We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay as usuall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Ranked #44 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I spent a few days in Alicia last week for business, making it my 3rd visit there. The hotel is perfectly located, close to metro and most tourist attractions. Staff is very friendly, breakfast extensive, rooms are clean and very trendy. Bathrooms are more suitable for intimate couples - the shower is separated from the room only with a glass door and the sliding toilet door cannot be fully sealed when closed so I would not recommend this room e.g. to a parent with a teenager... No problem for me and my wife though, I really like this hotel. Looking forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: Some rooms only have a window to the air shaft - on the other hand these rooms are quieter at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ItziarCristobal C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Jan,

Thank you so much for your kind words.
It is a pleasure to know your wife and you really enjoy your stay with us.

Hopefully we will see you soon!

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 1,299 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

My girlfriend and I visited Madrid for the first time last week. Location of this hotel could not have been better - right on Plaza Santa Ana and walking distance to Metro and so many other great locations (Plaza Mayor, Puerta del Sol, etc.). So many food and bar offerings right on the square, including an awesome Flamenco restaurant (Villa Rosa). Lively square but not obnoxious or rowdy. Great place to stay.

The hotel itself was attractive, modern, and clean. Unlike many hotels in Europe, it had an elevator, decent sized rooms, a decent sized bathroom with sink outside the bathroom (very key when two people are trying to shower and get ready at the same time), and no cigarette smoke smell anywhere in the hotel. Very helpful desk staff. Good TV channels. We were even able to catch our hometown American football game on TV (at 3:00 am).

Room Tip: We had a two-level room on the corner facing the square - I believe it was 402/502. We got a last-m...
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank GroupofFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ItziarCristobal C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear GroupofFriends,

First, we would like to thank you for your kind opinion and take your time to write it.

It is a pleasure to know you really enjoyed your visit to Madrid.
And also is really nice to hear our hotel make this visit perfect!

Hopefully we will see you soon!

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is an excellent hotel for anyone visiting Madrid. ITs location means that you can walk to all the main attractions. Outside is a small square with bustling cafes and restaurants, all seemed very good value. The rooms are art deco and large for a city centre. The facilites were all very clean and well presented. Breakfast was a good choice from pastires and croissants to cereals, fruit, cheese and meats. Good value and nothing to moan about!

Room Tip: Some top floor rooms have a balcony with views over the square, these are classed as superior rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarpoPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliciaroommate, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Paul,

it is no nice to read your comment! We would like to thank you for sharing it with our people. That makes us incredibly happy.

Alicia will be glad to see you again any time you want to and reminds you that you can trust on her as your new Room-Mate!

Best regards,

Luca Albonetti
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We have stayed for the first time, and certainly not the last, at “Room mate Alicia” in Madrid. It’s a very pleasant hotel, with a greay location, 1à minutes walking from the 3 great museums of Madrid (Prado, Thyssen, and Reina Sofia), 1à minutes walking from the “Puerta del sol”, in a very pleasant part of the town, on the edge of the famous “barrio de las letras”. The rooms are great, very large, very pleasant (design style), very well fitted… and silent. Breakfast is good and varied, and the staff at the front desk, very helpful and smiling, something quite exceptional in Spain where the first contact is usually quite rude!! A place to return to!

Room Tip: In the heart of Madrid
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chalupin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliciaroommate, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your time and for sharing this comment.

We strive for making our guests live a Room-Mate experience and we really enjoy seeing that you have had it.

You know that Alicia is your new home in Madrid... Kindest regards,

Luca Albonetti
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a great hotel in a great location. Friendly and helpful staff- when we left a bag behind, someone crossed Madrid to bring it to us at the station before we caught our sleeper train home. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfasts are great too!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Plaza Santa Ana.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliciaroommate, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your words, they do make us so happy! We always do as much as possible to make our visitors' stay comfortable and your satisfaction is the prize/feedback of our constant efforts.

You know that you have a new friend in Madrid named Alicia. Best regards

Luca Albonetti
Jefe de Recepción

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I'm going to keep this short as, quite simply, I don't think you can do any better than this! Location is just perfect the rooms are impressive and the staff were uniformly friendly, helpful and pleasant. Loved my stay here and I can't recommend it too highly.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 102. Lovely room, big with separate loo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliciaroommate, Director de Recepción at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear Dave,

thank you very much for your comment. We get very happy every time we read that our guests have felt the Room-Mate vibe that we intend to make them feel...

We do trust in seeing you again on your next visit in our marvellous city.

Greetings,

Luca Albonetti
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Too expensive! Too noisy,dirty carpet In the room but excellent location and nice design.
The rates are too expensive for the quality of the room. There is no lounge in the lobby...but WE enoyed our stay because of the location. We spent 2 nights but couldn't sleep the 2nd one because of people shouting on the plaza and workmen working sincère 6am!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 995christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliciaroommate, Manager at Hotel Room Mate Alicia, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Dear Christine,

Thank you so much for taking your time to comment our hotel, it is very important for us and always we appreciate it.

Sorry for any inconvenieze occured during your stay , We are gladed you liked our localitation.
and I hope wellcoming your in next future.

Regards

Eva de Lucas,
Directora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#17 of 438 in Madrid
1,713 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#43 of 438 in Madrid
1,924 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#66 of 438 in Madrid
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Huertas
ME BY MELIA MADRID Reina Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Room Mate Alicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Room Mate Alicia

Address: Calle Prado 2, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#36 Business Hotel in Madrid
#49 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $96 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Room Mate Alicia 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Room Mate Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Splitty, Agoda, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Room Mate Alicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Alicia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing