We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, great location for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Catalonia Las Cortes
Ranked #9 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great value, great location for the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

On our last visit to Madrid we stayed in the Villa Real, arguably one of the city's most luxurious, best-located and expensive hotels. This time we stayed a block and a half away at the Catalonia Las Cortes for a fraction of the price. Nice room, huge bath, interesting architecture, friendly staff, what's not to like?

Room Tip: If you want to recover from jet lag, ask for a room facing the interior courtyard. Complete slience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stubenposters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    979
    366
    39
    6
    14
See reviews for
243
759
85
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

My daughter & I had 3 nights here in July. The hotel is centrally situated for bars, restaurants and shopping. The Santa Ana plaza is a 10 minute stroll away and perfect for sangria and people watching. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms comfortable with spacious bathrooms. We only ate breakfast in the hotel and I would rate this as very average. Would I recommend staying here? Yes.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lurvemyhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionLasCortes, Gerente at Catalonia Las Cortes, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Dear Customer

I would like to thank you for you recent reviw of our Hotel . I am glad that everything was to your satisfaction.
Catalonia Las Cortes look forward to wellcoming you to our Hotel in the Future.

Kind Regards

Paula Camblor
Manageress
lascortes.direccion@hoteles-catalonia.es
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leonia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for five nights. The location is excellent --less than a 10 minute walk to the Prado and surrounded by unique shops and lots of tabernas wine bars, and restaurants The staff is friendly and hard working. The room was very elegant with a large marble bathroom that had both a stall shower and a bathtub with a shower. The double windows ensured that the room was quiet. We loved the bountiful buffet breakfast that was a good value at 8 euro per person. Our only gripe is that the bed was very hard --certainly not what you would expect at a 4 star hotel. We managed without complaining because everything else about the property is so wonderful.

Room Tip: ask about the quality of the mattress
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessie189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionLasCortes, Gerente at Catalonia Las Cortes, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Dear Jessie

I would like to introduce myself , my name is Paula Camblor and i am the manageress of Hotel Catalonia Las Cortes. Having read your review of your recent stay at our hotel may i thank you for your kind remarks wich are very apreciated.
I hope that we can be ofservice to you again in the future.
Kind Regards

Paula Camblor
Manageress
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

This place is perfectly placed to enjoy the best of Madrid. Just down from the popular Santa Ana plaza it is just fab. There was not one thing I could fuss about ( and I am very fussy!)

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikkie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

My daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights in early August and could not have been more pleased with our overall stay. Although it had been many years since I have lived in Madrid as a college student, I was familiar with the Plaza Santa Ana adjacent to the hotel and its proximity to all of the major art museums and great restaurants in the city. Our room was large, immaculate and quiet with high ceilings, a minibar and writing desk. The public areas of the hotel were also beautiful and well maintained. The marble bathroom was quite large by European standards. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pasadena4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

Really central hotel, Just a stones throw from everything. The staff were so helpful and the room lovely. It was my boyfriends birthday and so they gave us a room with the only balcony in the hotel. My boyfriend was desperate to watch the world cup on tv, the staff did everything they could to find out where he could view it. Go to the flea market on Sunday, very busy but great atmosphere, within walking distance of most things.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise_B558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

We loved staying at this hotel. We opted for a superior room and we received a large fourth floor corner room that overlooked Calle Del Prado and the narrow lane towards Plaza Santa Ana. The room was very spacious with high ceilings, sitting area, writing desk, lighted closet, minibar and very large marble bathroom with both a large shower and bathtub. The double windows provided excellent sound proofing against any street or plaza noise. The staff were very helpful in providing directions/suggestions and booking the taxi back to the airport. We took an taxi from the airport which was just $28 eu. They allowed us to check in early at 10 am so we could recuperate from our long flights. We opted to not book breakfast there ahead of time, which was a good choice as they were running a two for one special on price. The hotel is very conveniently located right by Plaza Santa Ana. There are lots of restaurants close by and this is walking distance to all the major tourist sights. I would recommend Lateral restaurant closeby as they have a menu that explains their tapas!

Room Tip: Opt for the superior room - you'll love the extra space when staying here for a longer time in M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnyvaleMOm9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 444 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lavapies
Artrip Hotel
Artrip Hotel
#5 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#20 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Las Cortes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Las Cortes

Property: Catalonia Las Cortes
Address: Calle del Prado 6, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#5 Family Hotel in Madrid
#7 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#56 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Las Cortes 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Las Cortes is located in Madrid's famous 'Barrio de las Letras', or writer's district, it is just a few metres from Plaza Santa Ana square and equally closes to the city's main shopping and leisure districts. Opened in January 2006, the hotel is situated in an old 18th century small palace whose interior has maintained all of the original frescos, as well as the main staircase and coving. This four-star hotel has 63 elegantly appointed rooms with every convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Las Cortes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Las Cortes Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing