We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen
Ranked #91 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Small nice hotell with a great location, near the Grand Via. The staff were in general very professional.
We booked a room for two adults and two kids. The room was spacious, and the kids were happy with small gifts (DVD and candy) on the bunk bed. The room was a handicap room, so the bathroom was also spacious.
At first everything looked nice, but looking closer to the room, the room was a bit worn out. Loose screws, lamps that fell apart, no view. The room was pretty dark with a window facing a small shaft. The aircondition were working perfectly and the staff gave us advice on how to keep the room nice and cool.
A laptop was provided in the room with internet connection, and free wifi, but you needed to ask for every device that you want to attach to wifi.
The fridge did not work, which was a big dissapointment considering the heat during July. We told the people in the reception about the problem, but the fridge were never replaced. Would think that a 4 star hotel would be able to replace a broken fridge.
The staff in the reception did recommend us a restaurant (Abrasador) next door which turned out to be one of the worst meals I have experienced, but we cannot blame the staff at the hotel for that.
In general I would rate this hotel for a 3 star, not a 4 star.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CecilieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatriz C, Director Comercial at Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest;

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your last stay with us, I am so sorry that your experience with us was disappoinging and I wish to apologize for it.

In my company we take all guest feedback very seriously, and we are constantly improving all aspects of your service and facilities, so rest assured that your minibar trouble won´t happen in the future.

I hope you will consider staying with us again and give us the chance to demonstrate the level of service we are prepared for. In my company all our guests are VIP.

If your do plan to accommodate in Petit Palace please don´t hesitate in contact me directly in order to get the best deal for you.

Looking forward for your visit.
Thanks and regards, Gemma Tera (Manager Hotel)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    252
    90
    26
    8
See reviews for
183
222
22
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

100 metres from the plaza del sol, a couple of mins walk to plaza mayor and so much more. This is an excellent modern hotel in the perfect location for Madrids many central highlights. Rooms small but clean, compact and perfect.
Great breakfasts, excellent staff and spotless. Helpful with advice on attractions and amenities.
Madrid was an excellent short break, Tom Davies & Lorna Davies, from NZ.

Room Tip: Great views from front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommydeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel is in the heart of the city center of Madrid - you can walk to Gran Via, Sol, Plaza Mayor, Opera, Prado... This is one of the reasons I have chosen to stay at this hotel since my visit to Madrid was about a longer weekend stay with shopping and sightseeing. The location of the hotel is superb! Alongside that the surroundings are a bit noisy, like in every big city's center but if you close your windows, you can sleep quite well without hearing any major noise.
The hotel and the rooms are clean, although they could be a bit more spacious. Many of the rooms have small balconies that overlook the square. One of the drawbacks of this hotel is that the walls are very thin, you can hear your neighbours talking or kids running in the corridors. This can be very annoying when you want to sleep in the morning longer than the rest of the people from your floor.
There is only one elevator and is very slow. Definitely at the time of our stay the hotel was not full, but we rather used the stairs than to wait for it every time.
The breakfast room is located underground (in floor -1), which is a bit depressing, becuase I like to have natural light during this hour rather than a mourning atmosphere. The breakfast selection is quite decent and the staff quite attentive.
The front desk staff is always very helpful and very nice, they are very responsive to their guest's needs.
Overall, this hotel is a good value for money and it is perfectly located.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

from aeropuerto de madrid-barajas, it was approximately a 20 min-ride on a cab, straight to this hotel. i could sense a warm, welcoming attitude from the staffs upon checking-in. a bit of neuvo-decorations inside, i loved how the lights on the floor popped up everytime i got out of the lift. the room was clean, and pretty much enjoyable with a small balcony. for my 3 night-stay in madrid, it costed me 240 euros which roughly was 80 euros a night, which i found reasonable for a hotel in the heart of the metropolis. i wouldn't say it's that boutique, judging from its based appeance from the exterior, but the interior was surely renovated to render a bit of pop feeling to the visitors.

it's perfectly located between puerta del sol and gran via metro stations, so going out to attractions or shopping was quite easy. it was a pleasant stay for me. i slept well, got up well-charged there each morning. the smart espresso machine at the lobby was also a good stimulant before going out or coming back in, free of charge. and i would recommend this hotel for a short, energetic stay for anyone who needs to do things in town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chasetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatriz C, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your comment about your stay in our hotel Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen. We are glad to hear you have enjoyed our rooms and services. As you point out our hotel is perfectly located in the heart of Madrid. Thank you very much for considering us for future stays, we will be happy to welcome you again!
We remind you that we have more hotels with the same good location in Barcelona, Valencia, Málaga, Sevilla, Salamanca, Bilbao, Getxo and, as you know, in Madrid.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We were at a different hotel and there some issues. To resolve these we were moved to this property as a way of compensation. Really nice staff in all hotels of this chain. Great location too. A lot of police presence so really comfortable to walk around even in late evening. Sunday market is good for bargain hunters. Royal Palace is short distance. Good places to eat around

Room Tip: This is one of the better hotels in this property chain. Avoid three star ones as they are very basi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Serco123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatriz C, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
To our esteemed guest:
Thank you for your comments. We are happy to know that we met your expectations. Without doubt, our guest’s satisfaction is our objective.
We hope to see you again soon. We remind you that we have more hotels with the same good location in Barcelona, Valencia, Málaga, Sevilla, Salamanca, Bilbao, Getxo and, as you know, in Madrid.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
238 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

everything was reasonable. The room was very good, enough space, small balcony, cosy bathroom. inconvenience : the bathroom has a type of door that wouldn t close. The service was good but the blankets were full of dust ( we got to Madrid on some very cold rainy days). The breakfast is ok, though little variety of vegetables or warm dishes. Location is absolutely excellent, in the middle of everything.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corina0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear host,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your comment about your experience in our hotel. It helps us to improve.
We remind you that we have more hotels with the same good location in Barcelona, Valencia, Málaga, Sevilla, Salamanca, Bilbao, Getxo and, as you know, in Madrid.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hotel is very central & convenient. The rooms are modern. However, the walls are not soundproof (at least in my room they weren't). In the middle of the night I could hear people coming in and children running up & down the hall. The bed was hard and there is no in-room kettle but these matter seem to be the case in many hotels in Spain.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alf_lauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest;
Thanks for taking time out to write about your experience in our hotel, all comments are very important and help us to improve our services.
We are very sorry if your stay wasn´t all satisfactory we wish.
Inform you the beds in the hotel are new , for that reason maybe seem to be hard.
We don´t have kettle because of as you know we have Free Coffe/ Tea Services in the hotel during the day, I think is a fantastic Idea and we are going to buy some kettles for the hotel, THANKS FOR YOUR SUGGESTION.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in the future.

Gema de Tera
Dirección
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces Centro
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#48 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,885 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Posada del Peine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malasana
Petit Palace Triball
Petit Palace Triball
#71 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Chueca
H10 Villa de la Reina Boutique Hotel
Centro
Petit Palace Mayor
Petit Palace Mayor
#93 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen

Property: Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen
Address: Plaza del Carmen 4, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHARMING 4* HOTEL - PERSONAL COMPUTER WITH FREE WIFI IN EVERY ROOM FOUND RIGHT IN THE HEART OF MADRID!!This elegant hotel has been wholly renovated converting it into a modern hotel, situated in the heart of Madrid in the popular square "Plaza del Carmen" where the Madrid's main public parking and typical tapas bars can be found, just around the corner from the main street "Gran Via" and the famous "Puerta del Sol".Some of the hotel's outstanding services include: luggage service, free WIFI, rooms with hydro-massage showers with built in saunas (some rooms), rooms with Jacuzzi (some rooms), special loft type rooms...Its large bright rooms with tall windows and contemporary decor have been fitted with a vast array of modern and useful creature comforts to ensure a relaxing and memorable stay. The hotel strives to provide guests with quality accommodation which is not only affordable, but also complemented by professional staff and reliable services.Rooms are available on request with twin or double beds, exterior or interior views (on request) and our outstanding Family rooms have capacity for up to 4 persons, ideal for families or groups of friends.If you have any special requests (special room for honeymoon, bedding requests ect) please don't hesitate to contact us, we will be more than happy to make your stay as memorable as possible!!ALL YOU NEED TO ENJOY YOUR STAY IN MADRID!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Plaza Del Carmen Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing