We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel except for the bedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Catalonia Las Cortes
Ranked #9 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a very good location and was very nicely decorated. The bathroom was amazing and the room was small but nicely appointed. The bedding and the pillows most importantly where terrible! The Wi-Fi and computers were great and the food was also nice. I would give this hotel five stars IF they improved the bedding but not getting good sleep because of it was not good and therefore I cannot give it five stars. Please improve your bedding and your hotel will be top notch!!!!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Worldly Traveler Dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionLasCortes, Gerente at Catalonia Las Cortes, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for your review of our Hotel.
Catalonia Hotels strives to maintain our High standars and always looking for ways to improve.
I look forward to wellcoming you to our Hotel in the future


Best regards

Paula Camblor
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,556)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

554 - 560 of 1,556 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a week in Spain, three of which were spent in Madrid. We had the pleasure of staying at the Catalonia Las Cortes, a small hotel in close proximity to the Prado, Archeology Museum and other Madrid attractions. The staff was terrific - when we arrived, we were upgraded to a superior room which was relatively large with a great bathroom and beds. The breakfast buffet was terrific. Only one negative. The pillows supplied in the rooms are spongy foam rubber and for someone that can only sleep comfortably with a down pillow, it was a real negative. Nor were there any down pillows available for substitution. A big mistake for a hotel that should anticipate its guests' needs. That said, would stay again if I bring my own pillow.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachsharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

The hotel is in a great location, close to the museums (Prado, Reina Sofia), also to Puerta del Sol, easy walking distance to everything and in a nice area with restaurants and bars. Not easy to get to by car, since most streets in the old town of Madrid are small, one way and some are restricted to residents (the guests of he hotel count but you have to give the hotel your license plate so that they make sure of that). the staff is very nice, helpful and accommodating with requests. The rooms were a good size for being in the old town of a major old European city, nice and clean. There is a bar and a small outside courtyard for smokers. Unless you want to spend exuberant amount of money on a super-luxury hotel like the Palace or the Ritz (with the city having so much to offer, we barely spent any time in the hotel), this is a very nice, very comfortable hotel and l would stay there every time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ztraveladdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

After touring southern Spain, we spent our last night at Catalonia Las Cortes prior to catching our flight home in the morning. Our room was spacious and clean, the staff courteous and helpful. The hotel's location is excellent situated a block from Plaza Santa Ana and a short walk to both Plaza Mayor and Puerta del Sol. There was a little street noise in the late evening, but not enough to disrupt sleep. The shower arrangement in our room was more form than function as there was no way to keep the water from spraying out of the tub. Other than that, a great hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionLasCortes, Gerente at Catalonia Las Cortes, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear James

I would like to thank you for your recent review of our Hotel.
As a valued customer i look forward to wellcoming you to our Hotel in the future

Best regards

Paula Camblor
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Whilst the hotel does not have massive kerb and lobby appeal, once you get into the main hotel area it's really attractive - parts of an old mansion have been sensitively preserved, and include a beautiful wooden staircase, and stain glass windows. It's a bit of a Tardis too - apologies for the UK cultural TV reference - seems much bigger inside than from the street. The room we had - one grade up from base - was lovely and spacious, with a vast bed, pleasant bathroom, and balconies. The breakfast was a little pricey but great - all the international stuff as well as Spanish specialties such as churros and chocolate, two types of tortillas, hot chorizo, loads of fruit, meat, cheese and pastries. The inevitable queue for the very good Nespresso machine if you went at the wrong time was a bit of a chew, but nice coffee when you got it.

Staff very friendly and helpful on desk, room service and in the bar / restaurant.

For visitors like us, what made this a great choice is the location - busy not noisy street with loads of good restaurants nearby (Lamucca, Bar Rincon and Greens&More - all very good in different ways), and within easy walking distance of most of the main sites (Prado, Cibeles, Sol, Plaza Mayor, Cortes, T-B Museum, Gran Via, not that much of a hike to the Palacio Real). Madrid is a good walking city IMHO and the location here is slap bang in the middle of a lot of the sights. Did not use bus or metro at all in 4 days.

Loved it. Both the hotel and the city. Would go again

Room Tip: Our room was on a corner at the back and it was great - windows / balconies on two sides. Room 205 I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tractorinsmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionLasCortes, Gerente at Catalonia Las Cortes, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Customer

I am glad you liked the Hotel, your room and the staff, also our city Madrid.In Catalonia Las Cortes Hotel we are always looking to improve the service that we offer to our guests , and we hope to wellcome you in the future.

Best Regards

Paula Camblor
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

What a great hotel in a great location. Wonderful service throughout.
We stayed here two times within 9 days and found it great both everything great both times.
within easy walking distance to almost everything you would want to see in Madrid.
All the staff we encountered were great.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Something55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionLasCortes, Gerente at Catalonia Las Cortes, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear customers

Thank you very much for your comments. Thank you very much for repeat stay at our Hotel.
We would really appreciated if you would considerer our Hotel for any future stays in Madrid.

Best Regards

Paula Camblor
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

It seems like it is difficult to be disappointed at this lovely hotel in the most wonderful area of Madrid. The staff is friendly, welcoming and very helpful. Rooms are spacious, quiet, clean and well equipped. The bed is extremely comfortable and invites you to a good night´s sleep. The hotel is in walking distance to all the major sights in Madrid and literally with all the famous museums on the doorstep. Lots of wonderful restaurants and bars in the neighborhood makes it difficult to choose where to eat. I will definitely stay here again when I am visiting Madrid next time.

Room Tip: It seems like all the rooms are nice and quiet and more or less of the same size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WestendCPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionLasCortes, Gerente at Catalonia Las Cortes, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear customer

Thank you so much for your comments . I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay .
I thank you for your kind remarks wich are very much appreciated
I hope that we can be ofservice to you again in the future

Kind Regards

Paula Camblor
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#24 of 437 in Madrid
1,996 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#16 of 437 in Madrid
1,696 reviews
Lavapies
Artrip Hotel
Artrip Hotel
#5 of 437 in Madrid
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Las Cortes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Las Cortes

Address: Calle del Prado 6, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#5 Family Hotel in Madrid
#7 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#56 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $172 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Las Cortes 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Las Cortes is located in Madrid's famous 'Barrio de las Letras', or writer's district, it is just a few metres from Plaza Santa Ana square and equally closes to the city's main shopping and leisure districts. Opened in January 2006, the hotel is situated in an old 18th century small palace whose interior has maintained all of the original frescos, as well as the main staircase and coving. This four-star hotel has 63 elegantly appointed rooms with every convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Catalonia Las Cortes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Las Cortes Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing