We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable value and an excellent location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalonia Las Cortes
Ranked #8 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Reasonable value and an excellent location.”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

$200 doesn't buy much in terms of accommodation in capital cities. Our room was small and unprepossessing, though comfortable enough and the staff were attentive. What makes this hotel a good choice is the location - a quiet non-commercial part of town, within easy walking distance of Madrid's museum triangle and the trendy Piazza Santa Ana, with its vibrant bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionLasCortes, Gerente at Catalonia Las Cortes, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Pamela

We would like to thank you for your review. We are absolutely happy with your comments and we will communicate them to our staff. I am sure our team will really appreciate your comments,

We hope to attend you again in the future

Best regards



Paula Camblor
Directora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,016
    377
    40
    6
    14
See reviews for
254
784
91
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lewisburg, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I have stayed at Catalonia Las Cortes 3 times and each time it has been absolutely perfect! The location, just off the Plaza Santa Ana is convenient to EVERYTHING! The Staff is exceptional, friendly and helpful in every way. The rooms are spacious, with large luxurious bathrooms and the beds are so comfortable! The whole hotel is a delight to the eye. The breakfast option is well worth the price if you are a hearty eater. The food assortment is everything you could wish for and more. I can not say enough good things about this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionLasCortes, Gerente at Catalonia Las Cortes, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Martha

I am glad your stay was perfect , and you had visited our Hotel 3 times.
We hope to see you again in our Hotel.
Thank you so much for your review
Best regards

Paula Camblor
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

I acknowledge this review is based on our experience several years ago (we stayed 4 nights in April 2011) but the "normal" room we were initially allocated was very poor - subterranean, noisy, and dark with high-up windows facing out onto (under) a busy street popular with night-time revellers. After one sleep-disrupted night, we requested and paid for an upgrade to a much more luxurious high-ceilinged room facing a quiet inner courtyard for the remainder of our stay. The difference in comfort level was immense - the upgraded room was serene and classy.

Unfortunately our other abiding memory was of a quite ordinary breakfast buffet watched over by disinterested staff.

Room Tip: Avoid anything below ground!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulM2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionLasCortes, Gerente at Catalonia Las Cortes, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Paul

Thank you very much for your review. We would love you return to Catalonia Las Cortes Hotel in order to see our improvements ( Rooms , Breakfast ,Staff).
I am sure you ll love it our Hotel

Best Regards

Paula Camblor
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

we stayed 4 nights. Best location in Madrid, just off Santa Anna Plaza and a walk everywhere and 5 minute drive from Puerto Atocha. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Checked in just after midnight very quickly, the room was good sized. I must admit my heart sank a bit as we pulled up as the entrance and reception area is very small, but it was lovely inside with great period features and an imposing staircase.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nush7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionLasCortes, Gerente at Catalonia Las Cortes, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your review o our Hotel. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay .
I hope that we can be ofservice to you again in the future
Best regards

Paula Camblor
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a very good location and was very nicely decorated. The bathroom was amazing and the room was small but nicely appointed. The bedding and the pillows most importantly where terrible! The Wi-Fi and computers were great and the food was also nice. I would give this hotel five stars IF they improved the bedding but not getting good sleep because of it was not good and therefore I cannot give it five stars. Please improve your bedding and your hotel will be top notch!!!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Worldly Traveler Dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionLasCortes, Gerente at Catalonia Las Cortes, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your review of our Hotel.
Catalonia Hotels strives to maintain our High standars and always looking for ways to improve.
I look forward to wellcoming you to our Hotel in the future


Best regards

Paula Camblor
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a week in Spain, three of which were spent in Madrid. We had the pleasure of staying at the Catalonia Las Cortes, a small hotel in close proximity to the Prado, Archeology Museum and other Madrid attractions. The staff was terrific - when we arrived, we were upgraded to a superior room which was relatively large with a great bathroom and beds. The breakfast buffet was terrific. Only one negative. The pillows supplied in the rooms are spongy foam rubber and for someone that can only sleep comfortably with a down pillow, it was a real negative. Nor were there any down pillows available for substitution. A big mistake for a hotel that should anticipate its guests' needs. That said, would stay again if I bring my own pillow.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachsharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
114 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

The hotel is in a great location, close to the museums (Prado, Reina Sofia), also to Puerta del Sol, easy walking distance to everything and in a nice area with restaurants and bars. Not easy to get to by car, since most streets in the old town of Madrid are small, one way and some are restricted to residents (the guests of he hotel count but you have to give the hotel your license plate so that they make sure of that). the staff is very nice, helpful and accommodating with requests. The rooms were a good size for being in the old town of a major old European city, nice and clean. There is a bar and a small outside courtyard for smokers. Unless you want to spend exuberant amount of money on a super-luxury hotel like the Palace or the Ritz (with the city having so much to offer, we barely spent any time in the hotel), this is a very nice, very comfortable hotel and l would stay there every time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ztraveladdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 436 in Madrid
441 reviews
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 436 in Madrid
990 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#18 of 436 in Madrid
1,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Las Cortes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Las Cortes

Property: Catalonia Las Cortes
Address: Calle del Prado 6, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#5 Family Hotel in Madrid
#6 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#56 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Las Cortes 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Las Cortes is located in Madrid's famous 'Barrio de las Letras', or writer's district, it is just a few metres from Plaza Santa Ana square and equally closes to the city's main shopping and leisure districts. Opened in January 2006, the hotel is situated in an old 18th century small palace whose interior has maintained all of the original frescos, as well as the main staircase and coving. This four-star hotel has 63 elegantly appointed rooms with every convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Catalonia Las Cortes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Las Cortes Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing