We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Petit Palace Plaza Espana
Nearby Hotels
Catalonia Las Cortes(Madrid)
$230
$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel(Madrid)
$124
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Melia Castilla(Madrid)
$172
$146
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ayre Gran Hotel Colon(Madrid)
$152
$98
Ayre Hoteles
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Madrid Calle Alcala(Madrid)(Great Value!)
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
ILUNION Alcala Norte(Madrid)(Great Value!)
$73
$62
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Tryp Madrid Cibeles Hotel(Madrid)
$225
$112
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
ILUNION Atrium(Madrid)(Great Value!)
$91
$72
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Tryp Madrid Chamartin(Madrid)(Great Value!)
$137
$69
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Nuevo Madrid(Madrid)(Great Value!)
$64
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (855)
Filter reviews
855 results
Traveler rating
277
376
139
38
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
277
376
139
38
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssanto domingo metro stationgreat locationfamily roomnice hotelgreat showerrecommend this hotelweekend breaktwo single bedsroom servicewalking distancelovely roomtourist attractionsper daythe ground floorquiet at nightfree wifigood size
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
178 - 183 of 855 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2012

My initial thoughts of this hotel were, 'disappointing'. I wonder how the Spanish rating system works, as the 4* hotel I stayed in Barcelona far surpassed this hotel. I would put this hotel as a low 3*. The rooms were small. Nasty stain on our carpet. Not much storage space (which was fine as we were only there for 4 nights, but any longer would have proved a problem). The false ceiling tiles jumped up everytime the door opened or closed, then dropped with a bang, we were told not to worry about that! The beds were comfortable. The shower was a troublesome to say the least, every which way you tried, you managed to douse the bathroom floor with gallons of water. Our towels were generally used for mopping the floor, as opposed to drying ourselves! Although in the middle of the City, the room was quiet and sleep came easily. The Hotel was extremely well placed in the Centre of the City, meaning everywhere was easily accessible. All Spanish speaking staff, so my Spanish vocabulary was required!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 99wallaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSanBernardo, Gerente at Petit Palace Plaza Espana, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear guest,


First of all thank you for your comments.

we will like to apologices for the incoveniences caused during you stay, we are sorry we could not make your stay as satisfactory as we would like. We are working hard to improve all our services and facilities, we hope you will choose the hotel in a future and your experience with us will be possitive.

Please, do not hesitate to contact us if you decide to came to Madrid.

Yours sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in June 2012. Small, functional hotel in excellent position. Good, varied breakfast. Very helpful, friendly staff. Rooms not flash but adequate with comfy beds and good shower. Only problem was glass door on bathroom with no lock but if you are traveling with someone who you know VERY well, no problem. Main plus point is the location as you can walk to main attractions,shops, restaurant and bars. Market close by. Good for city break.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank Handbaglady51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 24, 2012

Dear Guest;
Thanks to inform to our staff and to Tripadvisor user´s about your stay and experience in Petit Palace San Bernardo hotel in Madrid.
Remind you we have other hotels with the same good location in Barcelona, Valencia, Málaga, Sevilla, Salamanca, Bilbao, Getxo, and as you know here in Madrid and that we have in each place in all the hotels computer service and Free Wifi, Triple, Quadruple or Quintuple rooms (for family or friends) .

We are looking forward to welcoming you in the future.
Best Regards
Gema
Manager
Petit Palace San Bernardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

i've stayed in this hotel twice. great location, very central yet not very noisy. the rooms are large with trendy look. staff is warm.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSanBernardo, Gerente at Petit Palace Plaza Espana, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Dear Daniel;
Thanks to choose always Petit Palace San Bernardo for your stays in Madrid, and to inform to Tripadvisor´s users of your experience here.
We are looking forward to welcoming you in the future.

Best Regards
Gema

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

location 10 points
staff 10 points

only drawback is that you have one mirror only in the bathroom no long mirror by the wardrobe or by the tv. it was very anoying as we were 3 girls in one room :-) trying to do your make up in one mirror is a nightmare :-)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank ERIKA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSanBernardo, Gerente at Petit Palace Plaza Espana, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Dear Guest;
I would like to thank you to have choosen Petit Palace San Bernardo for your stay in Madrid, and to inform to Tripadvisor users of your experience with us. It´s a pleasure to know you enjoyed your stay. Inform you we are working to improve our services and we are studing the posibility to buy long mirrors for the rooms, thanks for your recommendation! :)
We wish to remind you we have hotels in all Spain in the main locations as Barcelona-Valencia-Sevilla-Málaga-Salamanca-Bilbao-Getxo we hope to welcoming you soon in our hotels.
Best Regards
Gema de Tera
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

As part of our Europe trip in May '09 we stayed here for a couple of nights. We got into the main train station and then took the Metro to the Santo Domingo stop. We were a little turned around at first so we actually wound up walking the Gran Via and after we figured out we needed to head in the other direction, we finally found the hotel. The first thing that stuck out was the large trash containers up front. There was construction debris in them and when I saw the plastic on the floor, I knew what we were in for. The price we got should have also been an indicator, but since I'm a morning person, I figured this wouldn't be a problem. It wound up being more of an issue for my buddy than me. When we checked in we asked about it and they told us what time we could expect noise, but it wound up being earlier.

From what we saw, the changes were going in a good direction. The lobby was nice and contemporary in style. The person who checked us in was nice and professional. We wound up getting one of the newer rooms, so for the price we were happy. Even the new hallways were pretty cool. The room itself was nice and large with 2 twin size comfy beds, a large dresser/armoire/closet IKEA looking thing, desk with chair, and flat screen TV. The whole decor was in a contemporary style, even the bathroom, which was nice and large. The shower was pretty cool since it was a full body wall spray system. Our room was on the 3rd floor and faced the street, so the construction noise in the morning was noticeable.

If not for that construction noise, I would have easily given this place a 'Very Good' rating. Maybe next time we visit Madrid we'll see how things worked out.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beenaround73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSanBernardo, Gerente at Petit Palace Plaza Espana, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Dear Guest;
It´s a a pleasure to receive your feedback about your stay in Petit Palace San Bernardo, it´s too important because your comments help us to improve our services and you can show to the tripadvisor´s users your opinion about your stay and our hotel.
Inform you we are working to improve our services, we have now computer services in all the rooms with free connection to internet, we have Free Wifi as well in all the hotel, we admite pets in room and we have also rooms suitables for familys or friends (up to 4 or 5 people), and we offer bycicles for free to our guests! (subject to availability) and we offer a style Room Service (limited) with a great vaiety.
Anyway we always must improve our services.
We hope to welcoming you in the future.
Thanks again for all.
Best Regards
Gemma de Tera
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews