We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Ranked #48 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Mosta, Malta
Level Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The hotel is situated in a good location & centralised. Minutes away from Plaza Mayor & other historical places. Our room faced Plaza St Ana & we had an enjoyable stay. All receptionists speaks English & were very cordial at all times. Madrid is a beautiful city but unfortunately it was filthy last week cause there was an industrial action re garbage collection & the local government cared less to provide emergency services.
I recommend to use the airport transfers, very reliable & affordable.

Room Tip: Our room was in level 2 & no complaints whatsoever,my only concern was that needs some maintenan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray_Zammit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Ray_Zammit

We would like to thank you for your opinion about your stay in our hotel.
It's a shame that your stay coincided with the strike of cleaning.
We hope anyway that you have enjoyed the city.
It is a pleasure if you decide to come back in a future. We will wait for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    456
    91
    21
    9
See reviews for
106
741
72
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This was our first visit to Madrid and we stayed at Alicia twice during our stay in Spain in 2012. We stayed 4 nights at the start and 2 nights at the end of our holiday. We had an executive room with a spacious terrace which overlooked Plaza Santa Ana.

The room was modern, very clean, stylish and well-fitted with a separate bathroom; and although not a huge room, was perfect for a couple. The enormous terrace was great for relaxing outdoors. The bed was very comfortable and and we slept very well as the room was well insulated against noise and light.

The location is central to everything and we didn't use taxis at all during our stay in Madrid. It's within walking distance of most inner-city attractions and very close to major museums and galleries. The Prado is less than a 10 minute walk away and similar distance to Plaza Mayor and Puerta del Sol.

Santa Ana Plaza is full of bars and restaurants if you don't feel like going further away to dine. We loved the Miau Restauarant in the square and very close to the hotel; great food and helpful staff who were happy to help us navigate the menu.

The staff at Alicia spoke English and were always helpful with advice and directions. I would particularly like to thank the staff for organising an English speaking, experienced doctor to visit my husband in the hotel. They did this at short notice and without any problems; they were great.

They also looked after our spare luggage for two weeks until we returned to the hotel after our travels around Spain. We loved this friendly little hotel and its staff and will definately stay there again.

Danielle

Room Tip: Choose an executive room if you're not sure about the 'in-room' shower and also if you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Danielle

Wow! I think I am quite overwelmed whith this review...

We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and most of all, glad you felt the Room Mate vibe that we always try to make our guests feel.

We do wish to see you again in the future and send you our kindest regards.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Modern and stylish hotel on Plaza Santa Ana offers well fitted rooms , perhaps on the small side.Great shower with room for 2 if that's your thing.The location could not really be better as there is very little traffic in these narrow streets ( but plenty of people all day and most of the night). Restaurants, bars , the main museums ,shops etc all within easy walking distance.Metro stops at Sol and Anton Martin both within about 5 mins. Terrific hot and cold buffet breakfast available up to midday. Overall good value for money and well recommended, I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are more likely to be quieter as they are set back and do not suffer from street noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Westernroadtripper20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Westernroadtripper20

Thank you for taking your time writing this review and for sharing your opinion with other people who could be interested in visiting Madrid
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope to see you again the next time you will come to Madrid.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Madrid was the first stop on our Spain vacation. Room Mate Alicia was the least expensive hotel we stayed in and I was a little nervous about it, but it ended up being a great choice.
We upgraded to a Jr Suite on the third floor and our room was really spacious and had an amazing view of Plaza Santa Ana. It gets a little rambunctious in the plaza at night but the double windows and blinds kept the room quiet and dark. And the AC worked perfectly and quietly! For a hotel we both slept really well here.
Our room was pretty clean overall, except the carpet was pretty stained up. The public washroom by the breakfast area is nasty.
The breakfast buffet was just perfect, a pretty little room also looking out on the square.
This location is great, we walked everywhere from the royal palace to atocha train station, no cabs needed. Lots of restaurants nearby, our favorite was Ginger. Even the restaurants on the square which seem touristy were not bad at all.
Staff is friendly enough, helpful though there were fewer English speakers than our other hotels. No problem, i wanted to practice my (poor) Spanish anyway. The nicest person by far was the breakfast buffet lady.
Great hotel, great location, great price. Recommended.

Room Tip: the junior suites have the great windows that overlook the plaza
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KitchaMitcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear KitchaMitcha

Thank you very much for leaving your opinion on this web page and for sharing your experience with other people who could be interested in visiting our beautiful city.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
124 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

No complaints with the location, service, room or accessibility. Close to train station, sights and city shopping centres and tapas bars. Also close to a wellknown flamenco show and cafes.would totally recommend to couples.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Nickdave

Thank you very much for leaving us your opinion in this web page!
We get very happy everytime we read our guest have enjoyed their stayed with us
Best regards and we hope to have you again with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Great location, reasonably priced and nice rooms. Could not ask for more. The bed was comfortable, and the room was a nice size. The shower is interesting - best for singles or couples. The large window overlooked the square. Breakfast was good. I recommend this hotel and I will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilgrimtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Pilgrimtravels

Nothing makes us happier than reading you have enjoyed your stay with us!
We hope to see you again the next time you will come to Madrid

Best regards from all the team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Room was lovely, with a fantastic balcony, modern and functional. Stepping out you are straight in a square with great bars and Tapas restaurants. Reception is a bit quirky, but staff were great, and spoke excellent English.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Andy,

Thank you very much for your words and taking your time to write your experience in Room Mate Alicia!

We are really glad to read you had a great time in Madrid and you liked the hotel.

Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 436 in Madrid
1,590 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#8 of 436 in Madrid
1,453 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#46 of 436 in Madrid
1,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
ME Madrid Reina Victoria
Huertas
Hotel One Shot Prado 23
Hotel One Shot Prado 23
#68 of 436 in Madrid
851 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Room Mate Alicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Room Mate Alicia

Property: Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Address: Calle Prado 2, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#36 Business Hotel in Madrid
#49 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Room Mate Alicia 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Room Mate Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Room Mate Alicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Alicia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing