We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky decor in downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Ranked #45 of 441 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This modern, funkily decorated hotel is in the heart of Madrid on Plaza Santa Ana. It is walking distance to most sights.The rooms are in bright colours and ours featured a huge glass window (full-length) onto the Plaza, which made it feel like we were sitting above the Plaza. A great feature is a free device that gives you WiFi all over town. The personell were all really helpful and friendly and efficient. Definitely a recommendable hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the plaza, though of course these may cost more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fourwanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Fourwanderers

Thank you very much for your words and for sharing your opinion with other travellers!
We are so glad you have enjoyed you stay in Alicia
We look forward to welcoming you in the early future!

Best regards from all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 1,321 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

The hotel was in a perfect location. Modern hotel but a tight squeeze all around. Our room was nice but the carpet rather grungy but the room was clean. We didn't spend much time in our room so it was not a problem. The breakfast was served next door and was good. If just me and my husband we would stay again but somewhere else with our children.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed here for a week and took the advice of other reviewers to pay for the larger corner room/junior suite - well worth the extra. We had plenty space and a great view over the square. You could lie in bed and watch what was happening although best to keep the light out or the neighbouring buildings have a view of you! The room was comfortable and had a large bath which took a long time to fill but once it did, a great soak after a day pounding the pavements of Madrid.

The location could not have been better - the museum triangle was a 10/15 minute walk in one direction while the palace and cathedral were a similar distance in the other. The square itself had a couple of decent places to eat and the fancier restaurants we booked were all walkable, as was the shopping area north of Park Retiro.

The hotel restaurant is being redone so breakfast was at another hotel a couple of blocks down the street. We were right above the restaurant and had a little workman noise quite early one morning but when we complained they ensured it didn't happen again. Ask for a room higher up if you're concerned.

The staff were very helpful and friendly - most seemed to speak pretty good English. We liked the free wifi gadget which allowed us to use our mobiles for internet around the city. Also free wifi in the hotel and apparently in Plaza Santa Ana, the square outside. We would stay here again very happily.

Room Tip: Junior Suite worth every penny for space and view (and bath).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lhenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear lhenni,

It is a perfect opinion! thank you so much for sharing with other travellers! and I have to tell that you are really good knowledgeable of the city! (was not your first time ;) and we hope will not the last!)
We really hope you have enjoyed your stay with us
It will be a pleasure if we can welcome you in a future!

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Our room was very comfortable, with one of the best wifi connections we have had in a hotel, The staff were courteous and helpful, arranging taxis to and from airport. A problem with our original allocated room was swiftly and professionally dealt with and we were moved to another room. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Gillian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Gillian F,

Thank you so much for your opinion!
We really hope you have enjoyed your visit to Madrid and your stay with us!
it will be a huge pleasure to welcome you again in a future!

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

When we arrived at Mate Alicia, we were given room 106 which was very nice but we asked about a room on a higher floor. None was available at the time. After 3 nights we left to go down south for a week. Upon leaving, we asked if we would be better off booking through hotels.com or through them directly. The manager said to contact her directly and she would be able to give us a better price. Prior to returning, we contacted Room Alicia to book a room for our retun in Madrid. They gave us a suite on a higher floor - a clear upgrade at a lower price than we had paid initially since we were "special guests." They also included breakfast for free. They made us feel very welcome and we really enjoyed the room which had a downstairs living room and outdoor patio and an upstairs bedroom and bathroom. It was like an apartment and had many windows overlooking Santa Ana square. We will definitely return to Alicia on our return trips to Madrid.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 68Margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear 68Margaret
First I would like to thank you so much for take your time in write an opinion about your two stays!
It is a pleasure to know you have enjoyed your visit to Spain (Madrid & Sevilla!) and we really hope you feel double welcome :) Perhaps we will welcome you again soon!
Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff. The rooms where clean and had a cool design. The floor was a bit old, but clean. The location was fantastic, we could walk to restaurants, museu reina sofia and museu del prado. There are also metro stations close.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Nicole H

Thank you so much for your opinion!
We really hope you have enjoyed your visit.
We look forward to welcoming you in the early future!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#14 of 441 in Madrid
1,755 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#42 of 441 in Madrid
1,965 reviews
Huertas
ME BY MELIA MADRID Reina Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#65 of 441 in Madrid
1,794 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#8 of 441 in Madrid
1,636 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Room Mate Alicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Room Mate Alicia

Address: Calle Prado 2, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#36 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $86 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Room Mate Alicia 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Room Mate Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Room Mate Alicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Alicia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing