We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 ladies in Madrid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Petit Palace Plaza Espana
Ranked #109 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
cheshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“3 ladies in Madrid”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in June 2012. Small, functional hotel in excellent position. Good, varied breakfast. Very helpful, friendly staff. Rooms not flash but adequate with comfy beds and good shower. Only problem was glass door on bathroom with no lock but if you are traveling with someone who you know VERY well, no problem. Main plus point is the location as you can walk to main attractions,shops, restaurant and bars. Market close by. Good for city break.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Handbaglady51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Petit Palace Plaza Espana, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Dear Guest;
Thanks to inform to our staff and to Tripadvisor user´s about your stay and experience in Petit Palace San Bernardo hotel in Madrid.
Remind you we have other hotels with the same good location in Barcelona, Valencia, Málaga, Sevilla, Salamanca, Bilbao, Getxo, and as you know here in Madrid and that we have in each place in all the hotels computer service and Free Wifi, Triple, Quadruple or Quintuple rooms (for family or friends) .

We are looking forward to welcoming you in the future.
Best Regards
Gema
Manager
Petit Palace San Bernardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    312
    117
    34
    23
See reviews for
239
239
23
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
99 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

i've stayed in this hotel twice. great location, very central yet not very noisy. the rooms are large with trendy look. staff is warm.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSanBernardo, Gerente at Petit Palace Plaza Espana, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear Daniel;
Thanks to choose always Petit Palace San Bernardo for your stays in Madrid, and to inform to Tripadvisor´s users of your experience here.
We are looking forward to welcoming you in the future.

Best Regards
Gema
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

location 10 points
staff 10 points

only drawback is that you have one mirror only in the bathroom no long mirror by the wardrobe or by the tv. it was very anoying as we were 3 girls in one room :-) trying to do your make up in one mirror is a nightmare :-)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank ERIKA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSanBernardo, Gerente at Petit Palace Plaza Espana, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Dear Guest;
I would like to thank you to have choosen Petit Palace San Bernardo for your stay in Madrid, and to inform to Tripadvisor users of your experience with us. It´s a pleasure to know you enjoyed your stay. Inform you we are working to improve our services and we are studing the posibility to buy long mirrors for the rooms, thanks for your recommendation! :)
We wish to remind you we have hotels in all Spain in the main locations as Barcelona-Valencia-Sevilla-Málaga-Salamanca-Bilbao-Getxo we hope to welcoming you soon in our hotels.
Best Regards
Gema de Tera
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
119 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

As part of our Europe trip in May '09 we stayed here for a couple of nights. We got into the main train station and then took the Metro to the Santo Domingo stop. We were a little turned around at first so we actually wound up walking the Gran Via and after we figured out we needed to head in the other direction, we finally found the hotel. The first thing that stuck out was the large trash containers up front. There was construction debris in them and when I saw the plastic on the floor, I knew what we were in for. The price we got should have also been an indicator, but since I'm a morning person, I figured this wouldn't be a problem. It wound up being more of an issue for my buddy than me. When we checked in we asked about it and they told us what time we could expect noise, but it wound up being earlier.

From what we saw, the changes were going in a good direction. The lobby was nice and contemporary in style. The person who checked us in was nice and professional. We wound up getting one of the newer rooms, so for the price we were happy. Even the new hallways were pretty cool. The room itself was nice and large with 2 twin size comfy beds, a large dresser/armoire/closet IKEA looking thing, desk with chair, and flat screen TV. The whole decor was in a contemporary style, even the bathroom, which was nice and large. The shower was pretty cool since it was a full body wall spray system. Our room was on the 3rd floor and faced the street, so the construction noise in the morning was noticeable.

If not for that construction noise, I would have easily given this place a 'Very Good' rating. Maybe next time we visit Madrid we'll see how things worked out.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beenaround73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSanBernardo, Gerente at Petit Palace Plaza Espana, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Dear Guest;
It´s a a pleasure to receive your feedback about your stay in Petit Palace San Bernardo, it´s too important because your comments help us to improve our services and you can show to the tripadvisor´s users your opinion about your stay and our hotel.
Inform you we are working to improve our services, we have now computer services in all the rooms with free connection to internet, we have Free Wifi as well in all the hotel, we admite pets in room and we have also rooms suitables for familys or friends (up to 4 or 5 people), and we offer bycicles for free to our guests! (subject to availability) and we offer a style Room Service (limited) with a great vaiety.
Anyway we always must improve our services.
We hope to welcoming you in the future.
Thanks again for all.
Best Regards
Gemma de Tera
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Although the reception staff were particularly friendly and helpful, and the hotel was conveniently located off gran via, it didnt really suit me. I regularly visit Madrid, and usually try to stay in a 4 star hotel. However this didnt really feel like a 4 star. The decor was rather tired and utilitarian and to be honest a bit grim - everywhere was a shade of grey, or black, which was quite depressing, almost nightmarish. The facilities weren't really 4 star, Rooms were basic and lacking the small touches usually available in a 4 star hotel. The in room lap top - which was why i booked the hotel - was also past its prime, without the basic programmes, and rather erratic.

There was nothing to complain about - it was simply a disappointment. I stress again that the staff were very good - it was the hotel which was a let down. There are so many good hotels to choose from in the city, and it's such a lovely city to visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank someplacenice12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSanBernardo, Gerente at Petit Palace Plaza Espana, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Dear Guest;

I would like to thank you sincerely for your kind words of our staff, I will report them about your good reviews , I´m sure this will motivate them and feel happy, i would like to thank you also about your comments to Tripadvisor users and (staff users), your comments are too important for us to improve our services and to have choosen Petit Palace San Bernardo Hotel in Madrid, and apologize if your stay wasn´t all pleasant we wish. Only our company offer free computer service in all the rooms and free wifi, by the other hand I understand our modern interior design does not like everyone.
Anyway, again thanks for your comments . Remid you we have different kind of our hotels than are distributed in Madrid-Barcelona-Sevilla-Valencia-Málaga- Salamanca- Bilbao-Getxo
I hope to welcoming you in the future.
Best Regards
Gemma de Tera
Manager
Petit Palace San Bernardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benidorm
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

The hotel is in a great location but not as good as i expected not really 4*.
The laptop in the room was a great addition.
We had a lovely stay in Madrid and the was certainly helped by the central location of the hotel.
The modern rooms were spoilt by the ultra modern gadgets, too many lights near the bed and very little light.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank magnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSanBernardo, Manager at Petit Palace Plaza Espana, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Dear Guest;

We would like to thank you to have choosen Petit Palace San Bernardo for your stay in Madrid and to inform the Tripadvisor users of your experience here.
Your comments are very important for us to improve our services and I would like to apologize if your stay wasn´t all satisfactory we wish.
Remind you we have hotels in Spain in Sevilla-Malaga-Barcelona-Valencia-Bilbao-Getxo and Salamanca.
Best Regards
Gema de Tera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
82 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We stayed here on a short city break and found the staff on reception were friendly but had limited English. Our room was very modern however the space was not utilised to its maximum potential, as the dressing table/desk was squashed against the bed. The bathroom had a frosted glass door which was not very private and it also would not close tightly. The shower had additional shower jets in the wall, however the lack of door on the walk in shower meant the water would splash out into the bathroom.
The location was great as it was handy for the metro and several bars and restaurants. It was a short walk to the main shopping area. There were tour buses around the city at a reasonable price with plug in earphones in different languages.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockandrose21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Petit Palace Triball
Petit Palace Triball
#72 of 436 in Madrid
729 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Petit Palace Mayor
Petit Palace Mayor
#98 of 436 in Madrid
904 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol
Centro
Petit Palace Alcala
Petit Palace Alcala
#105 of 436 in Madrid
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Plaza Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Plaza Espana

Property: Petit Palace Plaza Espana
Address: Calle San Bernardo 3 | Corner of C/ Gran Vía, 53 and Plaza de Santo Domingo), 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Petit Palace Plaza Espana 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Petit Palace San Bernardo Royal Opera is located in the centre of the city, in an emblematic building in the well known “Santo Domingo” Plaza, next to the “Gran Via” – the main and most commercial street in Madrid. At just a few minutes away, the famous “Puerta del Sol” which is the centre point of the historic and monumental area of Madrid can be found and which is also good starting point to visit all the major tourist sights of the city.All the rooms in the hotel have been accommodated with the latest in technological advances, such as; laptops and free WIFI, hydro-massage showers, modern designer furniture, free safety boxes, flat screen TV’s with international channels to name but a few…Rooms are available with twin or double beds, for individual travellers or couples, and also for families or groups of friends in our exclusive “Family Rooms” with capacity of up to for people.Take advantage of our free coffee service and our two free internet points, found in the reception area, and our free bike rent to get to know the city in a unique and original way!Ask our friendly staff for advice on the best shopping and dining areas, and for reservations for local excursions and shows. Don’t hesitate to contact us if you are travelling with your pet or have any other special requests – we will do our best to assure that your stay is a pleasant and comfortable as possible! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Petit Palace Plaza Espana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace San Bernardo Hotel Madrid
Petit Palace San Bernardo Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing