We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Catalonia Las Cortes
Ranked #9 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

The hotel was located just off a busy square but not so close as to be noisy. I was upgraded to an amazing room, a suite in fact (at no extra charge!), for no apparent reason!

The staff were friendly and helpful. I was looking for the department store to buy soccer stuff and one of the staff told me about a new soccer store that opened up recently close by where I got Barcelona gear for half off!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garnea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    979
    366
    39
    6
    14
See reviews for
243
759
85
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Truckee, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

My husband and I came here and booked at the last moment.
The location is perfect, next to plaza de santa ana, and walking distance to many great attractions. The room was lovely(402) featuring a tub, a large shower, mini bar, tv. Only complaint is that the king bed was a bit hard, but it was large and was NOT two twins pushed together so that was nice. There is a little bar by the reception area, with FRIENDLY and very helpful and knowledgeable staff. The price is good for what you get. If you come to Madrid and like cozy boutique-ish places-STAY here!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissNoraS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

Quiet, nicely furnished room, helpful staff, nice little bar with a great bartender--Alex.

Room Tip: 4th floor in the back was quiet enough to sleep with the window open
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youkali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

I booked this hotel at the very last moment for a three-day city trip to Madrid and decided to splurge a bit by upgrading to a "superior room".
We got room 302 and it was the most impressive room I ever had: very (very !) spatious, an enormous bed, windows looking out on "Prado Street". I learned later that the hotel is actually a converted 16th century palace and the room was certainly proof of that.

Good points of the hotel:
- very pleasant and helpfull staf
- excellent bath and shower (always hot water)
- FREE wireless internet
- a bed with a hard matrass (loved it)
- double glazing (no noice from the street)
- modern furniture giving the feel of a palace
- room enough in the mini-bar to put your own stuff
- location: center of Madrid, close to anything you want to visit (Prado, Sol, Palace,...) and the metro.

The only bad point was that my complimentary newspaper was delivered late. But this is problably because all of Madrid wakes up late ;-)

Didn't try the breakfast, but found more then enough restaurants near by serving delicious food

If you really want to enjoy Madrid as a couple, don't hesitate to book a (superior) room at this hotel ! We certainly did.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanDeconinck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Catalonia Las Cortes, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Mr Deconinck

I would like to thank you for your kind remarks , which are very much appreciated.
I am glad that everything was to your satisfaction ans you enjoyed your stay at Madrid.
As a valued customer i look forward to wellcoming you to our Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Paula Camblor
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

We planned to spend one night in this hotel and booked it on booking.com. Upon arrival we were given room 111. The room was rather spacious, however a bit dark. Unfortunately we were very disappointed to be welcomed by a cockroach awaiting us on the bathroom floor. As a consequence we chose to find another hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Palbaek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionLasCortes, Gerente at Catalonia Las Cortes, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Dear Mr Palbaek

With regard to you comments on Tripadvisor , I regret to hear this . However I would like to assure you, that this was an "unfortunate" and isolated incident.
Catalonia Hotels has a contract with a company who specialise in Pest Control that ensures our hotels are free of infestations of any kind. This has never happened before, and we will increase our efforts to ensure that it doesnt happen . I would like to point out that Hotel Las Cortes has an excellent reputation among our clients and I believe that it isn t fair for you to leave a comment like this, after only being in the room for 5 minutes . I would like to assure you or any future clients, that there aren´ t any cockroaches in Catalonia Las Cortes, and I hope that you will consider staying at our hotel in the future.´

Best Regards

Paula Camblor
Manager
lascortes.direccion@hoteles-catalonia.es
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

Four of us stayed here for 5 nights on holiday in April. The hotel is ideally placed between the shopping centre and the cultural attractions and is by a lovely square with lots of restaurants. It is very well run with extremely helpful staff and the rooms we had were spacious clean and quiet. All the required facilities were provided and the Breakfast was excellent and abundant. In our view this is a perfect place to stay in Madrid.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike504176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

We weren't sure what to expect, the only thing we had to go with was from Tripadvisor. There are many things we like about this hotel. One thing that stuck out is the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. The staff members go an extra mile to provide great assistance to help us. We had the Superior room and we were surprised at the large and well appointed bathroom. We did have an extra bed in the room for our 9 yr old son, we still have plenty of room to walk around. We requested one extra blanket for our room, and in return, our whole room was completely made up again! The complimentary water and daily chocolates were also a welcome surprise! I have read that some people had issues with the breakfast, but we thought the breakfast was excellent! Don't prepay for breakfast when you book the room, it will be 19 euros. We paid $12 euros for breakfast when we got there, and our 9 yr old son paid half price for the breakfast. As many have mentioned this hotel is located very close to all the attractions, and we will happily return to this hotel at our next visit to Madrid.

Room Tip: Superior room is a worthwhile upgrade for about 50euors per day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mowmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 444 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lavapies
Artrip Hotel
Artrip Hotel
#5 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#20 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Las Cortes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Las Cortes

Property: Catalonia Las Cortes
Address: Calle del Prado 6, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#5 Family Hotel in Madrid
#7 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#56 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Las Cortes 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Las Cortes is located in Madrid's famous 'Barrio de las Letras', or writer's district, it is just a few metres from Plaza Santa Ana square and equally closes to the city's main shopping and leisure districts. Opened in January 2006, the hotel is situated in an old 18th century small palace whose interior has maintained all of the original frescos, as well as the main staircase and coving. This four-star hotel has 63 elegantly appointed rooms with every convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Las Cortes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Las Cortes Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing