Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Visited with a friend for a weekend city break in September. Location is perfect to access most of Madrid, we didn't use the metro. Taxi from the airport was a little expensive but saved on the time and convenience. Now I know where it's based I will use the metro again.

Make use of the city tour bus - you'll get your bearings straight away !

Despite visiting during the violent protests in Madrid that weekend, my friend and I felt safe and had no worries wondering around the main parts. In fact we didn't see or hear any of the protests reported on the news the next day. Unlike Barcelona and it's annoying pick pockets I didn't notice anything as extreme as that city.

The only thing I would say is that the bathroom is a little exposed behind glass doors - you'll have to be good friends before or if not after your trip !

Room was cosy, but we weren't there to stay in the hotel but to see the sights of Madrid. We were supposed to be a party of 3 so may have been a little squashed but we would've survived. Like the bottle of wine on arrival - nice touch.

I would come back and stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Relaxed_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 12, 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing Hight Tech Hotels and sending your feedback. We are pleased to know that your stay with us met your expectations and that our location, room size and bath items were all to your liking. We will pass along your praise to the entire hotel staff. That you had a good experience with us is our greatest satisfaction and what we work for every day.
we would like to inform you that we take note of each and every guest´s observations, complaints, suggestions and comments always with the aim of improving.
We regret, however, that certain details were not entirely to your liking. With this in mind we would like to inform you that we take note of each and every guest´s observations, complaints, suggestions and comments always with the aim of improving.
Ultimately, we work to please our guests and their opinions are what always guide us in doing so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

GREAT LOCATION

This hotel, at one block of the “Gran Via” street, has a great location.
There is one hop-on hop-off stop at “Grand Via” one block from the intersection between the hotel street and “Grand Via”. Located a few meters from San Domingo metro station and there are many restaurants and snack bar´s nearby.
We can go to a supermarket at underground of the “El Corte Ingles” department store. There is a self laundry (named: ONDA) following the same street, crossing “Grand Via” and turn right on the second block.
We stay six nights and the rooms have a lap top connected to internet.
The hotel isn´t a 4 * but I recommend it for the gentility of the employees and location.
Trapsatur Travel Agency is beside the hotel, selling packages tours to Africa & Europe.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrazilCristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 7, 2012

Dear guest;

Thanks to inform to our staff and to Tripadvisor user´s about your stay and experience in Petit Palace San Bernardo
First of all, we are sorry about the inconveniences during your stay. Thank you for your comments; they help us to improve every day.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the in room laptop was of help to you.
We do hope you find the time to return to Madrid and stay with us again, you will be very welcome!
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and would like to let you know you will always be welcome to come back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We were unsure of where to stay when we decided to book Madrid.

In the end we booked ourselves into the San Bernardo and overall we were very happy!

Firstly the negatives, we had booked the hotel back in May and had requested a King Bed when we arrived they said they didn't have any but only twin pushed together, I did explain we had booked a King, the lady at reception said have a look at the current room and if not happy then she would put us into a room that had a King. In the end we stayed in the room they gave us as just didn't see point of moving around as we were only there for 4 days and price we paid back in May was same price for double or King. However if you really want a King just make sure you email them before you arrive to make sure it is a King bed!

The rooms do not have any teas/coffee facilities - we weren't too bothered as out having this

The room could have been in better condition - part of the ceiling vent was falling off and it didn't look pretty, the shower water does get everywhere when showering and it also hits the ceiling so some of the paint on the ceiling is peeling off.

Now the Pros

Fab location! Was close to everything, Metro was a minutes walk to places further a field otherwise could just walk to most of Centro in 5-10mins

Room has a laptop and free internet which was great when researching on places to go.

Cafes, restaurants walking distances from hotel which offered Tapas and Paella at very good prices. Cheaper than town and in my opinion sometimes better quality!

Staff were helpful as needed help in booking flamenco and they did this for us over the phone. Got good seats too!

In all I would recommend the hotel, yes rooms are not quite 4 star but you are not in your rooms 24/7, for us location was more important and this hotel provided it.
If you are expecting a 4 star hotel then this isn't right for you.

Room Tip: Book away from the service lists and away from front of hotel as it can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerT88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSanBernardo, Gerente at Petit Palace Plaza Espana, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in Madrid and also for using your time writing your comments. They always help us to improve.

We will keep in mind your comments and we will work harder to improve our hotel facilities.

It is nice to heard good comments about the staff as our reason is to make you feel as at home.

Thanks again for your time.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol
Centro
Hotel Mayorazgo
Hotel Mayorazgo
#166 of 440 in Madrid
2,059 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza Mayor
Petit Palace Plaza Mayor
#91 of 440 in Madrid
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Emperador Hotel Madrid
Emperador Hotel Madrid
#142 of 440 in Madrid
2,332 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Alcala
Petit Palace Alcala
#108 of 440 in Madrid
815 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Plaza Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Plaza Espana

Address: Calle San Bernardo 3 | Corner of C/ Gran Vía, 53 and Plaza de Santo Domingo), 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range: $100 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Petit Palace Plaza Espana 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Petit Palace San Bernardo Royal Opera is located in the centre of the city, in an emblematic building in the well known “Santo Domingo” Plaza, next to the “Gran Via” – the main and most commercial street in Madrid. At just a few minutes away, the famous “Puerta del Sol” which is the centre point of the historic and monumental area of Madrid can be found and which is also good starting point to visit all the major tourist sights of the city.All the rooms in the hotel have been accommodated with the latest in technological advances, such as; laptops and free WIFI, hydro-massage showers, modern designer furniture, free safety boxes, flat screen TV’s with international channels to name but a few…Rooms are available with twin or double beds, for individual travellers or couples, and also for families or groups of friends in our exclusive “Family Rooms” with capacity of up to for people.Take advantage of our free coffee service and our two free internet points, found in the reception area, and our free bike rent to get to know the city in a unique and original way!Ask our friendly staff for advice on the best shopping and dining areas, and for reservations for local excursions and shows. Don’t hesitate to contact us if you are travelling with your pet or have any other special requests – we will do our best to assure that your stay is a pleasant and comfortable as possible! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Petit Palace Plaza Espana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace San Bernardo Hotel Madrid
Petit Palace San Bernardo Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing