We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Petit Palace Plaza Espana
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Rex(Madrid)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hostal Gala(Madrid)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Preciados(Madrid)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (853)
Filter reviews
853 results
Traveler rating
275
376
139
38
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
275
376
139
38
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssanto domingo metro stationgreat locationfamily roomnice hotelgreat showerrecommend this hotelweekend breaktwo single bedsroom servicewalking distancelovely roomtourist attractionsper daythe ground floorquiet at nightfree wifigood size
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
173 - 178 of 853 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We were unsure of where to stay when we decided to book Madrid.

In the end we booked ourselves into the San Bernardo and overall we were very happy!

Firstly the negatives, we had booked the hotel back in May and had requested a King Bed when we arrived they said they didn't have any but only twin pushed together, I did explain we had booked a King, the lady at reception said have a look at the current room and if not happy then she would put us into a room that had a King. In the end we stayed in the room they gave us as just didn't see point of moving around as we were only there for 4 days and price we paid back in May was same price for double or King. However if you really want a King just make sure you email them before you arrive to make sure it is a King bed!

The rooms do not have any teas/coffee facilities - we weren't too bothered as out having this

The room could have been in better condition - part of the ceiling vent was falling off and it didn't look pretty, the shower water does get everywhere when showering and it also hits the ceiling so some of the paint on the ceiling is peeling off.

Now the Pros

Fab location! Was close to everything, Metro was a minutes walk to places further a field otherwise could just walk to most of Centro in 5-10mins

Room has a laptop and free internet which was great when researching on places to go.

Cafes, restaurants walking distances from hotel which offered Tapas and Paella at very good prices. Cheaper than town and in my opinion sometimes better quality!

Staff were helpful as needed help in booking flamenco and they did this for us over the phone. Got good seats too!

In all I would recommend the hotel, yes rooms are not quite 4 star but you are not in your rooms 24/7, for us location was more important and this hotel provided it.
If you are expecting a 4 star hotel then this isn't right for you.

Room Tip: Book away from the service lists and away from front of hotel as it can be noisy.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerT88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSanBernardo, Gerente at Petit Palace Plaza Espana, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in Madrid and also for using your time writing your comments. They always help us to improve.

We will keep in mind your comments and we will work harder to improve our hotel facilities.

It is nice to heard good comments about the staff as our reason is to make you feel as at home.

Thanks again for your time.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in September 2012. Do not think it should be classed as a 4*, a 3 at the most.

The staff were very pleasant and helpful and the location is excellent as you can walk everywhere and it is almost next to the Metro.

The rooms are very small, just room for the bed and not big enough for 2 adults to move around comfortably. Room also a bit shabby, neading a bit of a spruce up. The bathroom and shower were fine, but a lack of the toiletries one is usually offered in a 4* Hotel. The reception and seating area are very small also.

Overall OK, convenient, but not luxury

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSanBernardo, Gerente at Petit Palace Plaza Espana, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Guest;

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in Madrid and I would like to thank you also for your feedback about the hotel in Tripadvisor. It is important for us to received costumer´s comments to improve day by day our services and being able to know what the guest thinks about us, knowing that way our weak points to solve them, so once again thank you for your time.

We are now working with our Housekeeping department in our amenities , trying to increase them according to the cathegory and the standards.

We hope we can welcome you again in the future so feel free to contact us anything you may need.

kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management response:Responded December 19, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed at this hotel over the weekend of 2-6 August. We found that the hotel was extremely clean, the rooms were quiet and the staff were really helpful and friendly. The breakfast was continental buffet style, but definitely worth getting up for. It was obviously the same every day, but there was a wide enough choice to have something different on all of the mornings that we ate (we missed one!). Can't understand why it was not worthy of a 4 star, there didn't seem to be anything missing. it is a 10 minute walk to the Gran Via and Sol square, a further 5 minutes walk to Plaza Mayor. There are plenty of good bars and restaurants close to the hotel, and it is approx 1 minute walk from the metro. We found it good value for money.

Room Tip: Our room was to the side of the hotel which was quiet at all times
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bertysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded December 19, 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all, thanks for your comments on Tripadvisor, because it helps us to improve our services and also others guests can be aware of them. Thank you for your kind words, we work to ensure that our guests feel like at home.

We hope to see you soon,
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The front desk clerk was very efficient and friendly. He went out of his way to make our stay there very comfortable. Our bathroom was very spacious and modern. The room was big and well kept. It's got a perfect location right off the Gran Via.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gardenbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSanBernardo, Gerente at Petit Palace Plaza Espana, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Dear guest,

I would firstly like to thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in Madrid and also for taking the time to write about your experience with us.
We will take into consideration your comments to help us to improve our services.
I am glad to know we have fulfil your expectations and that you have a positive experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you in the future, so please, do not hesitate to contact me for anything you may need.

Yours sincerely
Eva García

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews