We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don Pio”
Review of Don Pio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Don Pio
Ranked #249 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Don Pio”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Value for money - a definate yes.
Location - fantastic.
Rooms - spacious, clean and tidy
My first time at this hotel, only stayed one night as I was on a business trip.
I was welcomed very nicely at the reception and found all of the staff polite and friendly.
Good spread for breakfast

I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to both business and city break people

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanL789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donpio, Propietario at Don Pio, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Google Translation
Todo el equipo del hotel Don Pío le agradecemos su amable comentario, a la espera de sus futuras visitas. Trabajamos para que todos nuestros clientes tengan la mejor de las estancias en nuestro hotel.
Saludos cordiales.
Estrella Palomero.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    66
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
22
31
12
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I've been there several times, both on business trips and city breaks. When it comes to business, it's well connected to the airport, has a nice lounge and good service. And when it comes to city breaks, the place is not a typical impersonal brand hotel. Helpful personnel, big and nicely furnished rooms, and cosy atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthB424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donpio, Propietario at Don Pio, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice and helpfull comment. Waiting for Your next visit.
Estrella Palomero
,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
456 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Having stayed at this place on numerous times as has become a favorite of mine in Madrid. It is not very expensive, but is good value with a nice open "inner court" which gives this hotel a nice cozy atmosphere. It is really good value for money and is highly recommended although not in the very centre of town - it is still close to the tube and a few restaurants and grocery stores...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Loved this overnight stay and will certainly use it any visit to Madrid; good location near Metro, parking no problem. Didn't eat in hotel as I was hosted out for dinner in nearby excellent restaurant and was catching early train, on which I breakfasted.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RayBillington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donpio, Propietario at Don Pio, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your nice comment. We will always glad to host you with us, see you next time in Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stayed here on business, but the hotel is of an extremely good standard. Traditional Spanish decor and high quality staff. They are very helpful and spoke great English, for those of us who don't hablan español!

The metro is just across the road and the city centre only a few stops away. A cab ride of ten minutes will have you in the heart of Madrid and the fabulous bars and restaurants.

The food at the Don Pio is reasonably priced and of good quality. I highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
estrell p, Propietario at Don Pio, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind opinion. Is a great encouragement to continue our daily work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I stay at this hotel regularly when in Madrid. It is a little bit of a walk to any of the shops/sights but with the local weather usually pleasant this isn't much of a problem for me!

The hotel bar and restaurant are basic but of excellent quality. The menu is available in English.

The rooms I have stayed in are all excellent, spacious and well appointed. The cabled internet works brilliantly without any logins or fuss.

Unfortunately I have occasionally found the reception and waiting staff a little less than delightful - never rude or anything just obviously busy and "not keen".

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank uk_explorer79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donpio, Propietario at Don Pio, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your comment, it is always a pleasure to know the opinion of our guests. Yes we know we´re not in the city center " Sol" but we´re very well conected by metro (PIO XII station is just in front of us) and bus stop only 5 metres away from the hotel .Lines 150 drives you through the Castellana street to SOL,and many other like 16,51,29........all of them to the most important places of the city. Santiago Bernabéu stadium is only 10 min walking away and it´s placed in The Castellana. Only it depens if you are on holidays or for other bussiness. All the staff and myself will be glad to show you the way and all the possibilites to all the places you want to visit.....................................

Waiting for your next visit to our hotel were you always are very wellcomed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

We are a couple in our fifties. We needed a hotel near a metro line from the airport, as we would be arriving at 11.30pm. Also we needed to continue our journey to La Poveda, which is nearly the end of line 9, so we needed an easy journey early next morning. Hotel Don Pio was almost exactly outside metro Pio Xii. Our hunger at 11.30 pm was perfectly sated with a decent bar meal, graciously served. Large and comfortable room with an opening window (a necessary requirement for us) and heating that worked well. Excellent and impressive bathroom facilities. Minuses - they only had a smoking room left (we were late) but the atmosphere was ok and we could open the window and leave it while we ate. Small minus - they only had twin adjoining beds available. Next morning, adequate breakfast, very fresh, good juice and coffee.
The hotel is built round an indoor courtyard,which houses the lounge and dining room and is most beautifully furnished and maintained. Excellent value for E108 thereabouts. Impressive, and good value.

Room Tip: Ask for no smoking room, with double bed if you prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MerrillfromPinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Quinta De Los Cedros
Hotel Quinta De Los Cedros
#271 of 435 in Madrid
104 reviews
1.0 mi away
Senator Castellana Hotel
Senator Castellana Hotel
#250 of 435 in Madrid
455 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Via Castellana
Hotel Via Castellana
#253 of 435 in Madrid
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
AC Hotel Cuzco
AC Hotel Cuzco
#166 of 435 in Madrid
752 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Madrid Paseo de la Habana
0.9 mi away
Hotel 4C Puerta Europa
Hotel 4C Puerta Europa
#280 of 435 in Madrid
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Pio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Pio

Property: Don Pio
Address: Avenida Pio XII 25, 28016 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#84 Business Hotel in Madrid
#154 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Don Pio 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Don Pio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Pio Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing