We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like the Room Mate concept...excellent location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Ranked #43 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Like the Room Mate concept...excellent location.”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Looking for a well priced modern, clean hotel without all the frills? We were, and we were not disappointed. I very much enjoy having a comfortable and quiet and modern room without having to pay for all of the ancillary services of a large upscale hotel. That is the Room Mate business model and it seems to work. Since we are out and about all day anyway, we didn't need all of the fancy decor in the lobby, fancy furnishings, etc.

But you do get the modern European hotel room with great free Wi-Fi, efficient housekeeping, included breakfast, bright modern rooms, with the usual 4 star amenities. Don't get me wrong, this is not a hostel. It just doesn't have doormen, chandliers in the lobby, etc.

Location is excellent for seeing everything in the center of the city. Nothing is more than 10 to 20 minutes away, strolling through the lovely old streets of Madrid. Right now, my only complaint is not with the hotel, but of the accordion player in the plaza nearby who only seems to know three songs and doesn't seem to mind playing them over and over, our after hour!

Room Tip: Executive room on 4th floor had its own private patio. Outstanding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cirenrets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    460
    91
    21
    9
See reviews for
108
749
73
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Another great stay( 2nd time) and being upgraded on arrival was a bonus, staff are very helpful, suberb location, lovely clean hotel and great continental breakfast, we would deffinately stay again right in the centre of town on the corner of Santa Ana Plaza.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
413 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights early june & overall had a really fantastic stay.

The location really was great. On a previous visit we stayed st room mate Mario but we found Alicia to be much better. The plaza that Alicia sits on is beautiful & the proximity to sol, gran via etc is very close. The metro was an easy 5 min walk & the staff were all very friendly & helpful which honestly makes a huge difference!

We found our room to be exceptionally quiet (405)...the only time it was noisy was when I was trying to nap during the day (jetlag) & housekeeping were cleaning up a storm in the hallway...at night it was very peaceful as it wasn't facing the plaza.

Pros
-Location
-Close to Carrefour & spar minimarts for snacks etc
-close to shopping
-close to Sevilla metro
-spacious room
-windows that could open
-friendly, accommodating staff
-walking distance to san Miguel market & calle cava baja for the most delicious tapa

Cons
-inconsistent shower temperature either scalding hot or cold
-no direct light over shower area which was a bit odd
-tiny elevator

We enjoyed our stay & would stay here again.

Sent from my

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camnicsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We recently returned from spending 5 nights at the Room Mate Alicia in Madrid. We were extremely satisfied with our stay and would return again, as well as visit other hotels in the Room Mate chain.

Location:
Madrid is spread out, but if you don't mind walking a short ways, Room Mate Alicia is fairly centrally located. It's about a 10-15 minute walk to the Prado, the Praque del Retiro, Sol, Plazo Mayor, and the Palacio Real. We even walked to the Atocha train station, which was about 15-20 minutes. The location of the hotel was also quite convenient to restaurants. The plaza just outside the hotel has numerous tapas offerings, and a 2 minute walk will take you into another plaza with additional restaurants.

Rooms:
Our room was a standard double. It was large by European standards, well laid out, and clean. The carpet may have been looking a little worn, but that was the only aging I noticed. The bathroom (basically an extension of the room with the shower/sink area) was newly updated. We were especially impressed with the sound-proofing of the windows. Even through a very busy and loud Friday and Saturday night in a room facing the plaza, we heard virtually no noise. The bed was a king, hard to find in Europe, and quite comfortable. There's a small mini-bar in the room.

Staff:
The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. We arrived quite early in the morning and expected to wait until 2 for check-in; however, reception arranged a room to be available by 11, for which we were very grateful. We also had a bit of a problem with a missing item purchased from a store in Toledo. Itziar at the front desk worked extremely hard to help us locate and try to contact the store. Although we were ultimately unsuccessful, she tried repeatedly over the course of several days to help.

Food:
Breakfast is not included in the rate. There is a small breakfast room with a buffet adjacent to the hotel. While there are any number of restaurants in the area where you can eat breakfast, we found it convenient, if not more expensive at 11 Euros per person, to eat there. The buffet had a wide variety of hot and cold offerings, meats, cheeses, eggs, bacon, fruit, and yogurt.

All in all, we really enjoyed our stay at Room Mate Alicia. It's not a luxury hotel but rather a small, funky boutique hotel which offered a lot of value for the price.

Room Tip: We faced the side street but were still basically on the plaza, and little to no noise concerns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Although we are an elderly couple we were very comfortable at Room Mate Alicia right on the corner of Plaza Santa Ana, at Calle Prado. Room was comfortable, breakfast was not included, but it was very reasonable and very good, and the location could not have been better. Staff was excellent.

We had to do a lot of walking because the Huertas district is an area of small streets and no buses, although you can get around by Metro. However, we were very close to some important sites: the three incredible museums--The Prado, the Thyssen and the Reina Sofia (and also the Caixa Forum).

Restaurants and shops were good. We have a couple of favorites which I'll review separately. But let me mention them here: Zerain (terrific), Lateral (very good tapas), Dionysus (Greek), Pizzeria Cervantes (very nice and convenient) and Rosa Negra (Mexican). There are others, but those were right around the corner from the hotel and the apartment we later moved into.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artisanware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manhattan beach
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

i am big on sleep quality and this hotel did not provide it we got the junior suite i believe it was room 203 which has a beautiful view of the plaza the room was spacious and comfortable the bath tub was great the breakfast was outstanding some reviews complained but with cereals meats cheeses yogurts fruits coffees and cakes for 8 euros you will not get a better deal staff was as nice and friendly and helpful as can be we walked everywhere and ate everywhere everything is walking distance including the prado right down the street unfortunately the noise from the plaza at night and into the early morning hours was unbearable absolutely no excuse for not having soundproof windows for the price we paid average190 euros per night all 4 nights there we both had no sleep we called to have someone adjust the windows but even then it was too noisy we stayed our last night at the hotel next door catalonia las cortes and got a great night's sleep this hotel has a lot going for it but we would absolutely not return

Room Tip: noise in 203 from the plaza is unbearable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wholewheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The location of this hotel on Santa Ana Plaza is an ideal location. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. They all went out of their way to make our stay special. We stayed in one of the four top floor rooms with a huge outdoor terrace. (Room 401) This was the perfect retreat after a day of running around the busy city. The breakfast was served until noon each day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank go2fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itziar C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear go2fun

Thank you so much for your opinion!
Your experience will be very helpful for future travellers.
We love to know you have enjoyed the suite 401 and it makes your visit more special.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again if you decide to come back in a future!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#16 of 435 in Madrid
1,616 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#6 of 435 in Madrid
1,478 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#44 of 435 in Madrid
1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
ME Madrid Reina Victoria
Huertas
Hotel One Shot Prado 23
Hotel One Shot Prado 23
#76 of 435 in Madrid
862 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#18 of 435 in Madrid
1,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Room Mate Alicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Room Mate Alicia

Property: Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Address: Calle Prado 2, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#36 Business Hotel in Madrid
#49 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Room Mate Alicia 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Room Mate Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Room Mate Alicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Alicia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing